We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Albergo Il Vapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Vapore
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Certificate of Excellence
plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a pretty hotel just off the main square. We chose it because it was one of the few we could afford in the area so we did not have high expectations. We were welcomed by the friendly owners and found everything we needed in our room. Yes it was small and basic - could do with a coat of paint but, our bed was clean and comfortable and we were provided with clean towels each day. Rooms 25 and 26 have a small balcony with room for table and chairs and from here we enjoyed a lovely view of the lake over to Bellagio. We paid for breakfast which consisted of coffee with bread and a selection of jams - by day no 7 we were ready for something different! There was the smell of cooking fat in the entrance lobby but nowhere else.
I would recommend this hotel for its location , good value and the friendly owners. It is not luxury but we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms 25 and 26 have a pretty blacony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justloveitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
75
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a cute place from the outside and what a great location but I am afraid that's where it stops! Room very small and basic which is fine but extremely noisy coming from other rooms and it wasn't the cleanest , also always smelt of cooking fat so we didn't eat here, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night.
Its located in the best place you can imagine.
Its 30 meters from the see.
The rooms are basic, very small shower(really small) but it has hot water and clean towel.
We asked for one more towel from the owner simone and he kindly gave us.
It doesnt include air condition but it wasnt needed(actually it was rather cold) and beside soap there wasnt any shampoo in the bathroom (we brought one from home).
The price is very good, and simone will help you with everything you need regarding your trip.

We will reccomend this place to others.

Thanks a lot!

Maya and Gady.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiney13_ISRAEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was a very nice hotel, simple as one would expect from a 1 star hotel, but clean, with a nice view and much than a fair price. The best is the location, just in the middle of a small square. Very nicely served by the owners, who gave the family spirit to the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederlenz, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Simplicity and perfection go hand in hand. Our delight today is the same as in past years.
It is good to see that such a wonderful hotel stays in the same family and is passed from generation to generation. Our best wishes go to mother and son. You are doing very fine! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heinz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Middle of the town, by the water, family run hotel, friendly faces and clean... what else you need when you are on holiday

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank elfbigblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had two great meals here while on holiday. Such excellent service, very friendly and efficient. Good local food specialities. A evening we arrived early for supper and we it seemed we were eating dinner with the family who own/operate this restaurant... it was very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Menaggio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Corona
Hotel Garni Corona
#1 of 10 in Menaggio
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Victoria
Grand Hotel Victoria
#6 of 10 in Menaggio
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merloni
Hotel Merloni
#4 of 10 in Menaggio
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Menaggio
Grand Hotel Menaggio
#2 of 10 in Menaggio
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#7 of 10 in Menaggio
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#9 of 10 in Menaggio
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Vapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Vapore

Property: Albergo Il Vapore
Address: Piazza Tommaso Grossi 3, 22017 Menaggio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Menaggio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Menaggio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Il Vapore 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely hotel and rooftop restaurant features a charming outdoor outdoor wisteria centenary. The restaurant is located in the lakeside piazza of Menaggio, in the heart of the town, located on the shores of Lake Como. The food is homemade and traditional dishes, freshly cooked, Larian specialties include risotto with perch as the (only if available fresh and Lake Como) and whitefish, as well as delicacies of the nearby Valtellina as pizzoccheri and sciatt. Most of the ten rooms, simply furnished, surprising in the breathtaking lake view.Kindness, courtesy and attention to detail and the son of Mrs. Simone Pinuccia complete the enchanting atmosphere of the hotel restaurant Steam, a corner of paradise in the heart of Lake Como. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Il Vapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Vapore Menaggio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing