We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, simple clean hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garni Corona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Corona
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location, simple clean hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a small family run hotel set in the centre of Menaggio. It is convenient for the bus stops, ferry terminal and for places to eat ( though these are rather indifferent in quality). The rooms are adequate and consideration needs to be made that the hotel is not a modern purpose built one, but rather constructed in an old building. The irregular sized rooms seem to have plaster board walls which do not offer the best in sound insulation from a neighbouring bathroom and w.c flushes or running showers can be heard. The rooms have electric heaters, but no aircon this may be a problem in the hot summer months because by opening the large windows this may allow sound in from the often busy squares below. The beds and pillows were a little too hard for me.
Breakfast was of a buffet type, and typical cereals, fruit juice ( not fresh) , cold spiced sausage, sliced ham, sliced cheese, boiled eggs, cream cheese, fresh bread rolls, jams, packeted biscuits, croisants etc.
The coffee was excellent, but the other items including tinned fruit and yoghurts seemed quite ordinary and could soon become boring after a few days, through lack of variation.
There were two breakfast rooms, both of which were pleasant and not crowded ( no cramped seating).
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Wifi is available, only free for the first 12 hours ( on an accumulated timing). the signal range was limited to the lobby/reception area.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are of the same size. Lake view rooms are more expensive. Check with hotel. Front over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    117
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
258
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Coming down the hill from Lugano to Menaggio, the lake view is superb and the hotel room confirmed it. Only 50% of the rooms face the lake across the square. We booked in advance and were told that one night stays would not be offered lake view rooms, but we could take one on arrival if available. Fortunately it was, and we were happy to pay the extra €18. Unloaded the car outside and managed to find free parking nearby - easier in April than midsummer? Friendly and helpful staff, good size room, clean, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: If staying only one night ask for an option on a lake view room if available on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Having had nowhere booked we tried this Hotel and to our delight, there was an available room with a balcony and the best view i have ever seen from a hotel room. Very well priced for the area.
Situated in a beautiful town with some great restaurants. Worth getting a table early if you can as they get a bit busy late on.
We were just passing through on our visit but would love to return some time to spend more time in the hotel and surrounding area.
The hotel staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is on the main pedestrianised square looking out directly to the lake. A great location to be close to all the restaurants, bars, shops and waterfront but without being noisy. The room was quite large, clean, simply furnished and with a tiny balcony. The breakfast buffet had a reasonable choice, but there are plenty of cafes outside for cappuccino e cornetto. Staff were friendly and we felt it was good value.
Parking can be an issue but it is possible to stop and unload then find a public car park. Generally for getting around the lake it is best to take the frequent ferries and local bus service rather than trying to drive/park yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Menaggio is a gorgeous place and we were thrilled to arrive by ferry and walk just 5mins to this lovely little hotel on the main square, facing the Lake. I cried with joy when we arrived - the room was peaceful and had a beautiful view, was huge, clean, comfortable and only 100E a night including what we later considered to be the best breakfast in our 6 week stay in Italy! We had fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, ham, tomato, juices, cereals, yoghurt and more to choose from and everything was so fresh and tasty. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful and we had easy access to mountain walks, the ferry, nice little cafes, ATMs etc. We extended our stay there the day we arrived and I dream of going back. LOVED IT.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

I always hungered to return to Lake Como first visited over fifty years ago. We chose Menagio for it's smallish size and cetral lake location on the Swiss size. The hotel we selected from trip advisor.What a find.Three star so no pool or aircon but wonderful hospitality and a great location over a small square and thence the lake and snow capped mountains. Michela's immaculate instructions took the stress out of getting there from Milan late at night. Our room and the breakfasts were basic but more than adequate. Noise from the square and restaurant below was a slight nuisance but who has to get up early ? Como had not changed. A perfect end to our holiday.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a little more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferdinandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Good location in town centre near lakeside. Very good breakfast, comfortable, good sized rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Corona

Property: Hotel Garni Corona
Address: Largo Cavour, 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Corona 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A centrally located family run hotel which offers to its guests a spectacular view on Lake Como. The hotel HAS BEEN TOTALLY RENOVATED. REDEVELOPMENT OF ROOMS AND BATHROOMS, FURNITURE, COMMON PARTS (RECEPTION AND BREAKFAST ROOMS) INTRODUCTION OF SELF-HEATING / AIR CONDITIONING, MINI-BAR & Wi-Fi CONNECTION IN EACH ROOM. TRANSITION from 2 to 3 stars - from 21 to 24 rooms. It is located in the pedestrian area in the main square of Menaggio and is within walking distance of numerous restaurants, bars, shops and one of the most beautiful promenades on the lake. It is the ideal accommodation for those who wish to come by public transport as both bus and boat stops are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It's on shore and mid mountain position makes it an ideal starting point for all kinds of excursions. The tourist office is conveniently located next door to the Hotel where information on the variety of itineraries are available. The spectrum of activities range from trail tracks day trips by car, by boat or mountain bike. If you are looking for a holiday that combines tranquility, pleasure and nature, than you have found it... WiFi is available in all hotel and is free of charge. The Hotel has not a private parking space but it is allowed to park for max 30 min in front of the hotel in the yellow spaces, or inside the street/square if the yellow spaces are alredy occupied, to unload/load Your staff. Driving along the lake side road you will find the first 200m. payment parkings; blu spaces 1 € per hour, 8 am – 8 pm. Than the white spaces, 24h free parkings. Max 400 meters away from the Hotel. THE HOTEL DOES NOT HOST GUESTS WITH SMALL CHILDREN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Garni Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Corona Hotel
Hotel Garni Corona Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing