We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place on the perfec spot with the perfect local people”
Review of Hotel La Certosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Certosa
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

If you are looking for adventure, don't go,if you are looking for night life do'nt go, but if you want to rest, an enjoy the good things of Italian life do go.
The owners are the most warmhearted and friendly people you can imagine, they make you feel at home at once, the hotel is basic, rooms are spacy, bathroom is basic, but most important it is verly clean, service is excellent, the food has the real taste of Italy.
We come three times a year for four years and every time is a feast for is. And when we come home we are a little homesick for Certosa.
As for the tips and guidelines, by a traveguide and you finde everything in it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whim1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2009

Our family stayed at villa certosa the second time. A small hotel directly on the rocky beach of marina del cantone. The location is a dream, especialy in May, later in summer it gets verry crowded. The Hotel is a tipical family run place. Nice, claen, bright rooms, very good food, cocked by the mother and doughter in low. Two brothers take care of the business an the grandfather is sitting an a tabel at the side, keeping an eye on everything. Super Family freindly. Recomendes for relaxed traveller who dont need much luxury and apreciate the stile of an authentik place. Wonderfull surroundings for hiking etc,

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 230,864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We loved this hotel and will be back as soon as we can. We stayed for one week in September and it was extremely relaxing. It is a quiet fishing village which can be difficult enough to get to. This is a bonus though as most of the tourist aren't aware of it yet. The beach is literally a few paces from the steps of the hotel and they have there own sunbeds and umbrellas. Just be aware that the beach is full of pebbles, and although the locals make it look easy getting in and out of the water can bit a bit of an undignifying and slightly painful experience!
The whole family were very accommodating (although it takes a few days to get to know them). One evening Corrado (the father) came to pick us up after a night out in Sorrento. The food in the hotel (Pappone) is as good as the other restaurants around, and they are top class. We ate most lunch most days at the pizzeria next door which is owned by another one of Corrado's sons and very reasonable, and were able to sample the many restaurants around in the evening. Having visited Sorrento I was so delighted that we had decided to stay in Marina del Cantone, Sorrento was so overpriced, busy and horrendous food.
There are excellent restaurants all just steps away from the Certosa. The wealthy come in from their yachts for lunch and dinner, so the jetty is a constant source of amusement.
If you want a lot of nightlife, this is not the place for you,everything finishes up around 10:30 or 11pm!
This is a family run hotel (Ciao Corrado, Alfonso & Alessandro) and they really put in the hours to make it work. If you like good food , wine and the sea on your doorstep this is a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gastronomoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

This a great hotel. We have been twice.

Firstly, the place. Set in an idyllic little (working) cove, it is quiet and very relaxing. With boat or bus links to all the major towns (Capri, Sorrento, Positano, Amailfi, etc) in the area, we got every where we needed to with ease. The beach is inches away from the hotel, and although stony, the closeness and clear mediterianan waters more than made up for it.

Secondly the hotel, set in an old abbey, it has a lot of character. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size and very very clean. It is not a generic hotel where every room is exactly the same size, shape and furniture; just a family run hotel.

Eating on the veranda of the hotel is excellent and every meal was good, basic, local italian fare. There are a few other bars / restaurants in the village, so there is choice to have a change in venue in the evenings

The staff are very relaxed, kind and very accomadating.

In summary, if you want an authentic italian hotel in a very pleasant location, this is just the place.

Nick

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Parsleypad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Our stay here was a gift for our wedding. Before joining our tour group in Rome we briefly toured some parts of the Southern Italy. Hotel Certosa is just the right place as a hub when touring Sorrento, Pompeii and Amalfi Coast (although we ran out of time and skipped Amalfi). The distance was just right to unwind by riding the bus from Sorrento. The hotel is beautiful! The tiled rooms and the preserved monastery pieces are beautiful. The sea waves and air can be felt when you open your windows especially at night! Alfonso and Allesandro were excellent hosts...exchange of cultural information was the best! The restaurant food is superb! There's also another good restaurant nearby which is MUST go: Lo Scoglio.
We will surely come back..hopefully, soon!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank desideratava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

After much thought and research about how to experience the Almalfi Coast with young children I read the other reviews about Hotel Certosa and knew it was the place for our family. Set on a small rocky beach in a cove between Sorrento and Positano, is the Hotel La Certosa. The town is tiny but has plenty of good restaurants all which serve fresh local seafood and antipasta. The rooms at the hotel were very clean and fresh, good shower and a small balcony perfect for wet beach clothing. We had a quad room which wasn't very large but big enough and that's what you get in Europe. Alfonso was an amazing host providing help and suggestions when ever we needed. The restaurant was great. Don't miss the pasta zuchini. It was the best in the region.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank VasconiFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

La Certosa was a treat. It is on a small cove just outside of Sorrento. You can easily take a boat to Capri from there too. The rooms were great. We had a lovely balcony literally over the beach and the pier. The sunsets were amazing. Alfonso and his family were very friendly and took care of us. The food was great and my capuccino in the morning was fantastic. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coloradothompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
1.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#5 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
913 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Primavera
Hotel La Primavera
#15 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
575 reviews
3.0 mi away
Baia di Puolo
Baia di Puolo
#24 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Certosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Certosa

Address: Via Marina del Cantone 23, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#8 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $68 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Certosa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Certosa is an ideal location for a holiday if you are in search of sea, culture and nature excursions and good food. The hotel is in fact situated on the beach in Marina del Cantone, one of the most beautiful bays in the Sorrento peninsula, behind Punta Campanella, in the heart of the natural marine reserve of the same name. With uncontaminated beauty, the reserve offers lots of land and sea routes to allow you to discover various sites full of history, legends and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel La Certosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Certosa Hotel
La Certosa Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing