We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there again!”
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellavista
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Beautiful hotel, right on the lake. Half of the rooms face the lake, and the restaurant has beautiful views to watch the scenery. The staff was exceptionally friendly AND helpful. Centrally located and easy to get to the ferry, or anywhere in Menaggio. I went in June and it was a very good price, too. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeStalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 347 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2011

stayed here 7th-14th may on half board , from the minute the girl off reception showed us our lake view room we fell in love with the place
good , cheerful service , very nice food , spotlessly clean
choice off 4 starter and 4 mains for evening meal
close to centre and ferry , will definitely return

Room Tip: pay extra for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andygibbo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed at the Bellavista for 3 nights in September. On arrival we were blown away by the view from our balcony, we paid for a panoramic lake view and it was just that. It was a bit of a shame that the quality of the hotel didnt match the quality of the view.
Good points:-
Great view
Great location - close to shops, restaurants, bus/ferry stops
We had a really nice meal that was reasonably priced compared to other local restaurants, the breakfast also had a good selection to choose from.
Nice pool
Bad points:-
The decor is a little dated but to be honest didnt really bother me that much
Our room was VERY noisy from both sides and above and to be honest we didnt get a peaceful nights sleep at all while we were there. The pillows were also very uncomfortable.
Menaggio is quite easy to get to via train then ferry or bus. All local transport services run 7 days a week. We flew into Bergamo Milan on a Sunday and although we arranged all of the transfers prior to arrival, once there we realised we didn't really need to as its all accessible on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobyloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is our second visit to this Hotel and would visit again. The position is exceelent, walking distance to shops, lakeside, and ferry. Bus stop just outside. I needed a wheelchair which I pre-booked at the Pharmacy directly opposite. The food is good value for money and the Restaurant is in a wonderful position overlooking the lake. The only fault, which hasn't affected our stay, is the Glum face of the owners wife! No matter how much you smile at her, you won't get one back!
My daughter travelled with us but stayed in a cheaper hotel in the square (as this was not her main holiday), she was helping to look after my partner & myself. Unfortunately the owners would not let her sit around the pool with us. This meant that I could not sit around the pool because I needed help on & off the sun loungers. Last year this wasn't a problem. If they had been more helpful we would have spent more time around the hotel and spent more money there, ie drinks and evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norak57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Disappointing and unimaginative tourist menu. Small portions and poor deserts. Management were lacking in humour and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I thoroughly researched the hotels and other holiday accommodation in Menaggio before booking the Bellavista, taking on board the comments about the small rooms and balconies and the glum faces of the owners, but chose the Bellavista because of its location (I have been to Lake Como before), the lakeside position, the pool and comparative cost of other hotels offering the same level of services in Menaggio. We had room 104 lakeside and our daughters had room 111 roadside. If at all possible I would advise booking a lakeside room overlooking the pool rather than the restaurant. Ours overlooked the restaurant and it was indeed small, but extremely clean. It was quiet and we were prepared for the small balcony. It is as small as reviewers say and I did have to do the ‘chair shuffle’ to open the balcony shutters fully, but it was worth it and once achieved, there was ample room for 2 people to sit and relax, taking in one of the world’s most beautiful views (in my opinion). The view is not ruined by roads or pylons and the only infrequent sounds are from boats and ‘around the lake’ ferries. The reason for the recommendation for the rooms overlooking the pool is that the balconies looked bigger there so if this is likely to be an issue for you….. If you are going to the hotel don’t have a roadside room – you could be anywhere, if at all possible spend a little more, do the ‘chair shuffle’ and enjoy the stunning lake view. Oh, and if this matters to you…. The Bellavista has the sun on its lakeside rooms and pool for longer in the day than the ‘Grand’ hotels in Menaggio. We liked to think of the lounge furniture as retro rather than old fashioned and believe it would cost a fortune to buy in Camden Lock Market, London!!

As for food…. We were independent travellers rather than on a package tour so no main meals were included. The breakfasts were good with beautifully fresh rolls served by perfectly polite and very smart waiting staff. I have read the critical comments about the hotel’s restaurant food and it is probably worth saying that we were generally disappointed with food in the town’s restaurants. On ordering Lasagne I was served a packet Lasagne (as in Tesco convenience), heated in a microwave. Shame on you Menaggio!! The town’s restaurants were relatively expensive for what was served (one exception in the corner, off the main square) and the quality was only OK. The fish was good though. As a result we ate our final meal in the hotel restaurant and this was good in comparison. The location of the hotel restaurant is superior to those in the town – lakeside, no road - , the smart polite friendly service was more professional than town restaurants and although we did not have the set menu enjoyed by visitors on the package tours (as we only wanted one course each), all the prices compared favourably to those on offer in the town. Prices in the town for a main course were around 14 Euros (Pizzas cost around 7 Euros and Pasta less than 10 Euros and the packet Lasagne cost 7 Euros 30! Yuk) while the set menu (3 courses, 4 choices for each course) in the hotel was 22 Euros. Always reserve a table in advance for dinner in the hotel and also for restaurants in the town.

We did arrive at the hotel nervously, wondering whether we would be greeted by the reviewed owners - but were greeted by a charming member of staff who I think is called Paula. She arranged for the equally helpful young porter to unload our bags, show my husband where to park the car, help him park the car (tricky) and carry our bags to our rooms. A perfect arrival. It was 24 hours before we encountered the lady owner. She is indeed sullen. We greeted her every day with ‘good day’ and ‘good evening’ in Italian and she responded faultlessly, through clenched teeth. On the up side she definitely added an air of professionalism (without the smile) as she bustled around in the background and was always smartly and stylishly dressed. Each day she changed, becoming even smarter for the evening dinner service in the restaurant. Her husband(?) did smile. We did make an effort as we knew from the reviews what to expect and it did not put us off, particularly as most guest contact is now via other members of staff and so it really did not impact on our stay apart from making us chuckle about it. I would like to emphasise that the all other members of staff we encountered were faultless.

If I went back to Mennagio, I would stay at the hotel again – lake view, overlooking the swimming pool. Although I would recommend this hotel to friends it would come with a an honest description of all aspects of the hotel - and then they could make up their minds whether they would find some of the less than perfect aspects, acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Great location but the owners were really unfriendly and totally ignore clients. Never said Good morning or made any acknowledgement. Waitresses were quite friendly but waiters were sullen. Rooms were clean and we had balcony overlooking lake with stunning views but air conditioning would have been a bonus.
Near to ferry departure point and to town. Great little bar nearby with lovely covered terrace overlooking lake. They did good food and cheap drinks and were very nice people. It is called Chic and Freak and they even loaned us two umbrellas one evening when it started to pour, which we returned the following mornng.
Hotel food was average although one day we were given a chicken leg, a dollop of spinach and some crisps for our main course.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 21, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Menaggio, directly on the lakeside, Hotel Bellavista enjoys a magnificent panorama across the heart of Lake Como. The view of Bellagio is amazing, unique, because we have the best position in the center of the lake.The spacious veranda of the "Ristorante del Porto", the solarium with swimming pool and the terrace enable guests to relax to the full in a wonderful setting. Just 150 m from the ferry boat and water bus landing stage and 50 m from the bus stop. The hotel offers comfortable rooms all with satellite TV and safe. Tea room, bar, free WIFI in the whole hotel, lift, garage, car park, private mooring for motorboats. 18-Hole golf course 2 km. Away (Menaggio & Cadenabbia Golf Club) with special arrangements for Hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellavista Hotel Menaggio
Hotel Bellavista Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing