We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, amazing view of capri, decorated rooms , warm hospitality”
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very good hotel, excellent value for money a little bit district from sorrento but it is being addressed by hotel free shuttle services to sorento. Private sea shore accessed from the cliff . overall Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Delfino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 882 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Returned from a weeks holiday on the 18th of october.The hotel was lovely as were the staff.Views are spectacular from the balcony.Allthough hotel was quite isolated(which we knew at time of booking) the hotel did provide a free shuttle in to massa and Sorrento.Unfortunatley the shuttle only does few trips a day and sometimes there are a lot of people trying to get on,especially return jouneys,at one point i thought a panic would break out as it was another four hrs for the next shuttle return to hotel.Sadly i have to make such negative comments about the food,vegeatarion option allmost non-existant,my friend ate that much fish she could have swam home.Alot of the pasta meals very bland and not seasoned,desserts were poor and one evenoing i chose a chicken escalope,expecting chicken breast was disgusted to find it was'nt.it was like those four for a pound iceland jobs,was not best pleased for a four star hotel.
Allso because this hotel maily caters for older guests i would suggest the owners think about installing lift down to pool area,i counted 52 steps,which is a lot for older people who may have walking difficulties.On the whole we had great week and ate out few times so didnt spoil it for us.

Room Tip: need room with balcony
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed with a group of other "culture vultures" exploring the cities of Vesuvius, and this is one of the nicest 4* hotels we've used.

Like previous visitors we loved the location - on a cliff-top & extending down to the sea, a lot like Amalfi coast hotels. The staff are invariably very friendly, helpful and warm - all those we met in reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant were excellent. Our room was amply sized & furnished and quite comfortable. The public spaces are relaxed, comfy and offer wonderful views over the bay towards Capri.

We especially appreciated the shuttle bus service to Sorrento, which is essential unless you have a car. This is timed to allow days out and excursions further afield using the local train line to Naples.

There are, however, two matters which could be improved. As a vegetarian I found the breakfasts offered reasonable choice, although by the end of the week this was becoming rather monotonous. The dinner menus were not usually vegetarian (well it is Italy!) but sometimes the off-menu veggie alternative was spectacularly good. Sadly, on other occasions it was dreadful. One evening the only offer was a cheese omelette, something I've not been forced to accept in the UK since the 70s!

The other gripe is that I found the wifi signal appallingly slow and very fragile, which is really quite annoying. But neither of these demerits should prevent a visit here - we would certainly return.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view and be high up, i.e. on floor -1.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armchairgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent a relaxing week, indulging in excellent food served by warm, friendly staff. The hotel is spacious, clean and decorated to compliment it's Mediterranean surroundings. The open air restaurant by the pool should be opened at night to capitalize on the stunning view of Capri The mini bus service to Serrento was always on time and flexible to drop off en-route. The reception was helpful with information on trips in the local area. There is a wealth of interesting things to do and explore locally. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: Need to be on the top two floors, room 210 has two balconies with views of Capri.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidWalsh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just had a week at the delfino all I can say it was absolutely fantastic.hotel great. the staff all very friendly . And the food is to die for .will we go back .well I'm just off to the travel agent's to book for next year can't wait.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came as two couples for three nights (between Florence and Rome) and wished we had stayed longer. Loved this place. The hotel has a very contemporary open floor plan that in all places accentuates the magnificent views of the Mediterranean and Isle of Capri. The rooms were very clean and quiet, with spacious balconies that had tables, chairs and sun umbrella's. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in coordinating visits to Pompey and Capri (recommend daytrips to both). We planned to have dinners in Sorrento, but after busy road trips decided to stay and eat at the hotel.... and so glad we did. The restaurant offered a wide variety of options with different specials each night, and we thoroughly enjoyed each meal. On our second night the hotel sponsored cultural dancers and entertainment in the bar area. Each night we experienced breathtaking sunsets and a star filled night sky (a vision this city boy rarely sees!) Breakfasts were included and well serviced. This hotel has its own private cove that is ideal for swimming, cliff diving (10 meter), and/or just floating in the Med. Walk a little farther along the edge of the water line and you'll find a very special private place absolutely unforgettable. Highly recommend this hotel and going the extra distance from Sorrento. We hope to return...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgmelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked our honeymoon at Hotel Delfino and were not disappointed. It is an amazing location with views over the sea to Capri which cant be rivalled. The hotel is spotless and the cleaners are excellent and friendly.
The food was lovely with lots of choices and local specialities. For those that don't like fish, don't go to a hotel next to the sea! We thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals at the hotel and the pleasant, friendly and efficient service.
We spent our evenings looking out over the sea in the bar being served fabulous cocktails by the excellent barman Rafaela.
There is much to do in this area with interesting trips to all the historic charms, fabulous coast and if you are feeling adventurous, Rome.
We walked to Sorrento one day which is a longish treck but we enjoyed it. Otherwise the regular shuttle bus (free) was brilliant and if too full, the driver turns around and does another trip.
The hotel is built into a cliff (as advertised) so is not for the wobbly under footed. However our travel agent made this clear and we loved it.
We could not find a single fault with the hotel, décor, food or people and we will return as do many of the couples we met. An idyllic honeymoon location and a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. It took our breath away.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0uise_W1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Lubrense
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#2 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
1.5 mi away
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
Sea Club Conca Azzurra Resort
#10 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
601 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Nastro d'Oro 2 | Sorrentina Peninsula, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#3 Family Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#5 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $160 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfino 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delfino offers a free shuttle to Sorrento. Its outdoor pool overlooks the sea.Provided with an LCD TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels, all rooms at Delfino Hotel are air conditioned and feature light-wood furniture. Some also come with a sea-view balcony.The hotel’s restaurant serves its meals on the poolside and specialties in Italian cuisine, Sorrento recipes and fresh fish. Breakfast is continental style and includes both hot and cold food.Staff can organize outdoor activities, such as diving and snorkeling, along with boat trips along the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Massa Lubrense
Hotel Delfino Sorrento
Delfino Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing