We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful surrounding”
Review of Hotel Delfino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Delfino
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Massa Lubrense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great hotel , helpful staff, good views. The hotel staff speak good english.The hotel is modern, speciouse and nicely furnished.
The rooms are nice with amazing sea view, breakfast has got lot's of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TALYA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 913 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel Delfino was beautiful. The property was nicely maintained, the salt water pool and lounge area was lovely and the snack bar was conveniently located. The breakfast was very nice and staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the location and Massa Lubrense. Was close enough to Sorrento and Amalfi without being in the midst of all the traffic and crowds. I would recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

On arriving the view hotel was just as advertised--very picturesque and with stunning views. A sea view roon is a must--and to be fair most of the 56 rooms do have one, but ask when booking the hotel. No problems with staff who were all very pleasant. Long trousers are complulsary in the restaurant at night - I had to go and change on our first night. Food was great, and plenty of choice ( and as we don't eat meat and are fussy about fish, then thats saying something) with choice of 5 starters, 5 mains and at least 2 sweets. You can also help yourself to the delicious cold meat and salad spread which is available as an alternative or addition to your starters and main course. Hotel was very cosmopolitan with guests from Belgium, all parts of the UK, Germany, Italy, US and NZ and was full but there is never any problem with getting beds around the pool. Drinks in the bar can add up, best to buy spirits/beer in the town and retire to your balcony and watch the boats to and fro Capri as the sun sets. No disco and no childrens entertainment so ideal for couples, not for younger groups. Very relaxing place with a pretty good hotel bus service to and fro Sorrento (20 minutes) and drops off along the way if you want it. Lots of trips available (capri, amalfi coast, pompei etc) or you can "self select" and get dropped off in Sorrento and make your own way to places. (train is 35 minutes and just 4 euros to Pomepei).
Only slight grump was lack of snacks around the pool bar-- if you want to eat at the hotel during the day, the menu starts at 10 euros (though it is very good food-salads, fresh fish etc) but you can always pop into Massa Lobrense and eat for half that price with pizza etc as we did once and walked back (30 minutes). Wi Fi also not good, but then it is out on a limb and on the edge of a cliff so not unexpected _ as with coastal areas here!

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestgateJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel has stunning views of Capri & the Amalfi coast from its pool and restaurant.
The evening meal was fantastic & plenty of choice available at the self- service breakfast.
The hotel has two bars one at the pool area and the other in reception. All items are charged to the room & the hotel does not appear to have a cash facility.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus at varying times of the day to Sorrento, which is handy if you don't want to brave the Italian roads with a hire car. The journey takes about 20mins which makes the hotel a great place to get away from it all, however if you like to explore, it is a little far away from everything.

The hotel has lots of stairs and the area by the pool is not wheelchair friendly. Our room was a little dusty and the door didn't shut properly (although I'm sure this is not a common feature of all rooms!)
Due to the price we paid it would have been nice to have a sea view but we were put in a 'garden view' room which was next to the driveway to the hotel. The Internet wifi is completely pointless and didn't work at all, despite being given a password.

All in all this break was relaxing and the hotel really lets you get away from it all. The staff were friendly, particularly in the restaurant however there were minor faults that spoiled our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room to make the most of your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is kept modern, dispute being built in the 1970's. The hotel is kept spotless, the cleaners work very hard. The hotel receptionist's are really nice. The evening meal menus, are very Italian, and very enjoyable. But I have to mention, the salad buffete usually has left overs on it from the night before. The waiters and waitresses are very nice. But the one who is balding wants you to spend money at the table, if you just get water with your meal and not expensive wine, then he snatches the receipt back from you when you sign the bill, we nicknamed him happy snaps, as he doesn't smile. The sea water in the cove infront of the hotel has a lot of rubish floating in it, when you snorkel you see it all. All in all we enjoyed the hotel, nothing is ever perfect.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Axelfoley15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The location is superb with the views over the sea to Capri. All the staff at the hotel are pleasant, friendly and helpful, especially in Reception and in the restaurant. The cleaners worked hard and our bedroom was spotlessly clean. We asked for a few extra wardrobe hangers and these were brought straight away, with no fuss. There was a great choice of food for breakfast and all the dinners in the restaurant were always good. The Chefs obviously worked hard to produce a variety of dishes. The hotel and the grounds are spacious with plenty of sunbeds, if you do not want to laze around by the pool. There is chance to swim in the sea from the cove and you can also sit by the sea and watch all the boats going across to Capri and back again. It would be good if there was an extra shuttle bus back from Sorrento in the middle of the day rather than having to wait until the 4.30 pm bus to get back to the hotel but this is a minor problem. A lovely place to stay and I hope to visit the Delfino again. Certainly the hotel is being recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolynO2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If that hotel stay in another part it will be clearly downgraded to a 3 stars. Everything and everyone of the staff need to be renovated! At check-in, impolite and rude staff at reception always answer at your questions "I don't know" and they didn't know that I understand Italian and they referred inappropriate comments laughing on us among them about our questions...really really sad! Our superior room had a beautiful view and the positive finish here. We had a terrible dinner only the first night, the other days we went to eat outside. They don't have a beach, but only a stair to the sea and solarium it's only for swimming pool. It's at 20min from Sorrento and the courtesy bus doesn't work regularly and with very few times. Excursions price cost more then double if you ask outside in Sorrento. First and last time in this hotel...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Lubrense hotels
0.7 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Blu Belvedere
Relais Blu Belvedere
#2 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
498 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Francischiello Bellavista
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Freedom Holiday Residence
Freedom Holiday Residence
#39 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfino

Address: Via Nastro d'Oro 2 | Sorrentina Peninsula, 80061, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#3 Family Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Luxury Hotel in Massa Lubrense
#4 Romantic Hotel in Massa Lubrense
Price Range: $174 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfino 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Delfino offers a free shuttle to Sorrento. Its outdoor pool overlooks the sea.Provided with an LCD TV with satellite and pay-per-view channels, all rooms at Delfino Hotel are air conditioned and feature light-wood furniture. Some also come with a sea-view balcony.The hotel’s restaurant serves its meals on the poolside and specialties in Italian cuisine, Sorrento recipes and fresh fish. Breakfast is continental style and includes both hot and cold food.Staff can organize outdoor activities, such as diving and snorkeling, along with boat trips along the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Delfino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfino Hotel Massa Lubrense
Hotel Delfino Sorrento
Delfino Massa Lubrense

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing