We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bringing back the old traditions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Merloni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Merloni
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bringing back the old traditions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Reminds me of a 70's family hotel. Which is great by the way. Mainly I am talking about the set breakfast and dinner hours, your room number on your table, which is the same tale every meal. Like a Flag Inn back home in Australia.

The room was clean and functional, although very small. Not enough room to open 2 suit cases.

The pool is great though, there is air con and tv and bar fridge in the room, all working well.

And the staff where always helpful and pleasant.

This would be great for families and/or if you have your own transport (car, motorbike). We arrived by ferry from Como and found the buses stopped around 6:30pm, and there are only 2 taxis in Menaggio. Here's a free tip: one of the two taxi drivers is Fausto and his cell number is 335-8036670. Ask him to take you to Hotel Merloni in Cardano (to be clear).

We did a few walks in the area, which were quite interesting actually. There is not many alternative eating or drinking options close by though, hence why I reckon this is more suited to families. But if you want a choice, head towards Menaggio a few hundred metres (in Cardano) to find bar and a few restaurants at least.

Having said that, there was nothing wrong with the fare at Merloni. I had a steak and Sue had veal schnitzel, both where lovely. The sides were well cooked too.

Getting to and from town you have three choices: taxi (€15), bus (~€2) or walk. The walking path is great actually, and obviously easier to walk down to Menaggio than back up. Takes less than 30 minutes down. However you probably DON'T want to walk to or from the hotel from the ferry with your luggage!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
50
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because of its good reviews, and we were not disappointed. It was a great place to stay (11 nights). The hotel staff/family members were all very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean with a good working airco and wifi. The grounds were lovely and again extremely clean, no litter anywhere! The goodsized swimming pool was well maintained and a relaxing place to be after a day's touring around.

Hotel Merloni is also a good stop gap if you want to explore further down Italy, which we will do next year.

Thanks Merloni, you contributed to a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain appear to be quieter although the hotel is located in a quietish area from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tineke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated in the mountains above Mennagio with access to a lovely pool and garden,nice and comfortable rooms with airco and safe. Receptionist was very friendly and service minded.Good food, both breakfast and in the restaurant.
It's possible to eat inside or on the terrace with a nice view on the mountains.
All and all a very cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_B_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with my family, very friendly and helpful staff. It is family owned and they take great pride in the property. The entire property was immaculate, pool was great! It was my mother and father in-laws anniversary when we where there, and they treated them to a special dinner and surprise after. It was only about 2 1/2 kilometers to downtown. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days and really enjoyed it. Good location 5 minutes drive from Menaggio (but not Menaggio prices), but also easy access to Lugano (30 minutes).
Clean simple rooms, good breakfast, very pleasant gardens and pool. The views of surrounding mountains are great.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice place, beautiful and clean and not expensive. Very close to the Lake Como, the staff is very friendly, the room is good and the breakfast was tasty and filling. Also has a great view. If we come back to the area, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggins42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Third time to stay in this hotel. Colombina and the rest of the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much to ask. The location of the hotel is excellent - situated on a plateau on the way to Lake Lugano. The sun shines on the hotel virtually all day. Yet it is close enough to Lake Como to enjoy the wonderful resorts dotted along the shoreline.
The buffet breakfast is one of the best we have encountered in Italy. A good selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese and lovely fresh pastries. Evening meals too are excellent value - we chose the half board option.
Each time we go, improvements seem to be made - none more welcoming that the addition of air conditioning and free wi-fi.
The pool is always a wonderful place to relax. It rarely gets too busy and the views of the surrounding mountains are to die for.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room overlooking the pool. But any room has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel6855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merloni

Property: Hotel Merloni
Address: Via Re Magi 6, 22010 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merloni 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Merloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merloni Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing