We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a lovely family holiday at this hostel. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The kids really enjoyed the atmosphere in the evenings. In fact, we went on to a hotel in Lugano afterwards and they didn't like it so much because they just had to have dinner with boring mum and dad!
The location is ideal. The rooms are basic, but they are clean and they overlook Lake Como. We had a room with an ensuite bathroom which was great.
We took the C10 bus from Como which was less than ideal because it was packed and there was no room for cases. The hostel staff suggested that in future we go via Varenna as there is a train there from Lecco and then get the boat across to Menaggio. Sounds like a good idea; we are sure to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite room if you are a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 307 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Everyone wants something for nothing - but sadly you have to pay for everything. A solution is to head to the only hostel on Lake Como and experience their hospitality, local knowledge, dining and camping terraces and best of all, extremely good value accomodation. We stayed two nights, and to stay a third, had to camp on a terrace. Not a great chore when it overlooked the lake - even the odd Italian speedster on the orad below in the night detracted from the novelty. Go. Stay. Eat some proper local fare. Sail the yacht (a bl00dy yacht!!! It's supposed to be a hostel!!!). Explore. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I had a great time at this hostel and I am glad I stayed there. The folk who work there could not be more helpful and friendly. Over the weekend where was a fantastic atmosphere. I was in Lake Como cycling and I was a bit reluctant to stay in a hostel as I am no 'youth'; but actually there was a great age mix and it was more than fine. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I hate to say anything negative, as I really had a good time, but the food was not great. My impression from other reviews and the hostel's website is that it is a foody place but I did not enjoy it, apart from the pizza! The hostel overlooks the lake and is a few mins walk from the ferry and the town. The private beach is tiny but more than adequate and welcome. Stay here. PS: if you are looking for cycling routes contact me, I found an excellent one to Lugano in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllanBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was quite pleased with this hostel. The staff were really nice and helpful, there's a stunning view of the lake, and the hostel provides a range of activities you can take part in. It's right near the ferry dock and there's a small supermarket nearby too. There is a free breakfast but it's just juice, tea, coffee and bread with spreads. The wifi is really expensive which I didnt like. My room was a 4 bed female dorm and I found it fine. One thing I didnt like was the showers. Not sure about the male showers but the female shower room had very little privacy. There are 3 cubicles but no room to change so you have to change outside the cubicles, then the cubicles themselves have semi-transparent doors. The hostel provides dinner each night for a cheaper price (apparently) than most places in Menaggio, and the food is pretty good. Also lots of chances to get to know other travellers. I found Menaggio a good base for visiting Varenna, Bellagio, Como and Lake Lugano. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meganrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

What a treasure. Amazing views from this lakeside hostel. Helpful staff, rentable good bikes,clean dorm rooms.I'l be back asap, thank you.

Room Tip: Balcony is lovely, off some of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

What an awesome location!! Near the ferry wharf at Menaggio and with amazing views over Lake Como, this hostel is set to please. The rooms are a little dated and have a closing down time during the day for cleaning, but with an exceptional location, there's so much to do in the surrdounding area.

The restaurant/outdoor area has magnificent views over the lake, and there are some great meal packages available (plus great cheap vino). Phillippo the owner always wanders around and is genuinely interested in how people are enjoying their stay.

Menaggio sits at the north western end of Lake Como and is easy access to Bellagio and Varonna where you can catch the train to Tirano in the north of italy for the Bernina Express - an absolutely breathtaking train ride to St Moritz, Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

magnificent view, excellent location, remarkable money value, if u r lucky (like us) you got a dorm for a couple so u got a private room for dorm price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestsZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
6.6 mi away
Hotel Il Nibbio
Hotel Il Nibbio
#1 of 1 in Magreglio
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
427 reviews
15.2 mi away
Locanda Milano 1873
Locanda Milano 1873
#2 of 3 in Brunate
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 106, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Menaggio
Price Range: $24 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Hotel Menaggio
Menaggio Youth Hostel La Primula Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing