We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite refined”

Il Ristorante di Paolo
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quite refined”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

At the inner side of the small main square, but this doesn't detract from the lakeside view. Smartly dressed staff who are attentive when necessary. The food is just that little bit different, which adds to the attraction;eg. Pistachio crime brûlée. Portions could perhaps be a little larger and the prices a little lower. However, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATJ350Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    132
    44
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The package synced”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Harmony throughout the criteria, food, service, setting were all of high quality.
Veal chop was incredible and so were lasagne, fish and wine card.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“La dolce vita....”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

What better way to spend our first day in Menaggio than sitting outdoors on a sunny afternoon, drinking good vino rosso, enjoying excellent spaghetti with mussels and lake fish, overlooking romantic Lake Como! The sweet life, indeed! The food was delicious and perfectly prepared. We asked for tomato sauce on the side, and it was excellent, as well. Our waiter was attentive, but not hovering, which is just the way we like it. The price was reasonable, too. You can't ask for a lovelier setting than the charming town of Menaggio.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely view and food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great view in the main square. Choice of tables inside and out but despite it being chilly, we chose the view outside. We had a bottle of Prosecco which was lovely and chilled through out. We had the lamb and beef mains which looked small on arrival but were very thick and filling. Tasty veg on the side. Sauce was lovely but a bit salty on both meals. I finished with tiramisu which was surprisingly light.

I would go back again for the amazing view, tasty food and lovely staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We didn't stay here but ate here several times and called in for coffee and drinks during our stay in the area. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and really enjoyed the food from breakfast, lunch and dinner and great Italian wine.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ristorante di Paolo also viewed

 
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Il Ristorante di Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing