We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply marvellous”

trattoria la vecchia magnolia
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chiuso per ferie dal 16.10.2016 al 04.11.2016 Cucina aperta dalle 12 alle 14,dalle 18:45 alle 21:30 Restaurant bar with 60 seat inside and 40 in the garden
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply marvellous”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We ended going here 3 times during our trip as the service, food and wine were all excellent. Would definitely go again if we were in the region.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shicks1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    56
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
294 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Take a 10 euro taxi ride from lake boat rental area.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Past reviews said it was an easy walk, but after viewing on iPad the route, we decided to find a cab-wise choice.
We arrived after 8 pm to a find a huge seated table outside and most of the inside full as well. We were shown a table in the room furthest from any view.
It took a long time for server to arrive, who immediately apologized for our wait due to being busy. He was sincere so no problem.
The prosecco was nice and the red wine in lovely glasses and full bodies, dry as requested.
Past reviews suggested the prawns and they were prepared perfect, along side a bed of arugula. Lamb chops were nice but fairly thin. Our starter was a pasta with smokes trout, leeks and tomato bits in a slight cream sauce-excellent! Friends Parma ham and mozzarella nice too.
We did have the tiramisu and it wa very good. Friends had the cream brûlée and they enjoyed.
This was our last dinner while in Lake Como and we were glad we took the ride up the hill to avoid the usual restaurants around the squares.
Obviously family owned, very clean and the hospitality is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food after a pleasant walk!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a pleasant walk up hill from the town my wife and daughter (10) and I were rewarded by a very good meal. The staff were both friendly and helpful in guiding our choices and explaining the menu. My grilled prawns tasted great - although there could have been a few more. My wife enjoyed the caprese salad and pesto pasta, and my daughter thought that the spaghetti bolognese the best of our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BearsinArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Like going to the house of a friend”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 20-30 minute walk up the hill behind Menaggio, then dinner on the patio. Good food and wine. If we could rate this on customer service alone we'd give this restaurant 5 stars. The server and his young wife ran the restaurant when we were there and they were friendly and gracious. Don't miss the fantastic homemade tiramisu! If you want a local experience away from the tourist bustle, definitely come here; we're so glad we did!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidisiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem hidden above Menaggio used by locals - trust their judgement”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Smashing little place with excellent local cuisine and personal service from the hosts. We both ate in the evening and used it for morning coffees en route out for the day. Clean and well run it strikes you quickly that a little off the beaten track this place gets its business from the locals - you can safely trust their judgement. Has a local court for the Italian version of boule below the terrace of pollarded plane trees. We we not able to get there on a night when they were playing but we bet its fun if you strike it lucky!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeESussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed trattoria la vecchia magnolia also viewed

 
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to trattoria la vecchia magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing