We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value accomodation we found in Sicily” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baglio Donna Franca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baglio Donna Franca
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value accomodation we found in Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We only stayed 2 nights, but wished it was longer. The staff were very helpful, the restaurant service and food superb, good breakfast as well. Nice pool, although it was too cold when we were there to use it. Great views. Rooms were big and well furnished. Their wines are good, the wine tour was excellent. Need a car to get there, and while the GPS was close we would have had trouble if we had not seen the signs on the way from Marsala. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    82
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
134
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyons, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We are staying 3 weeks in Sicily and this place was decent but not our favorite. We loved the wine tour Josey gave us but the rest of the staff needed a welcome lesson! Their resto was good and the grounds are lovely. Pool was large and nice. The rooms were small and needed a "facelift" But the location was great! Staying there 2 nights was fine by us.

But they are not feeding a young scared dog who hangs out in front and that worried us. She is very thin and very pretty and hides in the vines. Definately an abuse case so we wanted to put her in our car to bring her to Trapani where we saw some very fat dogs. She was too afraid :(( Please feed her! I feel so sad about this as it really ruined our stay.

Room Tip: second floor rooms only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel was by far our best accommodation during our 8 days stay in Sicily. Old, characteristic buildign turned into a hotel and a restaurant in the middle of vinyards - literally! Free parking outside, but make sure you have your GPS with you! we would have never found it without it. Big rooms with nice stylish furniture, A/C, swimming pool, lovely yard. Excellent breakfast, different choices of cereals, fruits, juices, meats, and most of all sweet pastries. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

I spent two nights in april 2010 with my girlfriend.
the baglio Donna Franca is locates on the top of a hill with an amazing seaview surrounded by wineyards.
hotel quality is good, rooms are clean and with good quality furnitures, but no frills.
try their restaurant as it is really good and waitress is extremely kind and polite.
they produce excellent wine and you can buy it, however shipping is extremely expensice (20€ to italy, 40€ to europe)
the only bad side is that you have the feeling of staying in a cathedral in the desert, but it is worth to spend a weekend there.
no swiming pool, no wifi.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fulv1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

Well, we were not much satisfied. When we arrived at this hotel at 22pm along a dark and alone street, we found it a huge hotel with a terrace inside. But they allocated us in a room outside, next to the main entrance room. The door didn't close, and the room was pretty small (it was clearly not the one showed in the photos). Then, we asked for another room, but they told us that it was the only room they had. We had a reservation but we did not want to spend 100 € in the guard's room at all, so we left the hotel, they apologised for the inconvinience and we started to search for another one at 23 pm! Afterwards, in September, they charged me the total amount of the first night in the credit card, and when e-mailed them to ask the reason, they answered me "Ok, we didn't say that we aren't going to do it".

Think before do it...

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsala hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.3 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#6 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baglio Cudia Resort
Baglio Cudia Resort
#9 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stella d'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglio Donna Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglio Donna Franca

Property: Baglio Donna Franca
Address: Contrada Vincenzo Florio 1, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baglio Donna Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Resort was built after the restoration and conversion of a large "baglio" located in the centre of an agricultural establishment that, at one time, belonged to the Florio family. The historic Sicilian dynasty of the Florio family introduced Marsala wine to the entire world, invented the tuna fish industry in Favignana and controlled the largest commercial naval fleet at that time in Italy. The name Donna Franca is a homage to Franca Florio, who was an important and well-known figure of the Florio family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baglio Donna Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baglio Donna Franca Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing