We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll never hear the word "Crapolla" the same way”
Review of Crapolla Cove

Crapolla Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We'll never hear the word "Crapolla" the same way”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Wow, wow, wow.
Very strongly recommended.
Hike starts from church parking lot in Turca, which is also the bus stop for Turca, with a big sign that says "Crapolla," so you can't miss it. Get a good local map, the one they give out at the tourist office is fine. You'll notice that shortly into the hike, there are two ways through Turca that meet up and then continue along the main path. We took the one that was marked scenic and seemed "larger," but it was overgrown with thorns. On the way back, we took the other path, which was fine.

The hike is "easy" and if you go the non-thorny route, should take no more than 60-90 minutes (we had small children) going down. At the end, to descend into Crapolla cove, are nearly 700 stairs, piece of cake going down, not as much fun going up. BUT --

It is absolutely worth it. One of the best beaches we've ever seen. A private little cove, crystal clear turquoise water, and tremendous views from the hike going down (and then, up). Bring lots of water/food/etc, there's nothing to buy, it's just a corner of the coast. Some people arrive by boat. Not very crowded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dorkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well worth the trek”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had an awesome day walking to and from Crapolla; and let's face it, with a name like that we had to go once we found it. The route we took was from the church car park in the centre of Torca and the early section once you were on the edge of town was a bit slippery in the wet. I suspect the route slightly to the west that follows the stream down on a vehicle track would be better. Other than that, no problem at all.

As you might imagine, the views as you descend are wonderful with islands, a fort, a chapel and roman remains all part of the day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Awesome place and worth the hike! The views were amazing and we had a great day there!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyGraceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Incredible Day Hike!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is just an unbelievable day hike! Fairly steep, but we had three people in their 50s, in average physical condition at best, and they made it just fine, albeit a bit slowly. The teenagers flew up and down with no problem at all. Bring water and food. Took us about 90 minutes down, and about 2 1/2 hours back up. Spent about an hour at the cove itself. Start in Torca, at the church. You will see a sign pointing you to Crapolla. Go downhill from there, turn left at the bottom of the first alley and you will see signs pointing the rest of the way. The route is steep and a bit slippery in places, so take it easy! This is an old roman path from the old fishing village of Crapolla to market. Absolutely incredible views! We met a few local old timers on the way and they were obviously so proud of their land and heritage. This was the highlight of our visit!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crapolla Cove also viewed

Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
Massa Lubrense, Province of Naples
 

Been to Crapolla Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing