We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato in Italy!”
Review of Gelateria Edo

Gelateria Edo
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Out door seating on Piazza Garibaldi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gelato in Italy!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wish I had discovered this earlier.. Would have had visited more often. Superb gelato! I thought I had overloaded on gelato during my trip to Italy, but I would have had this for breakfast lunch and dinner had I planned better!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    63
    35
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I love ice cream but not the white stuff we usually get in the UK, the lighter, flavourful style so typical of Italy. Edo is the best gelateria we found on this trip. Lots of choice (Iimone is one of my all time favourites) and excellent value for money. Couldn't resist a two-scoop cone every day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Italy”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If in Menaggio you must have an ice cream from here, simpy the best ice cream in Italy !! 2 scoups for 2 Euro and about 30 flavours to choose from, made on the premises.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst gelato I've ever had”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I went here after dinner one night and were really excited to try this place because of all the good reviews we read on TripAdvisor. The gelato was terrible: very sugary with artificial-flavouring taste. We had 3 flavors between us, pistachio (normally my absolute favorite), raspberry and lemon. The lemon was ok, but the raspberry and pistachio were gross and we wound up throwing them out without finishing them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chilled gorgeousness”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Outstandingly gorgeous gelato! The Cremia flavour was out of this world with swirls of dark chocolate fudge. Eat it outside with a lovely view and savour the moment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EuroExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Edo also viewed

Menaggio, Lake Como
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Gelateria Edo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing