We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was once great, now aged and not recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Was once great, now aged and not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in 1995 and loved it! I brought my husband back in 2007 and it was tired, run down, frayed, creaky and dull. Life is too short to stay here - I really regretted trying to re-live the experience when there looked to be so many better hotels in the area. In fact, the area of Menaggio was more urban than I recalled. I now recommend going to Bellagio - you're going to go there anyway and shop, so just stay there as well.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    75
    47
    23
    6
See reviews for
28
132
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirdford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found the adverse comments re. this hotel to completely unfounded.
Yes we did pay a supplement for a lakeside view; the room was clean & comfortable & the bed
linen was changed daily.Admittedly the bathroom was a little tired & needed some updating.
The staff were friendly & helpful & the food was average. The elegant ambience of this lovely
building compensated for any slight faults.The position on the lake is excellent but probably not for the young as there is not very much going on in Menaggio, but perfect for ancient woad wearers who enjoy the finer things in life.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake but trees could obscure the view, choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Victoria in mid May this year, we were very pleased with our choice, the location was excellent, 100m walk from the old town centre and right on the lake front. The views were simply breathtaking.
We were accommodated at the rear of the hotel with mountain and partial lake view and it proved to be a great allocation as the views were lovely and it was rather quiet, no busy roads to the rear of the hotel.
We loved our evening meals ( we went for the half board option ), the food was always lovely, fresh and there was a good choice. Breakfasts also had a good variety of food.
The staff were just ever so friendly, helpful and with excellent english.
We would like to go back to Lake Como and when we do, we'd like to, again, stay there.
It was an amazing long weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed this trip.

We can certainly recommend The Grand Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have just returned after a week's stay at this beautiful old hotel. After reading previous reviews we were not sure what to expect but can report that we found it to be a delightful place to stay. The evening meals were excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and everywhere was kept very clean. If you are looking for old fashioned charm then this is the place for you. Yes, the walls are thin and you can hear noises from the adjoining rooms but we were fortunate enough to have an empty room next door. Our bathroom only had a hand held shower which was disappointing and there was no shower curtain. We needed extra pillows for the bed and these were provided as soon as we asked for them. We had a lovely view of the lake through the beautiful, mature trees which add to the grand appearance of the frontage to this hotel. After checking out of the hotel, our sat-nav broke and we needed to buy a new lead. Paolo, the manager spotted us outside the electrical shop in Menaggio and came to our rescue. He couldn't have been more helpful, even taking us to his garage to arrange for a new fuse to be fitted to the cigarette lighter so that we could plug in the lead. Now that's service for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaM885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a walking holiday. I had to pay extra for a lake view, and yes, if you were stood at the window, you could see the lake, but from inside the room, all I could see was a tree. The room was clean with plenty of storage space. The single bed felt narrow, but was comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and I was pleased to have a shower after a day's walking and not a bath with a handheld showerhead, which other guests had. The room also had a fridge, good for storing one or two bits for the following day's picnic. However, the walls were very thin, but I was lucky to have quiet neighbours..
I found the wifi at reception reliable, but other guests reported problems.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a well-stocked bar. Breakfast was varied - cereals/fruit/cheese/ham/(hard) boiled eggs/bread/yoghurt. Dinner was plentiful, but I wouldn't go back there to eat. Starters were ok, but the mains were boring, uninteresting, uninspired and I generally left most of them.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath or a shower if you have a strong preference. Lake view rooms mean that they are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We celebrated our wedding here in September 2012, and we were extremely pleased with the choice of venue. The food, venue, staff, organization and value for money was all first class. Absolutely nothing to complain about on that front. We did also spend the night here, and although the rooms are OK a renovation wouldn't hurt. If I were reviewing the rooms only, I would not give them a lower mark, but given our very positive experience with the wedding reception, I cannot give anything but praise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babarmumrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A true nightmare of a hotel- enlarged beyond its capacity and unable to live up to its promises. The position on beautiful Lake Come is wonderful but that is it. It is shabby' overcrowded and the drains are very evident. It has been very grand indeed but health and safety are not a priority. It is understaffed and front of house are very young, harrassed and need training in customer service. The dining room staff were superb and great fun but obviously underpaid as everywhere there were notices asking guests to tip them. The rooms were poorly furnished with one chair and nowhere to put a suitcase for unpacking. The corridors had never made the acqaintance of a vacuum cleaner! we are presently awaiting some compensation from our travel agent who is dealing with Shearings from whom they buy these trips (and whose brochure is largely a figment of the imagination).

Room Tip: Don't go there. No spa and no fitness centre. The pool is over the road and open to the public w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solo187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Property: Grand Hotel Victoria
Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing