We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - Lovely Owners.”
Review of Hotel Merloni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Merloni
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great value - Lovely Owners.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Merloni for two nights. We found the Family operated Hotel owners simply wonderful friendly people. Nothing was any trouble for them. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the Hotel, and found the food to be of good quality and very good value for money. Rooms were reasonably priced and clean.
Free Wi Fi another bonus.

Room Tip: All rooms were well located. Off the road far enough. A room overlooking pool and view to mountain d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
53
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

It was a last minute getaway and the Hotel Merloni was one of the few hotels with availability. Based on the good reviews, we booked for 4 nights. The staff at the front desk was super friendly but when we saw our room, we were so disappointed! It was clean but so old fashioned and drab with a satin navy bedspread and a yellowed light fixture on the ceiling. The bathroom was very basic as well. By changing out the light fixtures and switching to duvets, like most other hotels these days, the room would be so much nicer. The breakfast buffet had all prepackaged items, there were only a few fresh items. The coffee was awful and the waiter on the surly side. We actually left early because the hotel was so bad and also it rained every day except one. That day, we golfed at a lovely established golf course in Menaggio, overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singapore_Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel in July 2011. I am completely baffled by some reviews about noise. This is a lovely, family- run, quaint little hotel in the mountains. While there is no lake view at this hotel, the mountain view is simply breath-taking and more than makes up for the lack of a lake view. The owners of the hotel clearly take great pride in their family business. The hotel is very well maintained and immaculately clean. The staff are very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The food is very good. We had pizza in Lugano, Como, Menaggio and Lenno and i must say the Pizza in Hotel Merloni was the best we had in Italy! The food is very reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Lake Como. The price for B&B is very, very reasonable - a fraction of the price of the hotels on the lake!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We had booked a family room for 4 nights but we stayed only one night. The hotel was so noisy that we hardly slept two hours during the whole first night. You could clearly hear people talking next room. The same goes for the corridor. Walls were like papers. The room was cleaned and sheets were clean. But the condition of the hotel is quite poor. The furniture were old and shubby. The bathroom was not in a perfect condition either. The space for shower was so small that you could not turn around. The air-condition was very noisy as well. The room was very small for a family room. We put our two luggages on the floor because there was no room elsewehere. Then, you could not walk around. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vesimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed at Merloni in September for 2 nights with the family and can only recommended this nice hotel. We stayed in a 3 bed room with WC which was spotlessly clean, comfortable and quiet but don't you go expecting any luxuries. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. The same goes to the reception service and overall feeling in the hotel. There´s also a very nice pool that we didn't use as it wasn't that warm weather... Expect encountering biker groups and being one myself, was glad to see a fairly large group of bearded, leather jacket Harley guys being welcomed by everyone and behaving accordingly! There's more than meets the eye...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fulvia_paulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for one night and I have enjoyed every minute of it.
Hotel Merloni is located about 10 minutes driving from Menaggio in a great quite area in the montains (pay attention that there is no lake view from the hotel but there is an amazing view of the montains).
The room was exellent! New, very big, clean, beautiful and accupied with a kitchen (ask the hotel for it), heating system and an amazing view!
Moreover, the hotel has very nice swiming pool, a nice area to sit outside and indoor,a free parking, a niceresturant and a gym!
The breakfast was very rich and tasty, and even the fact that the hotel was fully booked it didn't disturb us at all!
In addition the service was exellent and the staff were very nice.

I liked it so much, it was a great place to visit Menaggio, Swiss and the area, I totally recommed this hotel!!!

If you need more information, you can ask : hilaisraeli3@walla.com

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hila313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We booked the Hotel Merloni for two nights to use as a base to visit the nearby Lakes and villages. Although we arrived in Menaggio from Como, we were not immediately able to locate the hotel. After some effort, we gleaned enought insight from a nearby gas station to learn that we needed to take the road to Porleeza at the downtown round-a-bout. After arriving late, we were pleaseantly greeted (in English) by the manager. We decided not to go back out to find a restaurant, so we ate at the hotel. The evening dinner was VERY good and reasonably priced. (A European-style "continental breakfast" is included in the room rate. (Be sure to try the tiramisu!) My wife and I are STILL in the Lakes Region of Northern Italy and are amazed with the beauty, charm and ease of travel. Don't worry about finding someone who speaks English... we have learned that every hotel and even the pharmacies have English-speakikng managers/employees. More later as we head to Lake Maggiore!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menaggio
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior
#4 of 5 in Cadenabbia di Griante
2,937 reviews
8.4 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#3 of 10 in Menaggio
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merloni

Property: Hotel Merloni
Address: Via Re Magi 6, 22010 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merloni 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merloni Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing