We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great view”
Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed room 4 for 2 days , super clean room with a great lake view and has a balcony to relax any time of the day.Hotel has nice breakfast and friendly owners.Central location in Menaggio.
Highly recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozgurbjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 433 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just come back after 4 nights at Hotel Garni Corona and enjoyed it immensely. We had a great room with balcony overlooking the Lake, complete with chairs and table. With the french doors open we were home from home. The location is fantastic being right in the square, a choice of bars, restaurants and an ice cream parlour literally within metres of the hotel door. Our room was light and airy with plenty of storage space and an enormous bed. If you want to explore Lake Como by ferry the main terminal is 5 minutes walk away and if you just want to sit in a bar and 'people watch' it couldn't be better placed. I liked the fact that you were in such a central position but by 10pm it was so quiet. We slept with the french doors undone as it was very warm when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View Room. even if it costs more its worth every penny (Well Euro)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel Garni Corona is beautifully situated on a small square fronting Lake Como. We had a room for three nights with two "French" balconies (We could open the french doors for the view and breeze, but there was no outside balcony.), and the views were spectacular. The room (#25) was simple and very clean, with a decent bathroom - no bidet, but a shower you can turn around in! Staff was courteous and pleasant, when answering our questions or dealing with a request.
We loved Menaggio. There are plenty of places to eat there, from restaurants to pizza places, and nothing beats being able to sit on the square in the evening and have an digestivo - we had lemoncellos at adjacent Cafe del Pess for 2 euros each - with a beautiful view of the lake and the people strolling the walkway along its edge.
The lake ferries are frequent on the Menaggio/Bellaggio/Varenna circuit and the station is less than a 10 minute walk away from the hotel. Bellagio and Varenna are a 15-20 minute enjoyable ride away. And Hotel Corona was a good value for us at 110 euros per night (with a 3-night discount). We definitely recommend this hotel and Menaggio as a base for exploring Lake Como.
Ferry note: the "fast" ferry takes an hour or so to go from Menaggio to Como and arrives a couple of blocks from the Como Nord station for trains to Milan. Fare is 13 - 16 euros, depending on day and discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a basic, no frills hotel, a little worn, with average bedding and poor water pressure. The thing it's got going for it is a friendly staff and an unobstructed view of the lake. If you're fortunate enough to get a front-facing room, you probably won't mind its shortcomings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichmondViaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in room 27, which has a very small in-house balcony that gives a lovely view over the lake. The room was basic but very clean. The only downside was the bed, that was not particularly comfortable, but adequate for a few nights.
The breakfast was fine, with fresh made cappuccino and a selection of cereals, cheese and meat. For the Italians, that like sweet breakfast, perhaps a little on the salty side. The owners and personnel were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely go back here!

Room Tip: some rooms seem to be renovated, others not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KlaasW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Garni Corona was such a relaxing stop during our visit to Menaggio. My parents and I shared a room for 3 and found it to be spacious and comfortable. The rooms are simple, but the views of the lake and service of the owners is wonderful. My second stay and I found this visit to be equally as wonderful as the first. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sml01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Delightful hotel in an excellent location within the town. Great views at breakfast time over the lake. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. B&B is all you require from this hotel as the choice outside in the town literally one to two minutes walk is excellent and varied. Only criticism is the lack of air conditioning but fans are supplied. Balcony rooms on Lake view are a must but if fully booked through trip advisor, book direct. It is a little more expensive but well worth it for the morning, afternoon and evening views. A little noisy in the morning but the positive side of that is you will catch the early morning views across the lake and watch the delightful town come to life slowly.

Room Tip: Lake views are a must - ignore the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Aurora
Hotel Villa Aurora
#1 of 2 in Lezzeno
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Address: Largo Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $135 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing