We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base to explore Western Sicilia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Carlo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Carlo Resort
Ranked #8 of 92 Marsala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good base to explore Western Sicilia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Excellent breakfast with a Sicilian speciality every morning. There's a place to eat just round the corner, Antico Giardino...no menu...just tell them what you want. You need a car...it's not too easy to find (we arrived late and it was dark). When you leave Trapani airport take the second right at the roundabout and get onto the SP115...when you see the traffic lights near the Renault garage turn left and follow the signs. Go over to Mozia it's a good trip...you can walk all the way round the island in about an hour. We would definately stay at Villa Carlo resort again. It has a couple of barbeques at the side of the pool which you can use. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool...they have tables and chairs outside the door to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeliceDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    58
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
84
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The b&b looks nice. Swimming pool looks very inviting and also chairs around the resort look very comfortable and cosy to sit. The room was nice but not very well cleaned. Lots of spider webs around. Also the shower wasn't that clean and some towels were dirty. The room design is however nice. Airco works fine. Internet didn't work most of the time in the room, expect to go outside to a place nearer to the antenna. Staff speaks barely english. One girl did speak a little french. Most of the people do try to help you if you need something and will do efforts for you. The food in the hotel is very minimum and doesn't taste nice(microwave or fried food). In general I would go here again but it would be nicer if they would try to make internet work and do some more cleaning of the rooms. The location is far from everything, you'll need a car to get somewhere as there's nothing around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the villa Carlo. The resort itself is very nice with friendly people, the major downside is the distance from anywhere and the resort facilities.
We arrived on a Saturday evening, using the hotels airport pickup service. On arrival we found that there was no food available or drinks to be had at the resort, as we have 2 children this is not ideal. We were told the nearest place to get any food was a 15 minutes’ walk, this place is fantastic, well worth the walk.
As we needed to get some food and water be aware nothing is open on a Sunday. A friendly guest seeing our problem drove us into Marsala to find some food and water, the only thing we could find was an ice cream bar, again very expensive.
The shared cooking facilities are fine, but last week the fridge was broken so your food won't last (I’m sure this will be fixed).
During the day around the pool is great, but would be better if we could have bought ice creams or drinks.
The hotel can book you a taxi to get you into the Marsala but at €60 for return journey this was very expensive. The hotel can also book you a rental car at €50 a day, again very expensive.
I would strongly advise that you hire a car from the airport as the ones from the hotel are not very good, old cars with broken lights and tatty condition. There is nothing in walking distance and the surrounding area looks dreadful, with building sites and derelict buildings and litter
We found other guests had the same problem and luckily between us we overcome some of the problems.
Don’t get me wrong I liked the place, the room, the people the pool the breakfast are great, but the finishing touches need work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Villa Carlo is an oasis in the relative desert of south-western Sicily. The staff are amazingly friendly, and we got a nice welcome drink on arrival. Great use of Google Translate by one of the staff - great use of initiative if you don't speak Italian/they don't speak English :) Breakfast was massive and a real treat of Sicilian favourites. Villa Carlo has at least four resident cats - two of which spent quite a lot of time in our room in the evenings, which was nice - like being at home. The only criticisms I have of this wonderful resort is location in relation to Marsala (it's a bit far out), but that's not a particularly fair criticism as they don't tout themselves as a 'city centre hotel'. The other criticism is that, when we arrived on the first night, there were no visible signs of life at the resort - they've got a massive mechnical gate and high walls - this, combined with a lack of lighting, and no obvious signs indicating what to do to get the attention of staff in order to get in, was a little disconcerting. A simple correction to this might be to put a multi-language sign next to the gate instructing guests to press the relevant buzzer and to reassure them that there is, in fact, someone at home! Otherwise, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmr42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We found the ‘Villa Carlo Resort’ B&B is quite a place in the country side not to be missed if you are staying in Marsala. It is peaceful, very clean, well kept place, nice views of the sea and the islands.
The breakfast is always varied and pleasant, the rooms are modern and the environment is very lovely and spacious. Parking is also available within the grounds too.
David the owner and staff are very dedicated and helpful, they make their utmost to make your stay very pleasant and welcome.
Also not to be missed is the family’s restaurant ‘San Carlo’ within the old city of Marsala. We highly recommend the stay at Villa Carlo Resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorinDMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Villa Carlo resort is a very nice B&B in the countryside around Marsala. Rooms are elegant and newly refurbished and the place has a very nice garden with swimming pool, sofas and a cool hammock. The host, Davide, is very nice and helpful, with plenty of suggestions for local attractions and amenities. You would definitely need a car to reach the place, but a secure parking is offered and the surroundings are beautiful, from the resort itself you can enjoy a nice view of the sea and the Egadi islands. Breakfast is quite nice, with a good espresso machine, croissants, and a good choice of fruit juice. One little flaw is the fact that sometimes parties are organized in the evening, but we didn't have big problems falling asleep, tired from walking in the sun the whole day.

Room Tip: Tell Davide what you need and he'll be happy to help you, if he can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergiodf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Many thanks to davide the owner of Carlo Resort. We had a fantastic time, the rooms are well furnished with a modern twist, the swimming pool (which has a stunning view over the hills of Marsala) was immaculate and the food was delicious.
I highly reccomend this resort to anyone in need of a well deserved break, as a perfect getaway! Here you've got it all, and Marsala has loads of fantastic bars, resturants and sights, Carlo resort 10/10!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsala hotels
2.2 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#3 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#6 of 19 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Isola di Mozia
Hotel Isola di Mozia
#10 of 19 in Marsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines
4.9 mi away
Case Vacanze Signorino
Case Vacanze Signorino
#5 of 92 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
Sbarco dei 1000 B&B
#4 of 92 in Marsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Carlo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Carlo Resort

Property: Villa Carlo Resort
Address: Contrada Gurgo 21/M | Zona Fontanelle, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Carlo Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills surrounding Marsala, Villa Carlo Resort is the ideal point of departure to plan your stay in Western Sicily. Situated only 5 km from the city center, 11 km from the airport Trapani-Birgi, has panoramic views of the Egadi Islands (Favignana, Levanzo, Marettimo). Great attraction is the "reserve Stagnone" where there are salt flats and mills, the archipelago of islands including Mothia and the meeting place par excellence for lovers of kite surfing. Villa Carlo Resort offers 14 standard rooms and 1 Superior room inclusive of all comfort. All with private bathroom with shower, air-conditioned, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi, LCD TV, minibar, balcony or patio. Villa Carlo Resort offers a continental breakfast, free private parking, barbecue, wood oven, places to relax, solarium and a modern and stylish bar overlooking the swimming pool of the Resort. Villa Carlo offers its guests many other services: info point, laundry, rent a car and city bike, shuttle service to and from airport. The Restaurant offers traditional Sicilian and Italian recipes, products of the highest quality and a great wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Villa Carlo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Carlo Resort Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing