We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, dreadful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punta Campanella Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is a beautiful location however the hotel and service is really bad. We were allocated a dark room on the ground floor, no balcony and facing a grey stone wall one metre from the window.
It was not possible to control the air conditioning in the room. This was controlled from reception and turned on upon complaint only to be turned off the following day requiring further complaint to reception.
The service in the breakfast/dining room was very poor with very bad attitude from waiting staff. When they forgot to serve our main meal one evening , the head waiter informed us that "the chef was gone to school" without any apology.
After the first night we reported the shower head broken. Despite reporting on next two nights this was not fixed properly. When I raised this issue on checkout , the reception staff were very defensive accusing us of not having reported this at any point. They entreated us not to report the bad level of service, leaving bottle of champagne at our room, which we returned unopened.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cerneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingpcr, Direttore at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

We note from the information supplied by your Tour Operator that you booked a "standard room". We have a total of 50 rooms and 40 of these rooms have sea view (superior) or mountain view rooms (standard). On the date you stayed with us our hotel was fully occupied and we were unable to change your room.

In relation to the shower head, I had to communicate with my colleague in Italian because he did not speak English to a good standard. Please be assured, I wanted to find out quickly why the problem was not resolved when you reported the issue to us.

Please excuse us if we did not deal with the issues as mentioned.

Regards
Hotel Punta Campanella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

the place is amazing, quiet, magical, you think you own the world. people are nice. a bit far but it is worth it. magnifient view from all rooms

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for six nights...I wish it could have been much longer. The area is stunningly breathtaking and there is lot’s to discover! The hotel was perfect and is located in the beautiful, yet un spoilt resort of Marina Del Cantone with seven wonderful restaurants, three small hotels and the beach situated just yards away from the hotel doorstep. The service at the hotel is friendly yet professional. With so much choice locally, we found the food at the Galli Restaurant to be exceptional and reasonably priced. The locals provide you with a warm welcome. The rooms overlook the Amalfi Coastline. This is a great hotel to completely chill out and enjoy fantastic Italian food.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephendacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was also one of the 50 Irish tourists who stayed at this hotel. There really should be closure with this issue because the hotel is actually situated in a wonderful spot along the Amalfi Coast. Each day, we visited Capri, Positano & Amalfi, Sorrento and a local dance festival - we had a fabulous time! There was a disagreement with the hotel management because a few members of our group refused to pay for their room upgrade and this has caused upset. I got talking to the family who run this hotel and they really were nice guys and they do not deserve the bad remarks. Now, I will return to this hotel, as it was nicely decorated, clean, comfortable with great views of The Amalfi Coast and positioned in a beautiful little beach resort. Everyone in the group had a great time and would often sing in the evenings after a few glasses of their fabulous wine.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guinessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro_SalesDPT, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guinessboy ,
Thank you very much for spending time to sharing your experience with us.
We're glad to know that you had a good time in our resort.
Thank you so much for all your comments, we're always working to improve in all the areas and to offer our clients an authentic experience.
best regards and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I were among the 50 Irish visitors on this trip.We decided not to join the long check-in queue&opted to have lunch instead.From the minute I entered the dining room I was constantly badgered by the salad waiter for a room number.I got a bad feeling right away.We were fortunate that our room (although it had a problem,which was ignored, incidentially)was far better than most of our travelling companions.Of course we were charged 22é each for that salad ,had to put up with signing blank forms for everything else being charged to our room but we were glad to pay this just to get out after the guide had got the sea view 30é per night charge waived,we had been threatened with the police by that stage,we didn't ask for thee sea view.Amateur in the extreme

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uptherossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingpcr, Direttore at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

As you have mentioned, on arrival you went directly to the restaurant and ordered a Caprese Salad consisting of “Buffalo Mozzarella” plus wine. Our prices are clearly shown on the menu, which equated to 22 Euros.

When you were initially seated, our maître d’ would automatically ask you for your room number. Then once your order had been taken, your waiter would have asked you for your room number. Clearly, by taking a meal prior to check-in confused our restaurant staff and we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We also stayed in this hotel 29th June to 6th July 2011 with a group of 50 other Irish people. On first impression, the hotel was lovely, but on entering, it was obvious they were totally unprepared for 50 people arriving all at once. Check in took ages, with tired people standing outside in the sun waiting in line. We were lucky as we did get a very nice room, with lovely views over the bay, others in the group were not so fortunate, with dampness, dark rooms, etc.
It was really the attitude of the owners which was appaling. They were arrogant, unmannerly, and would not deal with any problems in a professional way. they treated one guest in particular in a dreadful manner and made her holiday one of sheer unpleasantness, which in turn, affected all members of our group.
The restaurant staff, and housekeeping staff, were great. They looked after us very well and were at all times pleasant and professional - how they work there with those two young owners is a mystery!
The area was beautiful, although we were totally "cut off" from civilisation, with no internet or mobile phone connections.
All in all, a lovely area, nice hotel, but totally spoiled by the owners.
We wont be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magsie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingpcr, Direttore at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

This is unfortunately the second comment we have received from the group of 50 persons who travelled from Ireland. The initial problem was with the check-in and trying to assist new arrivals quickly. Whilst we do our best to check-in our customers quickly, documents do have to be completed and this sometimes takes longer with large groups.

The main issue seams to be with the way our management tried to deal with one person who refused to pay for the room upgrade, which was gladly accepted on arrival. This should not have affected others within the group. We are pleased you mentioned that we have a nice hotel situated in a lovely area. Although mobile phones do not work in the area, guests are able to use our hotel telephone and internet services as required. We thank you for your comments, which are currently being addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Spent a week in this hotel with a group of 50 people with the Travel Department from June 29th to July 6th 2011. On arrival at hotel the staff were completely unprepared for our large group. They were unfriendly and unhelpful and made checking in very unpleasant. As we had an early flight we enquired about the availability of a snack. We were asked if a Caprese salad would be ok. Hotel would not accept cash and we had to sign a docket which did not stipulate a price. We found over the week that cash was not accepted at any point and we always had to sign a docket which did not display any prices. On check out the bill for 2 Caprese salad come to 44 Euros because management said they had given us a menu which was not the case. Other rip off prices includes 35 Euro for 1 hour use of a tiny spa, 10 Euro for a vodka, 30 Euro for sea view. When we declined to pay for sea view they threatened to call the police. The food was certainly not 4 star with breakfast consisting of bread, cake, and cereal. No fresh juice or fruit. Dinner was served on cold plates and servings were tiny. On our final day our courier spent the entire day dealing with management who refused to compromise on any of the issues our group encountered. It is such a pity as this hotel is in a wonderiful location and has the potential to be a winner. But with arrogant and rude management it is just a disaster zone.

Marie Hannon,Dublin, Ireland

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here make sure all costs are agreed before you arrive. Eat and drink at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mariemcgregorhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingpcr, Direttore at Punta Campanella Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

We always try to provide a warm Italian family welcome to all our guests on arrival. Your group from Ireland did consist of 50 persons and it is often difficult to provide a personal welcome when large groups check in to our hotel. On arrival you were asked if you would like to upgrade to a Superior Sea View room, which was accepted. As indicated you would not pay this supplement on check out!

I am pleased to confirm the price for a Caprese salad is 13 Euros per portion. Several drinks were also supplied, which equated to 44 Euros. We are happy for guests to pay for drinks and food at the end of their holiday.

As you say, our hotel is in a wonderful location situated along the Amalfi Coast, which is one of the most beautiful regions in The World. You booked with a Tour Operator and we supplied the menu as agreed. Our A La Carte menu was also available for a small supplement. Our hotel is immaculate inside & out, however you can always find fault if you look for a fault. I am sorry you found our management rude, I can only assume this is because you would not pay for your sea view room on departure.

We are a family run hotel with good intentions and we are sorry if we have offended anyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
2.2 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
#22 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quattro Passi Restaurant Relais
Quattro Passi Restaurant Relais
#25 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Campanella Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Campanella Resort & Spa

Address: Piazza delle Sirene 2 | Marina del Cantone, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#12 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $165 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Campanella Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort & SPA on the Amalfi Coast Punta Campanella Resort & SPA is located within the beautiful beach resort of Marina del Cantone, which is situated along the Amalfi Coast between the golf of Sorrento and Positano. The name of our hotel is gained from the special Marine Nature Reserve of "Punta Campanella", which is a Conservation area protected by the FAI (Italian Environment Fund). Our hotel has recently been restored and redeveloped by architects from Campania Region and incorporates Italian Mediterranean style and ultimate comfort. Most of our rooms and our la carte restaurant Li Galli Restaurant overlook the Nerano Bay, which serves fresh, local Mediterranean food inspired by our chef. Our Spa and indoor pool will rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. The Blue Flag beach is just 40 metres from our hotel where you can relax, sunbathe and swim safely. Here you will find a selection of bars, cafes and restaurants. From the pier, you can take a boat and visit Capri, Positano, Amalfi and Li Galli Islands. Within a short distance of our hotel, there are over one hundred restaurants to be sampled - some have Michelin Stars. A rooftop garden is available with deck chairs and umbrella and a shower to cool off. Activities: Trakking exursion, Diving, Water Sport, boat rental, tipical food tour, to fish and eat in the sea. Nearby to visit : Massa Lubrense, Positano, Capri, Sorrento, Pompei ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Punta Campanella Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Campanella Hotel Massa Lubrense
Punta Campanella Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing