We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly family business”
Review of Albergo Il Vapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Vapore
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Traveled in mid-june 2014 which proved to be an excellent time to visit Menaggio and lake Como. We were very happy with Albergo il Vapore, it's conveniently located right in the centre of Menaggio, close to boat rentals, small shopping area, and all the restaurants. Hotel is family run and has a cozy, relaxed feel. Our room was spacious for the price we paid, bathroom was recently renovated and there was even a balcony with a view to lake Como.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Il Vapore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you want to visit Lake Como on a budget, this is the place to stay.
Very friendly family run business, gorgeous food and coffee, It is in the perfect location, just off a lovely square and minutes to the lake.
Our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and we were given new fresh towels everyday.
The beds weren't 5* but they weren't uncomfortable either.
We had plenty of room to store clothes.
I stayed here for one week with my boyfriend and despite fairly bog standard rooms it was still incredibly romantic and beautiful. Anyway, when you are in the most beautiful place in the world how long are you going to spend in you hotel room? Not much.
We spend a couple of days hiking in the hills surrounding Menaggio, there are some really cool WW1 trenches nearby that you can catch the bus too.
We spent a few days sunbathing on the lake.
We spent a day hopping from town to town and would definitely say Menaggio is the best place to have your base, it's as equally beautiful as Bellagio and slightly less touristy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As our corrupt president slowly sends our currency down the toilet value for money for exchange challenged South Africans is vital to survive. The Albergo II Vapore proved to be just that. Situated in a pretty little courtyard looking onto the lake surrounded by resturants I almost felt like a normal Pound/Euro/dollar rich traveller. The rooms are clean beds great but very basic. No frills like TV and a small toilet or lift. But the bathroom is clean and functional who watches TV whilst on holiday!.

Room Tip: Room on second floor had a small balcony looking onto courtyard. Quiet and comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike6607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location & staff are wonderful. That's where it ends. We had room 21 with a great view of the lake, and being directly above the kitchen gave us the unbelievable noise in this old building. There were sounds like someone was prying open a stuck door followed by what sounded like them hauling the door back as far as they could and slamming it with all their might. We were here for 4 long nights & started praying that people wouldn't order whatever it was that the cook had to pound. We could hear the neighbors both above & next to us snoring, peeing, walking ( in this hotel it sounded like clomping in heavy boots) around, all hours. Room 21 is higher on the sides & slopes to the middle. That was even more apparent the night it rained when rain was running from the window/ door into the room. The bed was rock hard with springs you could feel, so we used an extra blanket to soften them. The shower was very slippery & if you are lucky you'll grt two bath towels. Frequently we got a bath towel & 3 hand towels. When trying to find this hotel, walk 300 meters from the bus stop & look to the left. It's in a little square & you can only see the sign on the street if you are at the hotel. Look for the little boat used as a planter, with flags. The hotel is there.
If you don't need quiet to sleep, then this is a great place. Easy to walk to boats for Bellagio, etc. very nice people!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meno1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights. This simple hotel is comfortable and relaxing. Our room had a good bed and a balcony with a small view of the water. They have a lovely restaurant with that we are twice at with good Italian food and coffee. The family owners are genuinely happy, caring and very helpful. Simone even walked around the town to find us (we travel without phones) to tell us the weather was good to go paragliding and they will be here in 20mins to pick us up. Thank you so much for a relaxing beautiful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rooms small but clean. Good value for money. Furniture old fashioned. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Great location! We had a great view at the lake from our balcony on the second floor. Good restaurant on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjakkelien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This area is very expensive for lodging. Il Vapore was a great price and did the trick. The beds were comfortable. The WiFi worked. The staff was very, very nice. You are one block from Lake Como, surrounded by fantastic restaurants. For the price, this place certainly can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skye21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menaggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#8 of 10 in Menaggio
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Vapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Vapore

Address: Piazza Tommaso Grossi 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range: $76 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Il Vapore 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely hotel and rooftop restaurant features a charming outdoor outdoor wisteria centenary. The restaurant is located in the lakeside piazza of Menaggio, in the heart of the town, located on the shores of Lake Como. The food is homemade and traditional dishes, freshly cooked, Larian specialties include risotto with perch as the (only if available fresh and Lake Como) and whitefish, as well as delicacies of the nearby Valtellina as pizzoccheri and sciatt. Most of the ten rooms, simply furnished, surprising in the breathtaking lake view.Kindness, courtesy and attention to detail and the son of Mrs. Simone Pinuccia complete the enchanting atmosphere of the hotel restaurant Steam, a corner of paradise in the heart of Lake Como. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Il Vapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Vapore Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing