We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach without the crowds”
Review of Marina del Cantone

Marina del Cantone
Book In Advance
More Info
$201.98*
and up
Private Walking Tour Discovering Jeranto's bay
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good beach without the crowds”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Whilst the beach is pebbles (white), it is spotless. The water is very clear and very inviting. We went in May and and it was very quiet, no crowds but all the services you can think of (parking, shops, restaurant, hotel, cafe). I imagine it must be perfect in September when the sea is warm and summer tourists have left.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank danielb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    126
    46
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
“Peacefull”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is lovely place and we were there in October and it was really peaceful, away from herds of tourists. It is really tranquil here, we used the tours from Nerano to to to Capri and Amalfi which were good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot even with children”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We live in Massalubrense and have enjoyed many many days down in Nerano..marina del Cantone...especially Mimo at L'afficano....his lido is wonderful and facilities clean.. Restaurant and cafe wonderfully run..worth a visit..p.s be warned..July and August,of Neapolitans..can become loud and does become crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth but not in July/August”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been spending my summer vacations here over the last 56 years and since 1965 I am a resident. Therefore my perception of this gem is strongly biased. The past somehow obliterates the present. It was a fishermen village and nowadays is trying to become a toristic resort with a well defined personality.... failing, badly failing.... You cannot put together refined or at least self-declared refined restaurants and a camping which accepts everybody playing loud and disturbing music till very late at night, or allow everybody to disturb with loud music and noise
You cannot conjugate small beaches with mass tourism or no parking places with loads of daily commuters...
Therefore if you want to visit, come here in late September or in May... when the camping is closed, the restaurants are not overcrowded, the beaches are empty and the water is still warm enough to allow a good swim. Rediscover the pleasure of old fashioned (not highly priced, nouvell cucine parvenues) restaurants such as Lo scoglio, or Esterina or Le Sirene. Enjoy the pleasure of a sunbath at Mary's Beach or rent a boat a la cooperativa..... and rediscover paradise

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank giulonragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Might not want to go in October”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Picked this area because of its isolation and relaxed environment. What we did not anticipate is how completely empty it was. Bare-bones staff at every hotel and restaurant. While everyone was very pleasant, sometimes it felt as if we were more like intruders than guests. Still, great memories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina del Cantone also viewed

Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Marina del Cantone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing