We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Mr Colombo, the proprietor clearly enjoys his work. He and his staff tirelessly ensure that his guests are well looked after. The hotel has 15 rooms, 7 in the main building ( our choice) and 8 in a separate building over the road. We stayed 7 days in room 6 which had a large balcony overlooking the pool area.

The rooms, public areas, restaurant and pool are all kept in an immaculate condition.

We had the half board option, which was a four course menu, the food and service being first class, with the wine and drinks being reasonably priced.

Mr Colombo tries to organise a private half day lake trip weekly, with him providing the entertainment, and providing drinks and canapés during the trip and a light lunch back at the hotel.

We would definately stay here again if we visited Lake Como

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank berks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Didn't stay at Hotel Royal, but ate at Chez Mario restaurant 4 times during our holiday in Menaggio. Mario and the team are always welcoming and friendly, and the food is some of the best in the area - certainly more consistently good than others who claim to be better, but are a bit 'hit & miss'!
Recommend the houmemade pasta dishes - especially Alfredo, and the peppercorn steak was tender and tasty, all complimented by good recommendations of local Italian wine.
We will definitely be back next time we return to lake Como.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wotnocaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

After spending 4 nights in this hotel, I can only recommend it for the excellent services one can find there. This place is a bit above Menaggio, but the hotel is very well sign-posted. Very clean and well looked after, from our room we had a beautiful view on the Lake Como, as well as over the village of Bellagio. The meals were of great quality, the swimming pool ideal and the personnel very agreeable.

Room Tip: You have the choice of staying either at the main building or at the annexe. We had room n° 4, in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleEtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights and opted to pay for a room with a view and what a view we got!

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in throughout our european road trip and it was quite good. The staff were very attentive and knowledgeable, the food was good with a great choice for breakfast but if you want eggs, boiled or fried you have to pay extra!

The only negative for us was the room. It was very small but did have a balcony and that fantastic view. The room furnishings were solid wood and were superb quality but a little dated in this day and age.

The biggest disappointment was the bathroom. Like the room, it was very small with a shower cubicle which was ancient and again tiny.

Menaggio itself was lovely as were the other towns we visited, Bellagio and Varenna. Would definitely return to the Italian lakes but prefer Lake Garda which is much larger.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My daughter and I spent 3 days in Hotel Royal and we liked it very much. Although the hotel is not located near the lake, it takes only 10min to reach it by foot and the view is fantastic. The restaurant and the the lobby are quite cosy. The swimming pool is great place to relax. We used the fitness which is very basic with only 3 devices. Our room was very small and the bathroom needs to be renovated. We ate in the restaurant and they offer great food although we would recommend you to eat à la carte instead of the menu. Breakfast is excellent with a large selection of fresh meat, cheese and fruit. You should definitively try their tomatoes ; they are delicious !If you prefer a small familiar hotel with personal service in a quiet location, we would definitevly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nawolus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a month road trip around france and italy we definately rated this the best hotel we stayed in. The swimming pool was just perfect with the most beautiful panoramic view. The rooms were clean and the staff we very professional. The breakfast was a great start to the day and the hotel food was actually better than some of the local restaurants we visited. Overall a lovely place and will be going back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I took a European trip in June, and Lake Como was one of our stops. We stayed at the Hotel Royal. This hotel is perched on a hill above the town, and requires about a 20 minute walk to the water. Once we got the route down, it wasn't difficult to make our way to and from the town and water taxis. It was extremely hot when we visited, and the hotel doesn't have air conditioning (as so many European hotels that aren't a "chain" hotel lack). The grounds of the hotel are quite lovely, and it has a pool. We were in a room that didn't offer a lot of privacy...our bedroom window, when opened, looked out to the driveway to the hotel, and our patio was positioned where people walking back from dinner, the pool, or an outdoor cafe/sitting area would pass. Knowing this, if we return, we would ask for a different room. Maybe we're just antisocial, though. :) We ate dinner at the hotel, and it was absolutely fabulous. The chef, Mario, grows his own produce, and the quality of the food is evident. Breakfast came with our room charge, and it is quite good. I don't recall if there were eggs, but there were a great many options, and it was lovely to sit outside in the morning eating our breakfast. All in all, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake views, but not on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakegal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#8 of 10 in Menaggio
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Largo Vittorio Veneto 1 | Loveno di Menaggio, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing