We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pizza”

Pizzeria Lugano Ristorante - Bar
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The place is off the water but really where the locals go for a great pizza and a bottle of wine. The place will win no awards for the decoration, but it will for the local charm and the food. A couple of two can obtain an appetizer, wine, and pizza all for $25. Really great for the people who want to get away from the tourist expensive places everywhere on Como Lake.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great pizza”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place does not have a lot of atmosphere, but the pizza was great. I was a little disappointed that the delicious looking pictures at the entrance did not actually reflect the menu they offered, but the food was great. And the prices even better

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    109
    51
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza a little off the beaten track”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is a short walk away from Menaggion "downtown", but well worth the hike. From my experience, the best pizzas are made by chefs from former Yugoslavia. Lugano is right up there with the Yugos.

The pizzas are great, and the prices very affordable. This appears to be a favourite hangout for the locals for lunch as well as dinner (a good sign? we thought so).

If you are in the area, and hungry for pizza, I'd recommend to come here. If you're in Menaggio, and want a decent affordable meal, walk the five minutes away from all the tourists and come here. It's pizza, but if that's what you're up for, I doubt that you will be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank swede1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pizza to KILL for.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As far as I'm concerned, Pizza is an essential food group and this place filled all of my expectations and then some. We ate both downstairs in the little outside area they have and upstairs in the main restaurant. Loads of locals eat here which is always a great recommendation in its own right. traditional, Italian, wood-fire stove cooked pizza. Delicious. We loved it so much that we went back too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realwit1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pizza oven, fresh baked bases but poor toppings”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good bases and good value but if I would go again I'd have a margarita as the veg wasnt fresh, it's was either jarred or tinned. The meat toppings were ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucylav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pizza”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a small, cosy restaurant where the chef makes your pizza from scratch. After you order, you can watch the chef stretch the dough and work his "magic". It is then placed into a wood burning pizza oven. Fabulous.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Lugano Ristorante - Bar also viewed

Menaggio, Lake Como
Menaggio, Lake Como
 

Been to Pizzeria Lugano Ristorante - Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing