We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally classy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baglio Donna Franca
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Totally classy”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

For anyone flying into Trapani and wanting a great start to your holiday this is the place. I can't believe there was such a great place only 20 minutes from a budget airport. We loved the style, food and ambience. Pool is really great. Watching the sunset from the pool while drinking lovely white wine from the estate... This was our kind of place. Rooms also of very high class. Could be 5 star actually. Staff friendly. Just go!

Room Tip: We had a triple room with a proper bed for our son. It was on the bottom floor and had a beautiful b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    94
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
150
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location is amazing, totally quiet, unforgettable view. Food is excellent accompanied with very good house wines in reasonable prices (however it is bit difficult to call them cheap). Breakfast is of big variety and this probably was the richest breakfast we have ever had in Italy.. Majority of rooms are spacious and comfortable, so accomodation is great unless you are put into the room 108 being located just by any kind of machinery running and generating noise 24hours a day and having no window in the room beside the one in the doors. As this was last available room we have had no choice. On the other hand there is enough space around to spend time during stay out of the room. Car required , no other way to reach this place - gps is helpful however enough signs on the road.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacekB964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here 3 times in the past 5 years. We actually found it without the GPS first time (my wife is a great co-pilot), but it helps to have it.
The rooms are great, the staff are brilliant, the food is excellent, and the wine is the best. Marsala is only 40 -50 mins away and Erice is just up the road (overlooking Trapani).
Perfect for a romantic weekend, or worth a couple of days as part of a visit to Sicily.
Frederico Felini country, without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManusDNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had our GPS which almost got us to the hotel but we had to keep our eyes open for the signs posted on the way. It is a lovely property with a beautiful pool We ordered a bottle of white wine (their own winery) and took it to the pool and had a nice afternoon during siesta in town. The rooms are a good size and clean. we had a view of the sea and vineyards. They have bikes that you can borrow, so we took a ride through the vineyard and olive groves...very cool! We even ran into a herd of goats eating the leaves on the grapevines. Our room was only accessible by stairs so it would've been difficult for some to get all their luggage up...be sure to ask if you need help. The restaurant was very good and we thought reasonably priced. The breakfast was a nice variety of items and very fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jellsw0rth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our final stay was with Baglio Donna Franca. We loved it. It met all our expectations and had a great time here. The food was really good (especially the fish), the wine from their own vineyards was delicious and the rooms spacious and clean.
From the swimming pool you have a spectacular view.
It is funny that a lof of people book this hotel because it is close to the airport and then are so pleasantly surprised they wished they booked more nights here.
Service was great. If you have the chance ask for a small tour around the property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeroenwesselink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You cannot find this place without a well-functioning GPS, but it is worth the 100 turns it takes toi get there. Situated on a vineyard and live oil farm, the view from our room was breathtaking -- vines, trees, palm trees, and Marsala off in the distance. Everything about this place was classy. Outside our room there was a wonderful common area set up like a parlor. Do not miss the restaurant. it was one of the best meals of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrooklynDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed here for a night in april and found it very comfortable. Room was a bit small but completely acceptable. Nicely furbished common areas, beautiful terrace and a nice restaurant. Food was expensive (25€ meat, 30€ fish) and pretty good but does not include wine which i found strange. For less money other hotels include wine & beverages and this is a farm that produces wine. It is expensive to buy the wine too, same price as in the restaurant. Staff was ok, but could be more friendly and forthcoming. Didn't tell us anything about the place, just gave us the key and this is it. I just read now from other reviews that you could do a "wine-tour", so it seems this place really produces wine. I would expect a short introduction. Welcome...this is the place...produce wine... Nobody told us that the minibar is included in the room price...luckily i read about that before. Oh and we had lots of ants running around the room...cleanliness was only average.

All in all we liked it, just be aware that this is not really an agriturismo, it is rather a (nice) hotel in the countryside. You don't get this warm friendly farm feeling much that we so much enjoyed in other places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsala hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
344 reviews
6.3 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#5 of 19 in Marsala
355 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Marsala
560 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#8 of 19 in Marsala
88 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglio Donna Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglio Donna Franca

Property: Baglio Donna Franca
Address: Via Vincenzo Florio 1, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baglio Donna Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Resort was built after the restoration and conversion of a large "baglio" located in the centre of an agricultural establishment that, at one time, belonged to the Florio family. The historic Sicilian dynasty of the Florio family introduced Marsala wine to the entire world, invented the tuna fish industry in Favignana and controlled the largest commercial naval fleet at that time in Italy. The name Donna Franca is a homage to Franca Florio, who was an important and well-known figure of the Florio family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Baglio Donna Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baglio Donna Franca Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing