We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice agriturismo on Amalfi Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Plus:
- outside very busy tourist areas of Sorrento, Capri, Positano, Amalfi
- quiet environment
- friendly staff
- nice views
- spacious room
- swimming pool (not very big, but when we were there in high season it was never busy and there were always a sun lounger and a parasol available for us)
- nice setting of the agriturismo itself
- breakfast and dining room in an open setting
- public transport to Amalfi, Sorrento and other places at approx 15 minutes walk. Buses are not too frequent and can be a bit confusing, so your own wheels are preferable (around the whole of the peninsula, not just for this hotel location)
- plenty of options for dinner in Sant Agata sui due Golfi (walking distance)

Minus:
- personally I found it a pity that the agriturismo doubles as a "restaurant". I prefer agriturismos where they serve you the food of the day (if you decide to eat there) rather than getting a menu and order as if you were in a normal restaurant. In addition it made it a bit less intimate.
- during our first night there was a wedding celebration in the agriturismo. The music did not disturb us and stopped at a reasonable time, but if you are looking for a quiet hide-away then this may not match your expectations. Obviously I don't know how often there are functions at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nldeeri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is fantastic in every way. We had a wonderful vacation here for five days. For us this was excactly want we wanted going to Italy. It is everything that we thought Italy was. So genuine, rustic and calm up in the area of St Agata, just 15 minutes with car from Sorrento. The atmosphere was calm and we could easily relax. The sorroundings was absolutely stunning. Nice view over the gulf and nice to stroll around in the nearest surroundings of the fattoria, very pittoresk. The food is the best we had during our stay in Italy, the halfboard menu is a must, so tasty and very priceworthy. When we arrived we was met with warmth and smiles. The service was kind and genuine from the staff and the two owners always met our needs with a smile. We stayed in a wonderful junior suite that was fresh and nice. We hanged out at the pool one day, nice and sunny. They have a shop where they sell their homemade products, the oliveoil is a must. Overall- best Agriturismo in Sorrento area, supernice bed and breakfast +++++!!!! We will definitley come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaCarlssonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The staff at the hotel and restaurant were brilliant always helpful, welcoming and willing to go the extra mile to help two English tourists who's command of Italian was non-existent.
The hotel gives a very authentic Italian experience, outside of the most touristy areas of the Amalfi coast up in the hills above S'ant Agata Sue du Golfi down near the tip of the peninsula.

The pool was very nice and we had it completely to ourselves for 75% of the time which was great, the staff were also really helpful in organising any excursions or activities.

I'd particularly recommend eating in the restaurant, as a hotel guest you could eat whatever you wanted on the menu (as many courses as you want) for 20 euros. Incredible value as the quality of the food was excellent and the portions humungous.

The service is also amazing.

I'd encourage you to try the wine from their vineyard as well we drank the white most evenings at an incredibly reasonable price it was an excellent quality wine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Fattoria Terranova for four nights in July. We're a family of five with the youngest being ten.

Let me first start with the good. The food was AMAZING. You really should eat here one night if you're traveling in the area or staying at the hotel. Also, the pool was a really nice benefit as we were able to cool off after a hot day sight seeing.

Now, as for the bad and less than great.......these may have been a factor of the particular room we stayed in. We were put in a sort of family room with three single beds in one room and a double in the other. By the third day the list of concerns was mounting......and we're pretty low maintenance mind you. When shaving one morning I couldn't see my face in the poorly it bathroom as the light above the sink flickered on and off. As I shaved a pool of water formed underneath my feet as the sink base was leaking. This was after the shower handled pulled off and I had to fiddle with the toilet paper hanger as it was broken as well. The bedside lights on either side of the bed didn't work....one of them didn't even have a bulb in it. On the wall in the double bedroom there was a fly smashed on the wall by a previous occupant with the imprint of a shoe surrounding the smashed fly. The electrical outlets worked sometimes and not others. Ants were everywhere....including inside the room. The porch attached to the room was dirty and unswept and the chairs on the porch were marginal. One of them was broken. You may or may not get new soap when the room is tended each day. The AC made one room frigid and my wife and I slept in the sweltering hot double room only feet away. We are pretty easy to please and really didn't have inordinate expectations as we stayed all over Europe for nearly 4 weeks and this was our only bad experience. The real sad thing (and frustrating) is that we showed these issues to the owner and he acted very upset that we didn't show them these issues sooner. (This conversation took place after night three.) But the proof if he really cared, in my opinion, is what he did next.........and that was NOTHING. He checked us out the next day and no apology. No nothing. He made no attempt to fix or address ANY of it though we were still staying another night?!? He just made us feel like a heel because were were just then letting him know. I tried to explain to him the list sort of accumulated over the course of our stay so we didn't know about ALL the issues all at once.

So, not the best experience. But other rooms may have been amazing. Or maybe the owner was pleasant and helpful with other people.

Lastly and unrelated to the room. The hotel is remote and a good walk from public transportation. You'd think a hotel located off the beaten path would be pretty savvy on the bus info, etc. They were not. Actually they were pretty clueless and the best they could offer was to transport you to Sorrento for a fee. If you gave them notice, they would give you a free ride to the nearest town, St Agata.

Hope this helps somebody making a decision on where to stay.

Ben

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed in this accommodation and loved it. Such a fabulous setting, so magical. Really reasonably priced with lovely staff. We had a beautiful meal with 5 courses for €20, and the food was wonderful. Breakfast was equally as good, such a nice variety. The rooms were so spacious, the size of some big apartments!! Very clean and well equipped. Our only negative was that we didn't stay for longer than one night. Would recommend this stay to people of all ages. The scenery is beautiful and a wonderful place if anyone is considering a wedding!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fattoria Terranova is a magical place - quite special and therefore difficult to describe in all its facets. Following our arrival at the Naples airport, the driver (organised in advance by the hotel's very friendly receptionist) took us to this location situated on the top of the Sorrento peninsula, overlooking the sea, sort of remote but yet close to lots of interesting places (beaches included). Given the typical structure of an agriturismo place (farmhouse), guests will find accomodations, restaurant and other facilities "randomly" distributed across the beautiful property. We can certainly recommend the "junior suite" we had booked - a very nicely renovated and comfortable 2-room apartment with its own spacious sea-view terrace. The stunning part, however, is the main building, although one can hardly identify it as a building. I would rather describe as an assembly of terraces and niches nestled in hundreds of plants and floral arrangements. Most of it is under the open sky - and even if it is not, it feels just that way. This is where guests have breakfast as well as dinner served in a really familiar and casual atmosphere. Food is mostly prepared from the farm's own stuff, simple and authentic in the best sense - and at very reasonable prices. In summary - it is a place where one can sit back, relax and feel entirely comfortable in an environment that delivers an oh-so authentic impression of the region.

Room Tip: Pick the "junior suite" - still affordable, but very new, air-conditioned, etc., and equip...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Service was good. Its loction is perfect. The room was ok. Wi fi need to be improoved. They allow me using the PC in the resturant.breakfast was disapointed avg. value for money,sorry. They assist in arranging the trip to capri and provided us with maps of the area that was helpfull.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avi259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Lubrense
1.6 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli di San Pietro
Agriturismo Antico Casale Colli ...
#1 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Pettirosso
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Oleum
Agriturismo Oleum
#9 of 37 in Massa Lubrense
22 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Chiana
Agriturismo La Chiana
#3 of 15 in Vico Equense
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova

Address: Via Pontone 10, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $68 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Terranova The Terranova Farm is a farmhouse holiday spot in Sorrento situated near the “Le Tore” nature reserve.The farm occupies six acres of land, distributed amongst a staircase of terraces which all descend harmoniously towards the sea.Facing you will be the enchanting Li Galli and Vetara islands where legend has it that Ulysses met beautiful mermaid creatures. Surrounding you will also be the colors and scents of the Mediterranean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Agriturismo Fattoria Terranova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing