We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings and friendly welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just came back from staying here and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.
The staff were ever so friendly and rush around doing what they can for you.
The hotel is massive with amazing views.
I had shared a room with two other friends where we had been given an extra bed put up for us, the room was lovely, the only downside was there wasn't enough mirrors for us, but that is all.
We really enjoyed using the pool as the weather was so hot, there seemed to be enough sunbeds.
It was nice and close to the square and restaurants.
I would return again

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 252 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Grand Hotel Victoria is a beautiful Liberty hotel within five minute walking distance of Menaggio. The view from the front of the hotel over the lake show a breathtaking panorama of the mountains of Como which fall steeply to the shores of the lake. The hotel grounds are full of mature conifers at the front and olive trees surround the hotel pool which lies in pretty gardens at the back of the hotel with a view of the mountains. There is a quiet road in front of the hotel with a promenade to Menaggio. Our hotel bedroom was very clean and comfortable and had a lovely bathroom. We had a corner room on the third floor with two lake views, one with a direct view to Bellagio and the other over Menaggio and the mountains which rise steeply above the town.
Paolo, the Manager and his staff were exceptional with the service they provide to clients. The breakfast could be better; we are used to a wider choice in four star hotels.
Overall the hotel is in a wonderful location for exploring Lake Como, The Ferry takes you up and down the lake to enjoy the little towns and gardens at your leisure. Delightful restaurants in Menaggio. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning lake views.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janebatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We loved our stay here in late June. The real test was the 2 days of rain that kept us largely confined to the hotel's front terrace with our laptops. And that was just fine. (our other 2 days were sunny and gorgeous). I don't understand some of the other reviews re the rooms and bathrooms because our bathroom was modern. The room, although plainly furnished, was comfortable, clean, and reasonably modern. Yes the room could have been more luxuriously appointed especially for a 4-star hotel. Maybe it depends on the room you get. We were on what they call the first floor - one flight up the grand main staircase, on the left at the back. Our view (no balcony) was out across the pool to the mountains beyond, and it was lovely. The staff was great , and the food surprisingly good and inexpensive for the area (except breakfast which is really uninspired). Ristorante Paolo is better for dinner but more expensive; see my review. As others have said, the lobby, terraces and other public areas of the hotel are grand and elegant, from the front portico to the grand central staircase, lending an air of Belle Epoque (oops, forgot my long white dress and gloves. Thank goodness the other guests were wearing shorts too). The hotel is very convenient to the lovely little town of Menaggio (be sure to investigate the residential areas across the road and up the hill, and visit the little church). It's about a 7-minute walk to the ferry. It has free parking. The manicured front yard of the hotel (complete with flower-bedecked boat) fronts on a one-way narrow street that runs along the lake. Beyond the street is a tree and flower-lined walking promenade and then the lake. Lake Como itself is gorgeous, rimmed by snow-covered alps and with surprisingly few noisy motorboats. Flowers abound along the beautiful promenade that is also your setting for your short walk into town where you will find multiple cafes (well maybe 2), and great gelato.

Room Tip: The best rooms are probably on the front with balconies facing the lake, though ours on the back fac...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trufflecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

A typically old fashioned italian hotel, the rooms could do with a facelift and it is a fairly costly hotel, the bathrooms are old and the plumbing a little suspect, but it is spotlessly clean. We didn't eat here this time but the food last time was OK - we ate in town and had a superb meal and the thing we love about the hotel is its proximity to the centre of Menaggio and all it has to offer, with some stunning views over Lake Como. We would return.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The multilingual team couldn't be more accommodating; high service standards. Gourmet food in restaurant even for breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Pool good on hot days.

Room Tip: Pay 30 euros/night extra for larger superior room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim6851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Nice historic building and friendly, helpful staff. Room had a nice view of the lake but clearly needed to be updated. It appeared nothing had been done to improve the room in 30 years. Breakfast was nothing more than average compared to other hotels. For the expensive price (310 euro) we were extremely disappointed with the value.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jritti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I chose this hotel because its grand Victorian exterior appealed to me, but that's as far it goes. Gorgeous building, but the rooms are dated and a complete renovation is probably 20 years over due. I wanted a room with a lake view, but as it turned out, our lake view was partially blocked by a huge tree so it really wasn't worth paying a higher room rate. Service was impersonal and breakfast was unforgettable.

Menaggio is lovely town with awesome views of Lake Como, but I wouldn't stay at Grand Hotel Victoria again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaroloGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
13.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
817 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
Grand Hotel Cadenabbia
#3 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
438 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Victoria

Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 9, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $178 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Victoria Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing