We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of VILLA MARIANNA

Terrace with fantastic View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace with fantastic View
Terrace with fantastic View Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Terrace with fantastic View
Terrace with fantastic View
Terrace
Entrance Villa Marianna
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool by night
brown room at first floor
Orange Room at first floor
Red main room with private Terrace
Blu room at ground floor
lunch room at first floor
lunch room at first floor
lunch room at first floor
Lunch Room at ground floor
Lunch Room at ground floor
Lunch Room at ground floor
Kitchenett at ground floor
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom with iacuzzi at ground floor
Bathroom in Main room
Terrace By Night
Tony with Giuseppe Son and Mariateresa Daughter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lucy D
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough to spend a superb 10 nights with our family at Villa Marianna in celebration of our beautiful wedding in Sorrento. I must say the place is simply stunning! We were blown away the minute we arrived and were over the moon with our choice of accommodation.

We were greeted by our host, Tony Mazzola, on arrival with welcome drinks and food. Tony is the perfect host in every way and he did all he could to ensure our stay was everything we wanted it to be. He took us shopping, dropped off supplies (nobody wants to run out of wine!), arranged taxis to and from Sorrento, booked us tables in restaurants, the list is endless. He simply couldn’t do enough. He even trimmed up his lovely Audi with ribbons and flowers to take my father and me to the Cloisters on my wedding day, which was a wonderful surprise.

The villa is listed as a luxury villa and it most certainly is. It is situated on a hillside with views that are out of this world, and the facilities are second to none. There are three great patio areas, a wonderful pool for dipping in, amazing cooking facilities, spacious rooms and the villa itself is kept immaculately. It is laid out on two levels with two separate living quarters. This was ideal for us given that we were staying there as a family and we have a one year old baby. It meant that we could have our own space and that he didn’t wake everyone up in the night! He was in his element during his first ever holiday abroad and loved the freedom of the villa. We’ve never seen him so happy.

The villa is a 10/15 minute walk from the beautiful fishing port of Marina del Cantone, which is filled with first-class restaurants and a great beach for relaxing and soaking up the sun. It is also a few minutes’ walk from the incredible two Michelin star restaurant, Quattro Passi, which is well worth a visit. My husband and I treated ourselves to a special honeymoon meal there and were picked up and taken home by the restaurant. We had the best meal we have ever eaten and the staff were amazing. For a Michelin star restaurant the atmosphere was very relaxed too. They even have ducks in the bar area!

I can’t recommend Villa Marianna highly enough. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed and I can’t wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of the villa and the attentiveness of our host, Tony.
Liked least: It is a shame that Sorrento isn't a little closer, but the villa more than makes up for this!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thanks so much Lucy for your fantastic review .
Hope see you again
Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anghinett...
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A journey to paradise.”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having made seven previous trips to Italy my wife and I were not expecting any surprises on our recent trip to the beautiful Sorrento Peninsula with our family of nine. However, our week-long stay at the Villa Marianna jolted us out of our complacency. Perched high above the small but stunningly beautiful beach and fishing port of Marina del Cantone graced with a mélange of visiting boats and first-class restaurants, our visit to Villa Marianna proved a reminder that Italy's splendor is inexhaustible. Arriving at the house, we were greeted by host/owner Tony Mazzola who dedicated his week to making our stay a royal treat. He served as a knowledgeable concierge who arranged a whirlwind of activities for us: provided advice on the best restaurants (particularly the Conca del Sogno Beach Club and il Cantuccio), booked a memorable private, day-long boat trip to Positano, Amalfi and Capri with ample time for swimming, and he even drove a lead car to negotiate our way to the train station in Sorrento where we journeyed to Pompeii. The Villa contained three levels of patios, an immaculate pool and a view worthy of a Hollywood film. Even experienced tourists will find this choice a traveler's jewel.

The Anghinetti Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large outdoor patios, terraces, expansive views
Liked least: Steep hills for walking, difficult driving.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
How.....thanks so much and hope to see you again.
regards
tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apryme
Bronxville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breathtaking views, perfect location, and fantastic owner”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I traveled with my husband and two other couples this past July and we were thrilled with absolutely everything this villa had to offer. Tony, the owner, went above and beyond for us from arranging dinner at Quatro Passi, a 2 Michelin star restaurant up the street. The chef catered to us all evening and we suspect because of Tony - to buying groceries for us - to driving is to dinner one night. If I had only known to book directly through him instead of a booking agency, I would have done that. We visited Sorrento, and highly recommend taking a boat to Capri, Positano, and Amalfi. The beaches are fantastic and the views from the villa are probably the best around. The rooms were all large with lovely bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen to cook in. The outdoor seating was perfect and a dip in the pool a huge bonus. Cannot say enough about the property and highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
hi dear
and thanks so much.
hope to see you again
tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darrell14...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the ingredients for a fabulous holiday”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a fantastic villa, furnished to high standard and in a beautiful setting. Its owner, Tony, is on call to ensure you have all you need and to help with recommendations. We have travelled extensively, but this was our first family holiday to Italy, and we will most certainly be back. We can recommend chartering a private boat to go to Capri. After a few days of the local roads, a boat is the preferred mode of transport, and you will get to see so much more of the regions coastline.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
2 reviews
“Simply Superb.........”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonder vacation! We were traveling with 2 other couples. We arrived after a long flight and drive to be met by Tony( owner), personally about !5 minutes to the villa to show us the way in.
Apon arrival we were shown our rooms and the villas ammenities which were perfect ! Very beautiful and very Clean( something that I am always worried about traveling to a villa rather that a "Know" hotel chain)
My husband and I stayed on the lower level (The Blue room)( the villa is on the side of a mountain and tiered)
It was a complete suite with a large living room dinning room area with kitchen and bathroom with shower and a separate bathtub. Outside is a lovely sitting area that one can read a book or enjoy a coffee > There is stone steps up to the main area where the main "Villa" is situated>
The main has a very large outdoor deck area with views to the sea and quite a few other areas that are tucked away that one could leave the main area and find a quiet spot for a afternoon snooze in a swing under a tree or enjoy a book in the shade of some lemon trees. The pool is a perfect size for a quick dip after a hot day of sightseeing.
The main villa consists of a large living room dinning area( there is a lovely large covered dinning area out on the main patio as well) .A Kitchen, Laundry room and 3 bedrooms upstairs (the red room) has a lovely balcony outside and great views of the sea.It has an ensuite as well. The Orange and Brown bedrooms share a bathroom.( all were very clean and the three main bedroom all are queen beds except for the brown room which is a double bed.
Ok, last but not least our Host/Owner Tony,was amazing and really made our trip.I cannot say enough wonderful things to say about our stay.
The fridge was stocked with local wines,cheeses and meats. Milk ,juice ,coffee and fresh fruits and pastries for the am with our cappuccinos were divine!
No request was too much to ask of him! Tony, can you arrange a 5 star restaurant to dine in Capri? No problem...Tony, can you arrange a boat to take us there and around the island for the day to Capri? No problem.... Tony, can you get scooters for us in the afternoon? No Problem...Tony was young and energetic and really wanted us to just have a good time and have fun and relax.He even helped us out when one of the crazy drivers decided to veer into our lane and take out our side mirror( FYI get insurance on your cars!!!) and had it fixed by the time we got back from our boat drive that night.
I would recommend this place because although not right in the centre of Sorrento it was very easy to travel to and around the Amalfi coast from where the villa was situated.

Absolutely ! Great for First time travellers, Tony was so helpful helping us get around and make reservations for us.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thanks so much lorraine....
i will never forget you, keith and our group.
hope see you again one day!!!
the owner
tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJohnM
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place, superb host, couldn't be better!”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have been to Villa Marianna twice and will almost certainly be back. This last occasion was with children and their partners. We arrived late March on a Wednesday when many local shops are closed. Our host (Tony) looked after us extremely well, shopping and then cooking a typical italian meal for us. It was a perfect reception and fabulous day made easy after a bumpy flight.

Tony is the perfect host, he wants you to enjoy your stay and will help in any way that he can.

The Villa is high up overlooking the Tyrennean sea and has fantastic views. Nerano bay is beautiful and has some very nice small restaurants with (again) staff who want to ensure that you have a good experience.

The piece de la resistance is the local 2 michelin star restaurant - Quattro Passi, who will collect you from the Villa and return you after the meal. Their food is perfect, the wine cellar amazing and the staff second to none.

All in all, a perfect place to rest and to enjoy time with friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Thanks so much for a fantastic rewiews
and really hope to see you again at my villa.
the owner
tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samirtrip
India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This villa is located on the top of the hill and has excellent, almost 180 degree clear view of the Tyrrhenian sea from the balconies from both the floors of the villa. It is spread over three stories(2+1) in two levels - The lower level has one bed room, 1 full bath room, kitchen and hall. The upper level has a ground floor having a fully furnished kitchen, dining/drawing room, 1 bath room and an amazing balcony/verandah and the first floor has three bed rooms and two bath rooms.

Tony, is a very helpful and welcoming owner and quite friendly unlike many other rude Italian villa owners/managers we had come across. This is a great place to explore the entire Amalfi coast from. The only consideration one has to make is - you must have your own vehicle as the place is about 20/25 minutes drive from the town of Sorrento.

Guys, if you are travelling to Italy for the first time, be very careful about your belongings and don't leave your luggage and/or valuables in the car. Especially, if you are travelling to Rome/Vetican DO NOT LEAVE THE LUGGAGE UNATTENDED. Though we had this apprehension, to listen to the Pop we took a chance with leaving the car full of luggage outside the Vetican city. When we returned the car was broken, luggage completely stolen-a dozen bags, and worst the cops were in no mood to cooperate or help. ROME IS A CITY OF ROBBERS. BE CAREFUL.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2015
Thanks so much.
tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing