We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was travelling with my husband and 14 year old son. Hotel du Lac is an excellent small hotel with a very good Italian coffe shop beneath it which is very popular due to the quality of the beverages/food served and excellent service. The room was very clean and spacious although the camp bed provided for my son who is 5'9 was too short and very uncomfortable.Also they only provide one very thin pillow per person which is inadequate although when more were requested this was done immediately. WiFi at this Hotel is very good and FOC and the roof terrace is a must, staff are excellent, friendly, efficient and speak English alot better than my Italian. The room safe was a bit temperamental which was worrying. Location is fantastic with a ferry port to the rest of the towns around Lake Como a 5 min walk away and i fully recommend lunch at Bellagio directly across from Menaggio,one of the ferry's 1st stops to a beautiful picturesque village with some fantastic cafes and
shops. Well worth the trip. A couple of things to note, nearly all of the restaurants in Menaggio stopped serving at 9pm even on Friday and Sat nights, as we were late arrivals and generally wanted to soak up the late night Italian atmosphere this proved impossible. Most restaurants are expensive if on the front but we ate at La Trattoria which does not have a great location being up a dark side street but does have good pasta/pizza and most of all good service, although the menu looks something from school, the food was excellent and reasonable prices. be warned though they too stop serving their full menu and only serve Pizza after 10pm. Also when we arrived we found if we had booked direct with the hotel, the breakfast would have been included,whereas through our agent it wasn't, very annoying as breakfast at Hotel Du Lac cost 10 Euro/person which was for us another 30 Euros a day. It mounts up! My advise is to read the reviews, do your homework and go and enjoy as it truely is a breath taking place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
22
93
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Br
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I were at the Hotel du Lac, on July and as soon as we arrived we discovered that they had a problem with our reservation, but luckily the owner arrived and we got our room.
Large room, large bathroom, horrible pillows. The location is great, right on the central piazza and in front of the lake. It's a very simple old hotel. They have a garage, but it's a 5 min walk, and we had to carry our luggage back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We took the bus from Lugano, Switzerland, and got off the bus very close to the hotel. The breakfast was good, especially the Italian coffee. We had a good view of the water and went to the rooftop to get an even better view of the lake. The hotel was centrally located in the Piazza, and we walked to restaurants, shopping and the bus to Como. We had the room above the kitchen and asked the hotel to replace the bedspread since it did smell like the "cooked food", and they did so right away. The bed and pillows were hard, but we found this ithroughout Italy. We were very satisfied by the accomodations, especially for the price of the rooms. There were several restaurants right in the area and also we walked to the dock to take the boat to Varenna and Bellagio. I would go back tomorrow....

Room Tip: Ask for a rooom with a view of the lake but not the one directly over the restaurant kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hotel Du Lac was our base in Menaggio and visiting the Lago di Como area. The hotel was very comfortable-clean, spacious, nice bath, and great views of the lake and the square. The WIFI was the best of our entire trip!-strong signal with access in our room at no extra charge. Breakfast is not included, but you can get an espresso and a cornetto in the bar downstairs for less than 3E. The location was great- close to the ferry and in a nice are of town right on the lake and within 200 yards of 4 gelaterias. The only downside is we stayed at the hotel during Euro 2012 soccer playoffs, and our room was right above the bar We might as well have been sleeping in the bar After 12pm it was relatively quiet. The also have a wonderful rooftop deck to view the lake and the mountains from. Its a nice little quiet reprieve.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon through Italy and really liked the hotel. Our room had a beautiful view of Laggo di Como and you are about a 5-7 minute walk from where the ferries pick up /drop off. Also, if you want to head on a quick trip to Tremezzo you can jump on the bus that looks like a train that picks you up right outside the hotel.

The patio at Hotel Du Lac is one of the best in the centre of Menaggio and has a beautiful view of Laggo di Como.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nillkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel du Lac made our stay in Menaggio a real treat. The staff was always friendly from our arrival late at night to the last minute of our stay. The hotel is located on the main square of Menaggio, which brings with it the privilege of being able to having breakfast on the square with its view over to Bellagio. The breakfast itself is fabulous, with fresh orange juice, Italian brioche and beautiful coffee. Our room overlooked the main square and even had a little balcony. The hotel is conveniently located near the ferry stop, close to all the shops and just next to the most popular gelateria in town.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 207 which overlooks the main square. From the balcony one has lake view. Rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobisAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked 2 rooms in the Indepence and were very pleased with the choice, the rooms are big, clean and very comfortable.

The view over the square was perfect, an ice cream shop that opens at 8 am and several cafe / bars on your door step make this place a perfect location for a break

Room Tip: Choose the quadruple for a large space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManresaMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 27, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Menaggio
Hotel Du Lac Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing