We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking villa in the heart of Marsala!”
Review of Case a San Matteo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Case a San Matteo
Ranked #18 of 98 Marsala B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Breathtaking villa in the heart of Marsala!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We only stayed at the B&B Case a San Matteo for one night- we had such a wonderful experience I wish we had stayed longer! The property is breathtaking with a stunning courtyard, pristine rooms, and a perfectly spacious set up. Tiziana and Marco were wonderful and gracious hosts and helped me very much when I got lost driving around the city (the streets are a bit difficult to navigate!). The b&b is located in a perfect, central area where you can easily walk to shops, restaurants and sights. The room was clean and very spacious, as was our private bathroom. We had a beautiful little private terrace overlooking the courtyard where you can sip on wine or coffee and relax. The breakfast was delicious- they made freshly squeezed orange juice right on the spot that was the best I've ever had! That was served on the peaceful veranada, along with homemade marmalades and bread, yogurts, fresh fruits, Italian coffee, and biscuits.

I will definitely stay longer on my next trip to Sicily- you cannot beat the price and beauty of this place! Grazie Tiziana and Marco!

Room Tip: There is a double room with bunk beds if you're travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrosa1383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    49
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The owners are very friendly and helpful, house is very sober from outside, but the yard with its terrace are very charming and cozy, location is very convenient (city center), it was possible to find a free of charge parking place nearby.
Rooms are spacious and furnished with style and good taste.
Breakfast was plentiful and served on the terrace.

Only two negatives:
1/ double room had a strange bathroom - shower tap was located in the neighboring storeroom
2/ quadruple room had 2 very nice beds in the main room and 2 bunk beds in the small area connecting the room and the bathroom

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Me and my Mom spent a week in Marsala. I will think very warmly about this time. So nice people, so beautiful place, tasty breakfast. Everything was great. Tiziana, Roberto and Maria, are very nice, so much helpful in everything ( from expleaning Italian to helping to plan your trip ) Now we are telling our friends about Case a San Matteo, and probably they will stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta_Zaczynska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's very important to be clear about which room you're getting here. The above-ground floor rooms are really nice, especially the 3rd floor room (more like mini apartment) that we had, which was just amazing and blew us away. The ground-floor rooms are dark however and don't have windows except for the glass in the doors which looks into the interior courtyard. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you can get a room above the ground floor.

Our 3rd floor room was gorgeous. It was very spacious, with a huge gorgeous bathroom with a bathtub, nice window, pretty tiles, and a luxurious stand up shower with waterfall showerhead. It felt like we were on a honeymoon in this room. It was really a treat staying here.

The breakfast was just amazing. This was the only B&B we stayed in which had freshly squeezed orange juice, and delicious cheese, yogurt, fruits (apricots and a local fruit), etc etc. Beautiful breakfast which they clearly pride themselves on and is really worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room above the ground floor. If you can get the 3rd floor room, that's the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have spent two weeks in Marsala. It was a wonderful time thanks to sunny weather, beautiful sandy beach and last but not least two of our hosts. Tiziana and Roberto are exceptionally friendly and helpful people. They made us feel at home. We were staying at the suite in their house that was cosy, spacious, air-conditoned and very clean. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts served on a wonderful terrace. We had five minutes to the main street in town. In the end we can only say GRAZIE PER LA SPLENDIDA VACANZA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna_and_Waldek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We lived a very nice and warm experience with the propretaries of B&B Case a san Mateo. Tiziana and Marco are very worm hosts and ready to get you a lot of advices what to see in the town and in Siciliy on general. The appartments are situated in an old house, rebuild in the respect of the local tradicion, furnished with original equipmnet in with all necessary comfort. You have yust to walk maybe one hundred meters and you are there - in the lively main promendae of the old Martsala center, with all the places of interest to visit and a lot of nice cafffe, restaurants, enotecs and osterias where to enjoy the excelent produces of Marsala and Sicily. Excelent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esdenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A wonderful place to stay, with informed and interesting hosts. Very comfortable, delicious breakfast service, comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Lovely historic part of Marsala, location walkable to many parts of town. Safe, comfortable and lovely. Highly recommended for a visit with family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorota R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Stella D'Italia
0.7 mi away
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
#3 of 98 in Marsala
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Vecchio Marsala
Il Vecchio Marsala
#10 of 98 in Marsala
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Due Passi Dal Centro
0.3 mi away
I Tramonti Sul Mare Affittacamere- B&B
0.3 mi away
Porta Nuova
Porta Nuova
#15 of 98 in Marsala
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Case a San Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Case a San Matteo

Property: Case a San Matteo
Address: Via Punica 3 | Facing the St. Matteo Church, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Case a San Matteo 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bb in the historical center in Marsala, with a little courtyard full of plants and season flowers. Breakfast is served in the nice private terrace from april to november. All rooms are ensuite with conditioning. Free wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Case a San Matteo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Case a San Matteo Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing