We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet as Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Palace
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Marsala
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sweet as Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We got an incredible deal via Groupon for 5 nights at this hotel. We explored the local area around Marsala and Trapani. This hotel is in a perfect position, if you have a car, to explore the north west.

The service, the rooms and the breakfast were first class. We would definitely come back if we were in the north west of Sicily again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Elena D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Family,
just to say thank you for your impressive kindness.
We try every day to produce this result with all our Guests Hoping to fnd out to give our best we are waiting for you in a very next future
Best time from Marsala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    100
    48
    23
    13
See reviews for
52
112
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel is located around 2 kilometers from the city center (old town) but it is a quick walk.
We only stayed overnight when catching an early morning flight from Trapani but the hotel is classic elegant even though a bit of the charm has faded with the years. Pool area looked very nice and inviting.

Staff was very friendly

Best –Good overall impression
Good – Staff friendliness
Not so good – Nothing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSymmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Elena D, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Family,
thank you so much for your kindness.
Sometime the day before flight back is sad and we are really glad in giving people the opportunity to enjoy their last day and make them fill at easy
Sincere thanks again and Best wishes for all your next holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me & my girlfriend stayed here as part of a Groupon deal as it had a 5 star rating and we needed a short break. Definitely a very grandeur and welcoming feel from the moment you enter as you would expect from a 5 star hotel. So first impressions were perfect including THE SERVICE received upon arrival. The receptionists were very friendly and warm and had a sense of humour. Our room wasn't ready but we has arrived two hours early but the room was nearing ready so we only waited half hour. Plus our luggage was taken from the beginning so it was already in the room when we went in.

THE ROOM was great, very clean, and nice decor. The bed was comfy though we did notice that it was two single beds put together with king size sheets but it didn't cause any problems. There is a good A/C but we never used it for long. The en-suite bathroom again very clean and looks great. One thing we had read before is that the rooms get serviced twice a day which is true as the bed kept being made when we came back in which was great.
Drawbacks:
-(Major)The TV had very limited channels for a 5 star. Channels looked to be the basic channels which meant only the news channels and Fashion TV were the only English channels. Even abroad, thats a first for a 5 star and even for some four stars. Also if you wanted to order a film, the choice was a bit limited as well.
- (Major) There is nothing complimentary in the room! We had the crisps and opened the nuts that were on the table, and we got charged for it. 5 stars usually give something complimentary and there was no indication that we would get charged for it.
- (Minor) We were in the classic room so the view is not good at all but it didn't bother us much as weren't in the room a lot. If you upgrade you do get either a sea view or a garden view.
-(Minor) Beware of mosquitos. Done well the first two nights but got abused on the third night.
-(Minor) Strangely the toilet is rather close to the shower so you have to squeeze past which is odd
-(Minor) the shower head needs replacing as it didn't spray properly but nonetheless you can still have a nice shower.
-(Minor) Though the door not closing properly meant that quite a bit of water ended up on the bathroom floor.
-(Minuscule) If you are fussy the paint is just starting to peel but not a big deal for me.

THE FOOD at the hotel was limited. There are cereals available and really nice brreads which you can toast there, with a select of spreads. There are also boiled eggs available but it you want them a different way or get there late, you will need to request this with the waiter.
Drawbacks:
-As mentioned, its still limited with the rest of the breakfast is basically lots and lots of different cakes. All very sweet and too much for the morning.
-In the evening, there was nothing really vegetarian which was a problem for me.
-Also the food wasn't overly appealing when you think what Sicily has to offer so we always went out for Dinner.

THE LOCATION is on the sea but thats the only best thing about it. If you want to go to the sea then this is convenient. There are some shops and a really nice looking restaurant near by but we never managed to eat in there as if you get there late, its seems to get busy quickly. The closest thing is the harbour which is about 10 minutes away if you just walk down by the sea. From here you can go to the other islands of Sicily which is recommended.
DRAWBACK:
-To the nearest lively place its about 10-15minute walk and that walk isn;t really pleasant with horrible smelly streets to walk down. Even further to reach the main areas.
- There are no real beaches nearby, the closest being on the islands. The beaches are ok and we were ok with it but not perfect.
-Neither of us drive so we had to do some missions to do excursions so if you drive, hire a car. If you don't, it is manageable but not straight forward. We were determined to get to the temple ruins.

Overall, it was a satisfying stay and we had a great time. I would say it falls short of 5 star facilities but definite four star as it was very comfortable and relaxing which is the main thing. The SWIMMING POOL looked amazing but we never managed to use it as we were only there three days and we were out for all of them.

Room Tip: The room is great but if the view is important then upgrade. Also, nothing is complimentary, not sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SubhanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

we (wife 45 and me 43) went there in ocotber...great weather super hotel only be aware that out of season there is no lunch or diner available....most restaurants are nice and friendly DON'T GO TO BUCANIERI.... hotel recommended this one with great steak....extremely expensive as you would eat for max 50 euro everywhere else this "restaurant" charged 75 euro for 1 steak and a starte...service slow and really bad had to ask in kitchen for water after we asked 20 minutes previous ,brought our own plates to kitchen as the waiters were according to the kok "tired".... very nice place for lunch undana on via fillipo.....
Hotel great nice rooms people very friendly ...breakfast nice but you have to ask for eggs as they are not displayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days and it was nice and clean and beautiful setting. Can't fault the environment at all. However the breakfast was very limited and the same all week. No other meals were being served and you were directed to a restraunt, 15 minutes walk.The hotel describes being near the beach, well it is not accurate. You are near the harbour there is no proper beach for walking on. You really need a car if you are staying here and it was a 3 hr drive from the airport. The staff were good though and multi lingual

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balbirfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days and must say the hotel staff are very helpful, polite, and friendly giving a 5* service. The hotel however is not 5* as we know it in the UK - although spacious and clean, it is more on the Ibis/Premier Inn level.
The location is great to walk to great restaurants, and the hotel arranged a taxi for a day tour to main attractions such as Saline, Segesta and Erica. Poolside at the hotel is a bonus here so very easy to relax here as much as you need and the gardens are also very well maintained and attractive to walk through. This hotel is a good choice for a few days and you will have all the needs of a 3* hotel but with the service level of a 5* hotel. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We ended up with a room with a view of the train track! - Having asked for a garden view and as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I travelled with my mother for a 5 day break at this hotel in September 2013. She found the hotel to be fully accessible, We both found the facilities excellent, staff were only to happy to help with any aspect of our needs. the opportunity to stay in an excellent hotel, with a calm approach to everything, reminded us of how important a peaceful and calm environment is when planning to relax, This place was just the ticket.

Room Tip: rooms are large and more than adequate for 2 people. rooms to front have sea view, rooms to back hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsala hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#1 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stella d'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#7 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delfino Beach Hotel
Delfino Beach Hotel
#14 of 19 in Marsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palace

Property: Grand Hotel Palace
Address: Lungomare Mediterraneo 57, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marsala
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an ancient and pleasant garden, enchanted by the sea, the New Hotel Palace was born in the middle 1800s thanks to Sir Carlo Gordon, Florio factory manager in that time. From the 1998 onwards, Li Mandri family, turned this villa into an elegant hotel maintaining the old house style and harmony. In the 2006, beside the small manor house, a 5 Star hotel was opened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Palace Marsala
Grand Hotel Palace Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing