We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came as two couples for three nights (between Florence and Rome) and wished we had stayed longer. Loved this place. The hotel has a very contemporary open floor plan that in all places accentuates the magnificent views of the Mediterranean and Isle of Capri. The rooms were very clean and quiet, with spacious balconies that had tables, chairs and sun umbrella's. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in coordinating visits to Pompey and Capri (recommend daytrips to both). We planned to have dinners in Sorrento, but after busy road trips decided to stay and eat at the hotel.... and so glad we did. The restaurant offered a wide variety of options with different specials each night, and we thoroughly enjoyed each meal. On our second night the hotel sponsored cultural dancers and entertainment in the bar area. Each night we experienced breathtaking sunsets and a star filled night sky (a vision this city boy rarely sees!) Breakfasts were included and well serviced. This hotel has its own private cove that is ideal for swimming, cliff diving (10 meter), and/or just floating in the Med. Walk a little farther along the edge of the water line and you'll find a very special private place absolutely unforgettable. Highly recommend this hotel and going the extra distance from Sorrento. We hope to return...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgmelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    199
    47
    22
    6
See reviews for
147
499
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked our honeymoon at Hotel Delfino and were not disappointed. It is an amazing location with views over the sea to Capri which cant be rivalled. The hotel is spotless and the cleaners are excellent and friendly.
The food was lovely with lots of choices and local specialities. For those that don't like fish, don't go to a hotel next to the sea! We thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals at the hotel and the pleasant, friendly and efficient service.
We spent our evenings looking out over the sea in the bar being served fabulous cocktails by the excellent barman Rafaela.
There is much to do in this area with interesting trips to all the historic charms, fabulous coast and if you are feeling adventurous, Rome.
We walked to Sorrento one day which is a longish treck but we enjoyed it. Otherwise the regular shuttle bus (free) was brilliant and if too full, the driver turns around and does another trip.
The hotel is built into a cliff (as advertised) so is not for the wobbly under footed. However our travel agent made this clear and we loved it.
We could not find a single fault with the hotel, décor, food or people and we will return as do many of the couples we met. An idyllic honeymoon location and a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. It took our breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uise_W1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

we went as 2 couples, taking our elderly parents with us. The hotel is smart and modern, and the sea view rooms are fantastic, with direct views of the (disappointing) Island of Capri. The staff are pleasant. There are plenty of guestbook comments about Massimo the waiter, he rarely smiles but he is lovable. The Maitre D' Gaetano makes no fuss about any special request (such as mistakenly asking for tomatoe sauce on my english breakfast, and being given hot bolognese sauce!). The sea is accessable from a number of steps into a shallow cove and is actually warmer than the unheated pool. During the day, there is an outside terrace restaurant if you are staying on site, as this hotel is one of the furthest from Sorrento on Thomas Cooks books. Most people we talked to had booked through T.Cook, and the visiting rep, Lucia (from Clitheroe??) was very helpful and impartial when advising about best value trips. Both of our rooms had excellent air con, and comfortable firm beds. Whilst I agree with others that the evening menu wasnt exceptional, I have a broad pallette and liked whatever I ordered....NB: you must like fish. There isnt alot to do, but fellow visitors went to Herculeium, and Mount vesuvius/ Pompei ruins, Island of Capri is expensive ( 8Euro a coca cola!) and its just gift shops galore. We loved the Amalfi coast coach drive organised by T. Cook, and Amalfi Cathedral (Cript) is awsome. Our best meal was in Ravello in a clift top restaurant veranda we would never find again without Lucas, our coach guide. Sorrento is awash with Lemon products. Be warned about consuming that Lemonchello stuff! We loved the Musical in Sorrento Theatre but again, the package deal meal/ wine is to be avoided. Eat elsewhere beforehand. We noticed every other shop is a bar or eatery, all italian. Dont expect any multinationals such as Starbucks, Subway, Mcdonalds. IN fact the only McD is in Naples airport, and Naples looks like it had an air raid last night, very run down and shabby and we were advised by rep, not to visit without a guide due to robbery/ muggings. If you are thinking of driving, consider that 50% of all cars I notice have dents, bumps, and are not fancy or new. Taxis are expensive so we used the excellent free hotel shuttle buses. This hotel wasnt suitable for our parents, with dad having a walking stick. The immediate terrain in this area is very steep even in the towns. We also noticed no kids at this hotel, well they would be bored silly anyway.

Room Tip: Its such a peaceful location, and the type of couples coming here are very quiet and reserved. Every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our honeymoon the views are absolutely out of this world. We had a sea view room & every night watching the sun set was high light of our stay. Rooms and hotel really clean. The food however was poor. We were half board. It was very bland & considering we are in italy there were very little Italian dishes mostly meat and veg for mains. We ate at the hotel bar twice its quite pricey compared to sorrento prices but beautiful fresh food and views, to be honest we expected this for our evening meals but obviously as we had to pay extra for lunch it was probably why it tasted so good. Shuttle buses dont run between 12-4pm which is a bit silly its too long of a gap as its too far to walk from sorrento.
would definitely come back and recommend the hotel but only as self catering the main restaurant was a big big let down if you are a foodie and love fresh italian pasta and bread you won't get it here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamsmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel for its beautiful views (go for a sea view room) and helpful, friendly staff. Good breakfasts, great open air restaurant by the pool for lunches. Dinners served in the main dining room are fine but plenty of good restaurants in the area to choose from too. Lovely tiled floor terrace open to the sea view which is the perfect place to have a drink and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portnoo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Saw this hotel advertised in brochure we had used last year and the hotel in Turkey was excellent. We were not disappointed despite the fact we had to fly from Northern Ireland to London to get a package trip. Because the hotel was out of Sorrento it was cheaper and much better quality than the hotels in Sorrento for the same price. However, the courtesy bus brought us into Sorrento up to four times a day. the views for me made the holiday and the close proximity to the sea. We made use of swimming from the cove which was beautiful and clean compared to the beaches and sea in Capri! The bedrooms are small but adequate and the bathrooms could do with an updating but with the amazing views from the balcony it wouldn't have mattered what the rooms look like. The food was good but not brilliant - I enjoyed the buffet and banquets and it was certainly better than anything we had in Sorrento! I loved the sunbed area and sea water pool - it was never crowded even in beginning of July and agian the views were very relaxing with a bottle of Rose at lunchtime! would definately recommend it for couples - not much for teenagers.

Room Tip: Definately book a seaview with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbourcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsall
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Oh what a place
This is truly a gem amongst gems and shines the brightest of them all
We have stayed here many times in the past and returned after a long break of trying other places.
This hotel offers so much in a Friendly professional manner with the needs and enjoyment of all of its guests at the forefront of its philosophy.
It is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in
The food is excellent . Huge improvement from when we last stayed here.
I cannot praise the staff enough. They are all friendly and caring and will do anything to make your stay a happy one.
Raphael in the terrace bar with the assistance of Mikhail always had our drink ready when we arrived pre dinner.
Massimo down at the pool - a pure professional with a quick wit and a beaming smile
All of the restaurant staff were so friendly and well mannered
The reception staff are knowledgable professionals ready to give advice and offer suggestions to enhance your stay.
This is a small family run hotel owned by people whose purpose is to offer a little luxury to their guests in the most amazing of setting at an affordable price. It is so worthy of its 4* rating. In my opinion it is way up there with some of the 5* hotels I have stayed in.
I love it and will be back in May for a little more Italian hospitality
Many thanks Delfino for yet again a memorable holiday.




  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangeo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Lubrense
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
436 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#2 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Francischiello Hotel & Spa Bellavista
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Property: Hotel Delfino
Address: Via Nastro d'Oro 2 | Sorrentina Peninsula, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#3 Family Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfino 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delfino offers a free shuttle to Sorrento. Its outdoor pool overlooks the sea.Provided with an LCD TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels, all rooms at Delfino Hotel are air conditioned and feature light-wood furniture. Some also come with a sea-view balcony.The hotel’s restaurant serves its meals on the poolside and specialties in Italian cuisine, Sorrento recipes and fresh fish. Breakfast is continental style and includes both hot and cold food.Staff can organize outdoor activities, such as diving and snorkeling, along with boat trips along the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Massa Lubrense
Hotel Delfino Sorrento
Delfino Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing