We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Scapone
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mattinata
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The view is fantastic, the restaurant is more than average and we loved the canoe ride to the beach next door. It is steep with loads of steps so not ideal for people with mobility issues.
Service is reasonable. There's very little mobile network coverage that makes it even a better place to hide from the phone :) but there's some wifi near reception if you need internet.

Room Tip: we asked for a room with external jacuzzi but we got one indoors instead. So probably worth checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfriend71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    50
    27
    22
See reviews for
43
199
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very steep property, and beautiful views. Good breakfast service. The "very good rating" is for the location and breakfast. The rest gets only average. The morning reception gets poor. No beach - just a floating dock which requires a jump if you want to rent a small canoe or just have a look. Really, these canoes should be gratis, and the deck area should be improved for better access. Rooms need refurbishment. Afternoon/evening receptionist personable, promises everything, but short on delivery. The morning receptionist needs to improve her people skills! No one at reception before 8:30. We asked about taking a boat ride, and the afternoon receptionist said she would arrange it for the next morning, but did not. Very disappointed! When we showed up at reception to be picked up as promised by the afternoon receptionist, the morning receptionist looked at us as if we had two heads. She told us to rush down to the dock in Mattinata, and we could catch a boat. We arrived by 9 as directed and there was nothing. When we complained, she said "that's normal"! No English TV stations, and we were told someone would come to adjust our tv but they never did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's a rather odd layout and the building appears a bit old and ramshackle but we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was a good size with a nice, large balcony (too hot to sit out while we were there though) and the best shower we found in Puglia. The AC worked as well and was certainly needed. Nice pool area with a decent sized and nice temperature pool. Also another area with a spa pool, also a good temperature for cooling off. And a pleasant bar area to get a cold drink. We appreciated the golf buggy lift back to reception as well. It's all very steep.

We ate outside overlooking the bay on both nights which was very pleasant. The sea bream with olives on first night was excellent but the sea bass in salt the second night was possibly even better. Some of the best fish we've had anywhere. Good wine too. Deserts a bit dull. Breakfast was good too - not the best we had in Puglia but plenty of choice.

Help with the luggage was appreciated too - no lifts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stood (4 people from France) for two nights at this hotel and were very happy to be here. Very nice views. Very good restaurant. We had a serious problem with our car, and the daughter of the boss helpt us all the time. She was always ready to listen and to help. Thanks again. They have different levels of rooms. Ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard57Thionville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing cliff top views from the restaurant & our sea view terrace which had 2 x sunloungers, table & chairs -AND a hammock! Nice staff, good food, jacuzzi bath & very tranquil.

Slightly dated decor but still nice, fairly small menu if you we're staying more than 3 days...

Room Tip: Sea view balcony a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This was indeed a hidden treasure, the most beautiful spot, it has so much going for it, we were the only 4 people there, we climbed down and swam in the Adriatic, even though the pool was still open, we stayed out on our double hammock on our private deck, after dinner at night, looking up at the moon and the stars, we felt like romantic kids again, we were so happy it was even open, and the meals they cooked just for the 4 of us were lovely, we went to the sights in the area and had a wonderful time there, we wanted to experience the real Italy, the fresh seafood was great, and the local wines very good, the hotel is decorated in a very Italian style, it used to be the private villa of a local doctor, we felt we were very lucky to be able to experience the kind of holiday italians experience. It is owned and run by a lovely family and they made us feel very at home there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the place to go to relax. Can't beat the location and price. The Director Michelle, and staff Guisseppe were outstanding.

The reason for not 5 stars is that the menu could use a little more variety. We grew tired of it (and it is not so friendly for vegetarians). Once we ventured out to other local eateries, this problem was solved. Also, their is no beach here but you can jump in the ocean from the end of a trail. The most AMAZING beach is a few kilometers away as Baia di Vignanotica. You just travel down this windy road, park, pay 5 euro to be shuttled down to the most spectacular beach in the world (better than the Baia di Faraglioni).

Also, the wifi is a joke. his is a remote area with very little to no reception, so don't plan on being online.

GO!!

Room Tip: The ones with the balcony obstruct the view of the ocean. Go of the little bungalow below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattinata
1.3 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Zagare
Hotel Baia delle Zagare
#2 of 9 in Mattinata
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Il Porto
Hotel Residence Il Porto
#1 of 9 in Mattinata
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Locanda del Carrubo
La Locanda del Carrubo
#4 of 9 in Mattinata
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Casa e il Mare
La Casa e il Mare
#6 of 9 in Mattinata
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Rotonda Hotel
La Rotonda Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattinata
64 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palace Hotel San Michele
Palace Hotel San Michele
#1 of 4 in Monte Sant'Angelo
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Scapone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Scapone

Property: Hotel Villa Scapone
Address: Litoranea Mattinata-Vieste Km. 12, 71030 Mattinata, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Mattinata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mattinata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Scapone 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Gargano promontory Villa Scapone has panoramic sea views from its sun terrace and rooms, all with balcony. It features a swimming pool and hot tub.This new hotel is set in a historic villa that has been completely refurbished. Rooms are spacious and air conditioned and come with a minibar and a private bathroom with hairdryer and slippers.Breakfast is buffet style at the Scapone Villa, which features a bar and a restaurant serving Italian specialities. Guests will also find a tennis court and a free car park.Scapone is just 2 km from the nearest sandy beach. It is 40 minutes' drive to Vieste port for boat trips to the Isole Tremite, and 45 minutes by car to San Giovanni Rotondo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Scapone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scapone Hotel Foggia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing