We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, lovely hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August. We were amazed how central the location was for seeing the Lake and being in the bustle of the town. The price of the hotel was extremely reasonable for where this hotel was.

Parking for motorbikes was free locally and parking was plentiful.

The hotel is located with a restaurant underneath and did not pose an issue for noise.

The rooms were a good size with original wooden floorboards. Due to the time of year and the heat our room also had a floor standing fan which came in very handy throughout the night. The bathroom was small and compact but was not a problem as we spent little time in the room when the scenery outside was so good.

Breakfast was continental and there were many choices. The fruit bread was definitely a favorite! Staff offered tea and coffee but as myself and my partner did not drink hot drinks we stuck to the juices. The staff picked up on this so provided us with a small jug of juice for our table to stop us from going up and down to the buffet. The following day when we entered the breakfast room the jug of juice was bought to us. This was a nice personal touch.

The hotel is a family run hotel and everyone is happy to help. The receptionist spoke fantastic English and was very helpful when we consistently asked questions about the local attractions.
The hotel has WiFi access which can be used in the individual rooms and was free.

This hotel is a must if you are going to Lake Como. The area is perfect and the hotel I could not fault. We had a great time here and when we go back to Lake Como we will certainly book to stay at Hotel Garni Corona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent_Jode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Corona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a marvelous little hotel right in the heart of town. It is situated directly across from the lake and we were fortunate enough to have a room with a balcony that afforded outstanding views of Lake Como and surrounding mountains. We could have stayed for a month! The room itself was clean and fairly small and the bathroom/shower on the tiny side.

The breakfast room is small but the food was fresh and plentiful and more than adequate to get you started each morning. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant on the ground floor although here are many restaurants and stores close by.

The front desk staff were very helpful in offering advice on bus/ferry connections and local tourist sites and responded promptly to e-mail queries we made prior to arrival.

The bus from Como drops you off just down the street and we found Menaggio to be an ideal location from which to explore the lake on the various ferry boats, to hike in the hills above the town or to simply sit in the main square and enjoy an adult beverage.

No hesitation in recommending this hotel and be sure to request a room with a lake view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael109_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautifully situated along the shores of Lake Como and surrounded by the conveniences of Menaggio, this hotel is quite a find. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding, and the price very affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 very comfortable night at this lovely little hotel.A little gem,with beautiful views of Lake Como from our balcony.
Fantastic breakfasts.
Altogether very relaxing,would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GmaryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with a view of the lake, this is it! It sits right on the side of the lake with a small plaza in front. To sit on your balcony at night and wake up in the morning to the view of a gorgeous lake is something not to be missed. The rooms are very clean and modern; breakfast served in a cute little room with individual tables is included and offers great items such as ham, rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice etc. The cappuccino is the best I have tasted. The staff is very helpful and really nice and friendly. They really take the time to help you find boat schedules, bus schedules, or whatever else you need. There are some restaurants right around the hotel with good food, so you don't really need a car, but if you do, the hotel is only about 2 blocks from the ferry. We had a front room with a very roomy balcony where we loved to sit. The plaza area can be a little noisy as night, so if you need a lot of quiet, ask for a room that doesn't over look the lake or the plaza.

Room Tip: Front Rooms have a great view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a delightful little hotel to stay in. Run by a lovely family, the staff is very kind and helpful. The breakfast Area is charming and the breakfast is very good. This hotel does not have air conditioning but it does have balconies with all the rooms and fans. There is an elevator and free parking nearby. Menaggio is a charming town our favorite of all the places we visited on the boat. The boat by the way will take you to all the towns in the center of Lake Como for only €15 per person. If you're a senior you can do it for €12 but be sure to ask. Best to carry identification to prove your age.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square and lake have a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Well travelled friends reccommended we stay here and we are very glad we took their advice on board. Most people visiting Lake Como tend to stay in Bellaggio, however we found the smaller lakeside town of Menaggio (where the hotel is located) to be a far more relaxing and authentic experience.

The hotel is located on the lake in the main square in Menaggio, surrounded by great little cafes and restaurants. We had a gorgeous lake facing room with a balcony on the third floor. The rooms was clean and spacious. There was no air conditioning, but a fan was provided. The bathroom was clean but a little cramped.

Our only criticism was that the wifi didn't work in our room, only out in the hallways and restaurant, but that wasn't a big problem.

The breakfast, served in the level 1 restaurant, was excellent and the staff were very helpful, providing some great restaurant and activity recommendations and arranging our travel for us when leaving.

Room Tip: Choose a lake front room, we loved our room with double sized balcont on the third floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
814 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Address: Largo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $137 - $1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing