We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Egadi Islands

Egadi Islands
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We caught the quick boat from Trapani to Levanzo. We had a wonderful day. There wasn't much going in November "touristy" wise, but we walked to the "Grotta Del Genovese" and carried on around to the port. Windy but, sun shining and we had a fantastic day. Caught the 4.40pm boat home even though the wind was strong.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    84
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ISLAND ESCAPE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Easy to get to via hydrofoil from Trapani port.
I visited in October and everything seemed to be closing down. Also, most of Sicily seems to operate a siesta time so nothing open between 2-4pm. Favignana is the largest island and you can hire bikes to get around it.
Levanzo is smaller and not a lot there but if you like walking then it is a good place to stay for a couple of days. Must-see is the Grotta dei Genovesi with cave paintings and graffitti from 12000 and 7000 b.c. You can get up to the peak - the last bit is an easy scramble - via a good pathway with great 360 views from the top.
Weather in October is excellent - not too hot, bright blue skies and sun. We did get one thunderstorm but everything dried up quickly.
These islands are well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We only got to see Favignana but what a delightful place. We went early October so weather was great and wasn't too busy. Very laid back, more than the mainland. We hires bicycles and cycled down the coast to some nice beaches. and a few nice spots to have a drink, food or ice cream. All of which were amazing. Well-worth going to for a relaxing time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SubhanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the day on the islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Favignana is so beautiful, fishing boats, bikes around, clear crystal waters, lunch on board, good pasta with pesto and wine, it was such a relaxing day, walking around on both islands

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaMoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Light and beaches are to be visited , a trip around th island is worth,
We had a fantastic lunch in the white cave hotel

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RemiBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egadi Islands also viewed

Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
Trapani, Province of Trapani
 
Marsala, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Egadi Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing