We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst hotel in Italy!”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel claims to be a three star hotel. Our experience was that it would be lucky to get one star. When we arrived it was raining. We were not greeted but had to find the concierge. He was not welcoming or friendly and shouted at some of the female staff to help us to our room. We then witnessed these three or four women argue loudly about which one of them would be unfortunate enough to have to take us to our room in the rain. Finally one of them begrudgingly agreed to take us. It was then we realised that our accommodation was not part of the larger hotel but it was adjacent to the hotel in separate lodgings. We walked over in the rain (the unlucky female staff member was fortunate enough to have an umbrella which was not offered to us) and then caught a very small lift to the floor we were staying on. To our horror, we realised that the toilets were a share facility and stunk of male urine and were not clean. There was also no soap or toilet paper provided. The rooms were without TV's and were cold. After waking in the morning hoping it had all just been a nightmare, we found that we were covered in bites from the bed bugs and were stiff and sore after having rolled into the middle of the bed during the course of the night. Close to tears we decided to check out immediately and try and find any other accommodation. My husband went to tell the concierge who said that a much better room had become available for us to stay in. When my husband refused and told him that our experience was ruining our honeymoon, he rudely replied that we had booked for three nights, not one and should pay for three nights even if we were checking out. My husband had to become quite loud in expressing his disgust in front of other hotel patrons before the guy backed off and agreed to only charge us one nights stay. It really was the worst hotel either of us have EVER stayed including all back packers and camping grounds. Do not go there! P.S. For those people who are reading this review and wondering whether we are just up ourselves and snotty, I assure you we are not. We have stayed in many places across the world and in very simple surroundings. It was the shear rudeness, lack of hygiene and bed bugs that have lead to us giving this review. Do yourselves a favour and steer clear of this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this delightful lakeside hotel, we paid 130 euro per night for a 2nd floor lake view room ,( yes there is a lift ) including breakfast,wifi and parking. The room was really nicely appointed in old world, simple charm, the bed was comfortable, the shower had lots of hot water and the people were friendly. Breakfast was served downstairs in their cafe, fresh squeezed orange juice, any type of coffee you want, fresh hot croissant, fresh rolls, jam and yoghurt . The location was perfect, right on the water , minutes to the ferry to Bellagio and the towns quaint stores and restaurants are all in walking distance. Parking was a small walk , but secure, very good wifi connectivity. A great place to stay in a fabulous town

Room Tip: Get a lake view room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A small hotel in Menaggio situated directly by Lake Como with lovely views. Very comfortable, relaxing and unpretentious (needs no pretensions) with friendly pleasant and helpful staff. Well appointed room. Easy drive from north, south and west from Lugano. Only criticism rather restricted sweet breakfast. Spent two nights, would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wow, what an unexpected surprise. Great location, on a Piazza, walking distance from the Lake Como water transportation, their own garage, nice staff, room overlooking the lake (window, street, sidewalk, the lake). We were there for the weekend and they had a blues group the first night, the second afternoon a parade honoring some WW2 vets, and later another band. Even without the entertainment, just sitting there enjoying the area was nice. Rooms were clean and pleasant, the standard breakfast a bit pricy. Transportation up and down the lake was a snap. Stay here when visiting Menaggio.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking street and piazza.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLFSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We only dropped in for a drink or two and we met some great people, enjoyed a time which crossed wide age ranges and widely different cultures. We were made so welcome we wish we had stayed at the hotel here rather than where we had booked!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beside the small harbour, on the edge of the town square, with the "shuttle train" (really a dressed up tractor towing dressed up carriages) stop in sight this is a prime location and for a few drinks (hot or cold, alcoholic or not) then this the place to rest your feet. The cakes and pastries on display for sale looked fabulous but we resisted (not sure how we managed that) but we did give in and have an ice cream cone from the shop about 4 doors up in the square. Lovely views of both the lake and the mountains behind it.

Note, we found several "Hotel du Lac" rstaurants around Lake Como but this one in Menaggio was the only one we tried during our visit.

Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and were very happy with our room. It was spacious and had a nice view of the lake. I had been thru hiking the Pyrenees High Route and had periodically sent some items to the hotel to hold for me until we arrived which they said they would do. When we checked in, the staff was very friendly and told me that all of my packages were waiting for me in the room which was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#8 of 10 in Menaggio
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 27, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $150 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Menaggio
Hotel Du Lac Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing