We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Pina”
Review of Hotel Villa Pina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Pina
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my partner had always wanted to visit Italy and we loved the sound of the Amalfi Coast, like most people we did a fair bit of research and concluded that on paper the Hotel Villa Pina was good value and in a great location, so Massa Lubrense here we come... arriving at Hotel Villa Pina we were not disapointed, it does have a touch of rustic charm here and there (if you look) but generally it is fair to say that the decor is a little dated but certainly functional and comfortable enough for our stay.We had a a decent size double bedroom on the first floor and luckily a good size private terrace / balcony which gave great views of the island of Ischia - not all of the rooms have this outside area so i would imagine that some people will have had a different experience with personal space.
The restaurant that provides the meals is situated across the road from the hotel, this can be fun crossing when the speedy Italians zoom past in original Fiat 500's, and other Italian classic's but this all added to the charm of being in Italy. The food that we experienced here was ok, although breakfast did not offer the varied choice of the evening meals, the eating/dining area has fantastic views of the coastline and was always clean and presentable, the service of food was fluid if sometimes mechanical, but as mentioned earlier we were not expecting super plush posh nosh, so from that point of view the food was fine bearing in mind this was a half board package deal from a tour operator.
Note- the restaurant does provide an a la carte menu if you prefer and has a good selection of wine to choose from and we did witness Italian residents visiting the restaurant to dine aswell.

Outside the hotel was the local bus stop so public transport was easy to access, other reviews have already mentioned the bus tickets and costings, although i will add that the transport is clean and efficient.
The train station is easy to find and use, and offers a direct train to visit Pompei and Herculaneum which is a must to do. Positano and the Amalfi Coastline are beautiful and again certainly worth exploring, some of the roads running alongside the coast can be hair raising or memorable depending on your nerves! and eating out is always a joy as the food is devine.
Italy is a beautiful country to visit and we certainly will be returning in the near futrure.
Would we recommend the Hotel Villa Pina .......... yes.
reasonable food if you choose to dine in, great location, friendly staff and not to bad on the pocket.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robcc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Pina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

we have been to villa pina many times and with differant family members.its the best value in sorrento .the food we have found lovely and the staff friendly many english have attitudes and do not make the effort to be friendly with the staff.yes the rooms could do with modenising but we all book pina for theprice, and no doubt if this was done it would be more expensive.of course the italians and americans are treated well they are paying well to.But never have we been made to feel second class .it is out of sorrento but ther are lovely walks from the hotel to sorrento ,massa termini san agata,with stunning views.and all off the main road,just 100 yds left from hotel go up the steps bearing right.another tip catch train to castle le mare then get cable car from station to monte faitho.all trips are possible on your own. going to pina in 3 days cant wait

Room Tip: book sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have stayed at Villa Pina twice now. Having read the reviews before our first visit, we knew we weren't heading for the Ritz, however, Villa Pina is in the most perfect location and is run by such lovely people. The restaurant has the most amazing views over the bay of Naples. With glass on three sides of the restaurant you can see from Mt Vesuvius to Capri and beyond. The food is all home cooked and fabulous, served in a traditional restaurant setting. The rooms are all spacious and homely, with everything that you need. It's almost like staying in someone's house. There is no pool, however there are sun terraces and some rooms have a balcony. The views from the roof terrace are stunning. There is a local bus stop right outside the hotel and it's just a short ride into Sorrento. Be aware the hotel is on a main road, but don't let this put you off. Do not expect the rooms to be first class, they're not, but they're clean and comfortable. All in all this place is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when you book.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TeessideAngel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were concerned by the criticism recently written about the Villa Pina but we would recommend this for an unforgettable holiday. We were positioned on a second floor balcony with a view to die for overlooking Capri. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent and we were talking to a couple who visited Villa Pina in May this year when Steven Spielberg and Pierce Brosnan were dining in the hotel restaurant. Hotel rooms are large and clean and although rooms at the front are next to the road it didn't keep us awake. The rooms at the front enjoy a superb view overlooking the sea. Go for this holiday experience !

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a south facing balcony
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Philg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday evening when the restaurant was clearing ready for breakfast. The table d'houte menu was offered and we decide on only the main course with a glass of wine each. We enjoyed both our welcome and the meal. The next night our menu, whilst not extensive, unfortunately only included the fish again which we felt limited our choice.
The following day a number of people at the Thompson welcome meeting were not happy with the food or some of their accomodation, even though their grievences are documented in previous Tripadvisor comment, which many of them said they had read. Also Special diet requirments had not been conveyed to the tour operator.
Any hotel which has a la carte menu in the restaurant always offers a tourist menu at an agreed cost to the operator. Following a meeting with Francesco we were offered option of the a la carte for the difference in cost. Our following nights menu wasso good that my wife and I spoke directly with Francesco and he expressed his concern for the criticism of his food. He offered to provide changes to the menu if there was anything that we particularly wanted. The starters were always big enough for a main course so we had to regulate our food intake during the day so that we could trywhat was on offer
Our basic criticism of the retaurant was the way in which the menu was writen ie translation ( rice with lemon = Lemon rissoto) and the lack of somewhat closer association whith the style and reputation of the restaurant.
During our transfer from the airport we were advised that the outside maintenance of all buildings in Italy were neglected so it was no surprise to see the outside of the hotel and restaurant looking shabby. The room was clean and comfortable to refresh ourselves and sleep in, which is all you need on holiday. We had no balcony but did have acces to courtyard with sunbeds if we wanted. The roof area was too hot in the day without the provision of umberellas which seemed absent but gave a fantastic view of Naples and Capri at night.
The hotel relies on it's retaurant reputation and that is packed to capacity at weekends and also with private functions and coach tours for meals.
Staff were always friendly and helpful, even to ferrying us across the road by car when heavy rain one night created a torrent on the road between accomodation block and restaurant.
We enjoyed our holiday although we feel that we have paid off Italys national debt. Rachel our tour advisor from Thompson was the best we have encoutered on previous holidays. Would we go back? Its unlikely as we visited the places we wanted to see.
The hotel provided us with a base but the facilities are not for stay at the hotel by the pool holiday makers(there's no pool) and you have to pay for the recomended one on offer. If you like walking and if you can cope with the climb on the narrow roads you can get your thrills every day. Be adventureous and hire a car, ours paid for itself with the places we visited and what we saved on bus fares to Sorrento or Massa Lubrense, but look out for the scooters and buses and hire it with your tour operator before you leave the UK.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms at front give a good view but may betroubled by traffic. We slept on first floor a t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Arriving at the Villa Pina we were greeted by the non-friendly and abrupt owner Francesco, he advised us to take the very small lift with all our luggage/belongings to the second floor where we had to struggle with our baggage up two flights of stairs to the attic room which would be ours for the next 10 nights.

We were hungry and went for lunch to the main restaurant where we tucked in to what ws a meagre dish of one tomato and a tiny bit of tuna and an orange fruit juice which cost 25 Euros. A couple next to us were in a similar position and they had parma ham with a little cheese in which they were charged 27 Euros. (needless to say we felt ripped off!)

Generally the hotel looked run down and is obviously in need of a lick of paint, the terrace was a disgrace, customers had to erect the only heavy rusty looking parasol into a concrete base which I felt was a health hazard! If they needed shade. The few mattresses that there were, were shoddy and ripped in places and dirty so we didn't use them. The views though are fantastic.

The toilet roll holder on the wall fell off which was a constant problem, the fridge didn't apparently work, the shower was poor and very small, when it got hot the power reduced considerably.

Warning, there are two menus in this place, one for the tourists and one for the a la carte clientèle.

The package holiday guests had the sub-standard menu which I have to mention because you don't receive what you think you've ordered. I'll explain, this is just one example of many, we requested meatballs in a Neapolitan sauce, what we got were two hamburgers in a watery sauce, along with 5 chips! This hotel is very Italian and there is definitely a language problem.

The p.h.g. were ushered in to the left hand side (the Americans and Italians could choose wherever they wanted to sit) of the restaurant and so didn't have any choice of where to sit. It became apparent that we were on some sort of conveyor belt and had to be out at around 8.30-9.00pm when the Americans and Italians came to dine who were treated to exceptional service and food!

Then came breakfast, which consisted of mainly pastries, (leftovers from the previous night, oh yes) some fruit and a large bowl of cornflakes and yoghurt. We were dismayed that the cutlery was covered with napkins but the food was open to the flies!!!

The staff are generally unfriendly and we found it hard to get a smile out of them.
We voiced our concerns (along with eight others who were also dissatisfied with the way they were treated) to the Thomson rep who said she would sort out the problems, to our knowledge nothing was sorted, we rang Thomsons headquarters who were unhelpful and said that to move to another hotel could cost over a 1000 Euros!

Watch out for the police blocking the roads in the centre of Sorrento cos a taxi fare costs 31.86 Euros! Which we had to do, The Sorrento musical for example doesn't finish until 11.15 pm so it will cost you. Walking isn't an option as there are no pathways near the hotel and so it would be very dangerous.

Sorrento and the excursions were brilliant and well worth the visit, the hotel spoilt what could have been a perfect holiday.

In short, we will never grace this place with our custom, it has been a very unpleasant experience and the above does not tell the whole story, the choice is up to you, there are far superior hotels further down the road, don't waste your money.














Whilst Sorrento was beautiful if you missed your bus back to the hotel due to the roads in the town being blocked off then the cost of the taxi at almost 32 Euros for a 10minute drive spoilt it. The last bus from Sorrento is half 10 which means if you want to go to the Sorrento musical then you have to get the taxi back.

Room Tip: The attic was good in that we were not interupted with the noise from the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tribal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

A basic hotel with a fab restaurant.I went as part of a package deal-the room was clean but basic at the back -no view but quiet.Shower bit small-with a curtain and a very small shower tray.
Sometimes it overflowed,after a couple of days worked out technique of not having water on too full and how to make shower curtain stick to tiles!
The view from the restuarant is the view to die for.Each evening during dinner saw the sun go down.
The food was lovely with good choices.
Getting to Sorrento is very easy with a bus stop right outside.
I n my view a holiday is what you make it-I am friendly have a go at speaking Italian and staff and owner very friendly back.
This was my second visit(I went in August 10).I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guilietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
1.4 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
1.9 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Lubrense
Villa Lubrense
#38 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Caruso
Hotel Caruso
#36 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
122 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Pina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Pina

Address: Via Partenope 40, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $99 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Pina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Pina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pina Hotel Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing