We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine”
Review of Disio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disio Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
le Tarn
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Set in the prime wine growing area of Sicily, this hotel was comfortable and very good value. Landscaped gardens and a magnificent outdoor swimming pool (only the two of us swimming on a warm October morning) We stayed one night, passing through the area. We dined in the restaurant and had the best caponata ever, strongly flavoured with wild fennel and with almonds rather than pinoli, and a very good vegetable pasta with an excellent glass of red wine. However we were the only customers in the restaurant and were not made particularly welcome. The staff talked loudly planning a forthcoming event and we felt as if we were intruding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    92
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
86
148
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012. It was very professional, clean, high quality, nice choices for activities and had a pool. We did not eat here. I think that it deserves it's very high ranking. My only comment is that there was a woman and man during the day who were not very friendly but we are used to such treatment from some people, however most people in Sicily have been warm and friendly and love Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgefromRhody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the Disio Resort (two adults and a three year old).
It really is a great property. The whole resort is one big garden.
The swimming pool was nice and well kept. There is a driving range and a three hole golfcourse. It is a nice addition to the resort, but not more than that. If you book for the golf, you could be disappointed.
What for us was a disappointment was the quality of the restaurant. Breakfast was fine, but the two times we had lunch in the resort was enough to stop trying.
From our 4 stays in Sicily the Disio was the one we liked least.
Although it really is a nice resort, it lacked the charm we experienced elsewhere around Trapani.
If you are considering this resort, please note that in my experience the Trapani area is much more interesting than Marsala.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroenwesselink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August based on the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed; it truly is as good as the reviews. The resort is quite some way from Marsala, so without a hire car to get around it would be almost impossible to go anywhere. The location was difficult to find on our Garmin Satnav, I think this is down to the large area of their codes. Stopped, asked directions and we were very close. Do not be put off as you approach the hotel from Marsala, it appears you are driving through a barren abandoned area then an oasis of green and tranquillity appears – Disio resort. Disio resort was very quiet with a mix of nationalities including many Italians; in my opinion always a good sign. The resort is set in beautiful surroundings and is very peaceful. The hotel itself is modern and stylish.

The room was a good size with plenty of space, good safe. If possible get one overlooking the three hole golf course. Free wifi operated throughout the hotel. On one night we had to leave the pool by 7pm due to a wedding. This did not intrude on any other facility. The pool is very good spotlessly clean with sufficient loungers and parasols. It was excellent in the late afternoon and early evening when we had it to ourselves.

Disappointingly breakfast was only average. We ate every night in Marsala around a 15 – 20 minute drive. If you get there reasonably early around 2000 parking was easy and free. Some really good restaurants and joined the “passagiata”. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly able to provide detailed information on all local attractions. The island of Motya and close by, the salt pans are worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Disio at the end of July 2012 for 1 week. The resort is set in beautiful surroundings and is very peaceful. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The resort pool was immaculate and we had no problems in obtaining sunloungers. Rooms were spotless and contained excellent facilities. The restaurant produced excellent food and breakfast was always well catered for. The resort is quite some way from Marsala, so you do need a hire car to get around. Unfortunatley, there are no spa facilities at the resort which is something that would add to already excellent facilities at the Disio. We also visited Eracles (3 mins from the Disio by car) and they have the most fantastic gelato and is given out in generous servings. Overall, we spent a lovely week at the Disio - we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna2012186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We didnt stay in the hotel, only looked as a consideration to use as a wedding venue. The staff were extremely polite and cooked an sample wedding 5 course meal for us! The food was absolutely stunning! Very high levels of presentation, quality of produce and the staff went above and beyond. A wonderful venue! I am not particularly a golf fan, but the grounds looked good!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days while in Sicily. We found the resort to be excellent. Nice rooms, lovely grounds, plenty to do and close to all the things you'd want to see on Western Sicily. I should also mention that the staff are all wonderfully helpful and friendly and really make an effort to make sure have and know everything you need.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsala
5.4 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
41.5 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#7 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disio Resort

Property: Disio Resort
Address: Contrada Scacciaiazzo 79 | Country Scacciaiazzo 79, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marsala
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Disio Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new complex offers guests an acceptance and an impeccable comfort, in one of the beautiful angles of western Sicily: Marsala. Disio rises to the center of a splendid and perfumed botanical park of 15 hectares, and it is equipped with various systems: a green of 3 holes, practical green and putting green, a swimming pool, a tennis field and soccer, a park for children, panoramic terraces and other spaces in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Disio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disio Resort Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing