We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is not a hotel”
Review of Villa Lubrense

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Lubrense
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We arrived here on our honeymoon and left within one our. It seemes to be a large house and run by the family. Hardly anyine spoke any english and there are no staff as such anywhere in the place, just different family members carrying out odd jobs around the place. Our room was terrible, we we asked to pay 5 euro a day for air con and they wanted the money up front for the whole stay. The pool was the size of a family pool, not a hotel pool, the bar was just a fridge with a nine year old who spoke no english at all serving. There is no food served, however ther is a large room filled with tables and chairs?????

After looking about the place we got our bags and passports and booked a real hotel.

This is not a hotel at all. it should not be advertised as one

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverpool18878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Villa Lubrense
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

My boyfriend and i booked a 10 night stay at Villa Lubrense. When we arrived on the first day from the Airport, the reception building was locked up with no sign of anyone around. Our transfer driver had to go to find someone to meet us and take us to our room. The room was satisfactory, clean, basic and a very good power shower! We were told breakfast was served in the main restaurant between 8.30 and 9.30 every morning. When we turned up the next morning, we found that breakfast was not a basic continental buffet with a small selection as expected. But a packet croissant with one jam, a bowl of stale rolls and a mug of tea or coffee! This was the same every day and on most occasions we had to wait 10 minutes at least for someone to appear to serve us, even though the hotel was virtually empty!
The location and views were beautiful and the Gardens were kept immaculate. We even had the pools to ourselves for most of the stay. The beds were made everyday, but the bathroom was not cleaned, for the full 10 days..
Finally, on the last day we checked out. There was a wedding at the Hotel. We went to collect our bags and asked to use the hotel toilets, as they were setting up the restaurant. We were told we couldn't and sent to an old ramshackle dirty block on site, that had obviously been out of action for some time!

I would say this Hotel makes its money from Weddings and a paying guest is just extra pocket money! This sums up the service at Villa Lubrense.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buddyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We were very concerned, having read the previous reviews, that booking this hotel was a bad mistake. However we couldn't have been more wrong. The location was beautiful, the rooms we had overlooked the bay and we were able to sit outside in the evenings overlooking some incredible scenery. The rooms were very clean and cleaned every day, bathrooms were clean and well equipped with clean towels every day. The staff did not speak a lot of english but then again we were in Italy, why should I expect that they would- however, they did their best to accomodate any requests and tried to understand our waving hands and phrase book Italian. The pools were uncrowded and very nice to use. One was a childrens pools, about 4 foot deep all over, the other a plunge pool. Sun beds were always available. The snack bar near the pools offered drinks and snacks throughout the day and the cabin at the entrance to the hotel was open until around 10pm for drinks and snacks. The food was not the most inspiring but edible- however all the Sorrento restaurants are not far away and who wants to eat in the same place every night anyway!. The stairway to the beach was useful - a bit of a climb but worth the effort. All in all I would stay here again and would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carrieswood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

After searching through many holiday sites for 3 & 4 star hotels, I came upon the ‘Hotel Villa Lubrense’. I was impressed by the website and subsequently booked.

We were a day late booking in as we had a hire car breakdown in Naples and stayed in an hotel for the first night. On arrival, we found a young girl acting as a receptionist who relieved us of our passports and gave us a key to room 304. This gave the impression that we would be in room 4 on the 3rd floor of a hotel. Not so. We were on the second floor of a small block of rooms situated within what appeared to be a site full of wooden chalets with corrugated roofs. Bearing in mind that this was listed as a 3 star hotel, alarm bells were ringing. We asked for a balcony and were told that all rooms had a balcony so we asked for a sea-view if possible. There was no balcony but one could sea the bay of Naples by hanging out of the window.
The room was about 4 metres square with a small bathroom room off it. The bedroom itself was not very well decorated or cleaned. It contained a double bed with two tired single mattresses on it, some flat-pack furniture and a fridge. God knows why a fridge as there was no kettle or any other means of getting a hot drink. The room faced onto a boiler room although one got used to the noise of the boilers cutting in and out after a few days.
The hotel website says “All bedrooms have bathroom with shower, balcony and heating.” - not true. The bathroom had no bath but a very small shower (500mm x 500mm) with a cracked tray and broken corner opening door. The tiles were jaded and had wall-plugs here and there from the fixing of old fittings and the old plastic bathroom fittings gave an air of the place being run-down. Completely in keeping with the rest of the room. We had no balcony, and on some of the chilly evenings, the heating was down to a portable halogen heater, as the central heating didn’t seem to work. The bed linen was fairly well worn with one flat pillow each and was not changed for the week. The towels were changed once.

This place hardly warranted 1 star, never mind three. Don’t get me wrong, the wife and I have stayed in 1 star places before but having paid 1 star prices. This left us feeling that we had been ripped off.
We were booked as bed and breakfast. On the first morning, we made our way to the ‘restaurant’ for breakfast to find a serving table containing two thermos jugs of coffee or tea, both tepid and stewed, a jug of milk and a plate of dry cake covered with a paper napkin; almost inedible really. There were no staff at all. The large dining area so cleverly photographed on the website was completely empty save for ourselves. We breakfasted out that morning and as it turned out, for the rest of the week.
The final straw was when we were charged 2 Euro per day for the use of the fridge! We had to pay up to get our passports back.
The pool was empty – of water that is. There was hardly anywhere to sit outside. No other facilities at all. No entertainment. Nowhere to eat and Villa Lubrense is on a mountain road, quite a few kilometres out of Sorrento. But for the rental car, it would have been totally disastrous.
If you look at their website, you may be impressed by the very good cosmetic job the photographer has done and may be taken in as we were. Personally, I would never go there again and would advise others against it as we saw quite a few proper 3 star hotels at similar prices to the £460 pp/pw but with much better facilities and staff.
Do yourself a favour and give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prytaneion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

This was the worst hotel I have ever seen in my life. We booked through lastminute.com and could not even stay one night
I think the photos below speak for themselves but there were insects everywhere, spiderwebs in the bathrooms, the beds were concave, our balcony door didnt even open to get the sea view we were promised and the staff were among the rudest I am yet to encounter!
Please whatever you do do not stay at this hotel

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank sydney102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Having read the previous reviews before travelling, I was already a little concerned before setting off.

Even though it was peak holiday season when we travelled, the complex was pretty much deserted. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast is not really worth getting up for but as there is not much else nearby, we did. The rooms were rather disappointing too. I did not have high expectations, but the state of decoration was poor and there was no air conditioning or fans available, so it was very difficult to sleep at night. This problem was compounded by the fact that there were several discos on the beach below the hotel which played really, really loud music until 4am on several nights.

On the plus side, this hotel is in a beautiful location and the pools, though small, were never very busy and we often had them to ourselves. We upgraded to a balcony room, which made a lot of difference to our experience. I can't help but thinking that, on location alone, Villa Lubrense could be doing far, far better than it is.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KittyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
13
Reviewed July 11, 2006

The previous reviews worried me before my arrival at Villa Lubrense, and any worries were alleviated immediately. Villa Lubrense is a beautiful hotel in a stunning part of Italy (Although, it is not for the faint hearted and a car is beneficial) The grounds are spectacular and the views are breathtaking!

The pool is amazing, and perhaps more amazingly the pool bar was open 9-7 everyday, serving snacks, soft drinks and alcohol at a reasonable price.

Its fair to say the level of English spoken by staff is low but this is a family run hotel not a best western, they are however very friendly and do their best, considering I speak zero Italian I got along fine! If you want English speaking head to Sorrento.

The taxis are extortionate but surplus to requirement, Sorrento begins to quieten down around 11pm, the same time as the last bus which is very easy to find and always on time! You can set your watch to them and at 1 Euro very reasonable. DO NOT GET IN A TAXI !!

The one problem is the restaurant, we found breakfast to be nice (lets not forget this is one of the cheapest hotels in the area) but the restaurant at night is non-existent, but with so many amazing restaurants, especially in Marina Della Lobra (a gem of a town) do you really want to eat at the hotel?

I loved this hotel, but you will need a sense of adventure as this serves as a very Italian base to reach Sorrento, Postitano, Amalfi and the cost....

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
2.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baia di Puolo
Baia di Puolo
#25 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
Torre Turbolo Appartamenti
#21 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lubrense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lubrense

Address: Via Partenope 31, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $57 - $2,727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lubrense 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Lubrense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lubrense Hotel Massa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing