We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consider It More of a Taxi Vice an Attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trombetta Express Train Tour

Trombetta Express Train Tour
Ranked #7 of 19 things to do in Menaggio
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Consider It More of a Taxi Vice an Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The train is cute but it is not an "attraction" but a taxi. The driver did not speak any English and he merely mentioned the stop's name, let people out, and went on to the next stop. From Menaggio to Lenno it takes maybe 30-40 minutes round trip. Careful when you by your tickets because if you want to stop along the way, you need to buy a multi-stop ticket, and you cannot change the ticket once you buy it. Also, if you are not standing at the Train Stop Sign when the train rolls by, it will not stop! Considering there weren't taxis roaming the area, for 8 euro for adult and 3 euro for kids to go from Menaggio to Lenno and back, it is not a terrible price, but do not expect to get a guided tour. Lastly, it doesn't operate in the rain so watch the weather!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Marisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
285 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Menaggio to Lenno good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

If you don't mind the constant squeaks, bumps & thrown from side to side of the car of the train.
Took train to Lenno and then taxi to Villa for tour.
Enjoyed a lunch then same train back. Not bad for 5 euros each way pp.
We did same train yesterday while in Bellagio for same price: saw nothing but walls and was a total rip-off. Do not do!
Train from Menaggio I recommend if weather is nice & want to enjoy the views and personality of the hamlets and hotels along the way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tacky, overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overpriced tacky (looks like it belongs in disneyland) uncomfortable but served a purpose. My wife and I were in Menaggio and needed to get to Cadenabbia to catch the ferry to Bellagio, where we are staying this was the only option available late at night . (with the possible exception of a cab). On the plus side, the express terminates at the main Piazza in Menaggio where we were having our meal and it left on time. 10 euro for 2 was a bit steep

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FatCharlie225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The train goes between Lenno and Menaggio. It´s nice that there is an offer, but this was really over priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Left behind by the train”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We took the train to Lenno and enjoyed the Lenno market, we noticed the timing was not always top on the list and where the train would stop wasn't always at the sign, sometimes near the sign. So if you were just around the corner sipping a glass of wine waiting and watching your clock, well you may just have missed it. Later in the month we decided it was a good idea to take it to Lenno again to go to the Villa Balbianello (this is where you can get the water taxis or do the garden walk to get to the Villa). Parking can usually be a problem. This time we finished our trip at the Villa and arrived back by water taxi. As we were walking over to the Piazza in Lenno we saw the train arrive early by about 10 minutes. My son began to run over to get them to wait a minute for us, but he must not have seen him or didn't acknowledge him (not sure how) and continued on even though like I said he came early and left early. We shrugged our shoulders and sat for pizza and a glass of wine while waiting to the next and final stop/pickup of the day, but the train never came back. We were stuck, didn't know where a tobacco store was to purchase a bus ticket back either. We had to call the agent of our rental condo to come and pick us up. Did I mention that it was pouring down rain with stormy weather. We learned later that the train doesn't run when it rains, but I can't believe that we were abandoned. Beware of the weather, which was beautiful all day and not a storm in the foercast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Terre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trombetta Express Train Tour also viewed

 

Been to Trombetta Express Train Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing