We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here Unless You Can't Afford ANYTHING Else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here Unless You Can't Afford ANYTHING Else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Because Lake Como is beautiful and it would be a pity to miss out. Lazy staff, super cramped toilets, dingy rooms (clean but completely no frills). We asked for a double bed and were given two bunk beds instead and had to put on our own sheets and pillow covers. Too many weird rules. The views here are beautiful but the stay is extremely basic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariamAkberali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    91
    32
    27
    17
See reviews for
32
52
82
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed in a private room for three nights in May. The room was basic (two bunk beds, sink, drawers, lockers, chair, desk, mirror), but clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the lake. Bathrooms are shared. After reading some reviews we were concerned that it would be noisy at night time but this wasn't a problem at all. Breakfast was bread with butter, jam and chocolate spread, cornflakes, and tea and coffee. We had one evening meal at the hostel which was tasty and very good value for money. The hostel is easy to find, and just a few minutes walk from the ferry or bus stop. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our fellow guests from all around the world and of all ages, with a mixture of couples, groups of friends, solo travellers, and families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of 4 including 2 teenagers stayed for 2 nights in April. The staff were very helpful and the meals good value. To enjoy the magnificent location for such a reasonable price was fantastic. We absolutely loved Lake Como and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location for meeting backpackers from Australia, UK, USA and enjoying good food for a very good price. The ferry is just two minute-walk from the hostel so you can reach Varenna and Bellagio by the amazing view of the lake. There's a direct bus from/to Como so it's easy to reach. The rooms are confortable and clean and the staff very helpful :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filippo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have spent many years backpacking..and stayed in a variety of hostels. This could possibly be the BEST one I have experienced. With the stunning Lake Como at its footstep it is the location of this hostel that makes it such a magical place to stay. The staff are friendly, rooms are standard, the communal area makes it easy for solo travellers to make friends easily.
The only criticism I have is at night the room was super hot so they need a fan or air con..
Book in advance everyone, this place is popular!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipHopJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hostel is in a great location. It's easily accessible, right off the main road and right across the street from the lake. Bedrooms were clean, some have balconies looking over the lake...others had no balconies with windows looking at stone walls with spiderwebs=same price, make sure you request one facing the water.
Food is super gross. Breakfast consists of individually packaged bread and coffee. Breakfast ends at 10. I asked for milk for my coffee at 10:15am and was told that "breakfast ends at 10". The kitchen and the refrigerator were 10 ft away.
We had a really miserable experience with the owner. We booked on hostelworld for 2 beds in a mix dorm as those were the cheapest beds we could book. When we arrived, the hostel was super slow so we asked, only if it was possible and the same price(same price was definitely emphasized and understood) if we could get those two beds in private room. The sweet girl working the front desk said that since nobody was booked to stay in the room, we were more than welcome and that she would have us moved into the dorm if somebody wanted to stay there. For the duration of our stay, the owner was extremely passive aggressive and put the receptionist in a really awkward position of delivering us rude messages and leaving his hand written notes on our door demanding that we "NEEDED" to pay for the private room(it was a 4 bedroom dorm and I'll just say again, the hostel was practically empty) and made our entire stay super awkward and uncomfortable.
Both my boyfriend and I have stayed in hostels all over Europe, Asia, Mexico and South America and definitely do not have high standards. This was the first bad experience either of us had with an owner.
Lake Como is super expensive for accommodation and this hostel is probably the best value for what you pay for. Just don't expect good food or hospitality.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with balcony facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gracehdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Have stayed here twice now. Love the million dollar location overlooking Lake Como, friendly staff and of course the budget price.
The shared dorms facing the lake are great, but the one at the rear (where I stayed the first time I went) was cramped and no view. The shared toilets are tiny and you can barely fit in. Bags have to be carried up quite a few stairs. But they are the only negatives. Every thing else is fantastic. Oh, and did I mention the budget price?? Overall, excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Lake and ask about the 'private' bathroom. It costs a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Property: Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Hotel Menaggio
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing