We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was a great place to land to begin an exploration of Western Sicily with a group. I had breakfast, lunch, and dinner there, and all were fantastic, showcasing regional specialties--such as cous cous con pesce. The staff was absolutely efficient and wonderfully helpful, the room spacious and comfortable (with a bathtub!). It's only 5 minutes from Trapani airport, so also perfect for winding down at the end of a Sicilian adventure. You do need a car here--it's not the place to stay if you're looking to walk around and mingle with natives in a village. This is all about peaceful surroundings--with a pool, wine bar, and, I repeat: wonderful food!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanVanAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    232
    55
    21
    10
See reviews for
131
387
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed in Baglio Oneto in Oct 2011 as part of a 2 week trip to Sicily, driving around the island, staying in a total of 3 hotels. It was the shortest stay of all our hotels – only 2 nights. The hotel is around 15 mins drive from Marsala, the nearest town. It is a large hotel and very efficiently run because of this. The rooms are a fair size and comfortable. The balconies seemed to vary depending on which side of the building you were in – lower balconies at the back of the hotel (of which we had) were a large size but didn’t get a lot of sun and overlooked trees/shrubbery. Upper balconies were smaller. A room at the front of the hotel would guarantee a pool view over the countryside to the sea. The pool area seemed fine, also with views over the countryside to the sea. Admittedly, we didn’t get a chance to use the pool during our visit. If I was being picky, I would mention that the walls are quite thin and that corridor noise reverberates and can be noisy in the evenings/early mornings when guests walk through.
We arrived late in the evening when an event seemed to be on, so parking for hotel guests was limited – however, this didn’t seem to be a problem for the remainder of the stay (and there is a large carpark for buses/restaurant guests at the front of the hotel). On arrival the staff were very helpful and friendly and clearly used to communicating to their English/American guests. At short notice we were found a table at their in-house restaurant (sitting in the lounge area, rather than the main restaurant). If you appreciate a good selection of wines then this restaurant is a must. Portions aren’t the huge size of local restaurants but are enough and very good. The main maitre d’ (a young man) stood out for his good customer service; was clearing running the place well, had a nice rapport with guests, and was extremely ‘clued-up’ on the wine (there is a winery at the hotel). When our restaurant choice in Marsala was closed on the second night we were more than happy to head back to the in-house restaurant again. It also happened to be the night we celebrated our engagement and we weren’t disappointed.
Baglio meaning ‘courtyard’; there was a lovely courtyard at the heart of the hotel. Breakfast could be had here, or in the restaurant. Breakfast is a well represented spread of staple constituents; a good selection of fruit and, rather than your usual slices of cheese, at least 2 blocks of fresh cheese.
All in all, it is a convenient and perfectly lovely hotel to spend a few nights and see the Marsala/Trapani/Erice/Segesta areas of Sicily. It is a strong choice for ease of overall comfort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmkline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a resort well outside of Marsala so a car is needed. GPS took us to the place without a problem.
Lovely spot on a hill near Marsala/Trapani Airport.
Staff were great, facilities were very nice.
Rooms were ordinary but clean. Well priced.
Food was excellent at the restaurant both for the dinner and breakfast.
Pool was closed but looked inviting.
Lots of free parking and free WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Beautiful place, great price, lovely pool, atmospheric restaurant, difficult to find but easy once located

Room Tip: ignore the hotel's web site route instructions, stay on the ss115 until u find the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fentimans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

we stayed here in 2006 so were a little disappointed to find on our return this year that it had changed hands. As we were staying for 9 nights we found the restaurant menu limited and surprised that there wasn't a menu of the day. Food quality was average and the service was slow. One night we waited an hour and a quarter for our first course, fortunately lovely surroundings. Found some staff extremely helpful and polite. However, could not be said of the younger members of staff in the restaurant. Cannot fault the setting and the rooms. However, it is in need of some touching up - pool liner, gardens etc. as look tired and neglected.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms can be noisy as opposite the bar, rooms on the vineyard side are quieter and shaded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

+ nice complex, spacious room, good restaurant and breakfast, professional and friendly staff
- the liner of the pool was very dirty, the drinks at the bar/mini bar are expensive

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at Resort Baglio Oneto in July 2011. I don't normally go away at peak time, and was worried everywhere would be busy and expensive, but was pleased to find this hotel with availability at the last minute. Wasn't too bothered about sight-seeing, I wanted a break with good weather, some good food and a nice environment to read lots of books - this hotel provided all of those.

Conveniently close to Trapani Airport, a taxi was quick and cheap. However, if you want to visit Trapani and Marsala (both nearby), a hire car seems to be a must - each time I asked for directions they began with "well, get in your car...". The hotel is located in an olive grove on a hillside looking out towards the sea. There aren't any shops or restaurants close by, and the coast isn't within easy walking distance, but this didn't bother me.

The Hotel and the bedrooms have a modern and well-furnished feel. The service is friendly and professional. The main building of the hotel is a converted agricultural building, but the bedrooms are in a new building, constructed for the purpose. The peace and quiet, and clean air were certainly a contrast from London, which was what I was looking for. While the service in the restaurant was pretty relaxed, the food was very good, and had local produce and dishes. Dinner is served in the shady Courtyard, a nice place to sit in the evening after a warm day; the menu included local produce and wine. The pool is a good size (about 20m), and it was great to relax and read in the shade of an umbrella looking out towards Trapani and the Aegadian Islands.

If you get bored in the evenings there is Sky television with many channels available in English, and Free Wi-fi is a modern convenience, though fades a bit the further you get from the main hotel building.

Much enjoyed, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view - great views of the islands, and sunsets too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perceptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsala
4.9 mi away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#5 of 18 in Marsala
362 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,657 reviews
6.2 mi away
Disio Resort
Disio Resort
#7 of 18 in Marsala
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#4 of 18 in Marsala
95 reviews
6.4 mi away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#2 of 18 in Marsala
569 reviews
45.2 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines

Property: Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines
Address: Contrada Baronazzo Amafi,8, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines is a 5 Star Hotel in Marsala, near Trapani, a few kilometers from Trapani Birgi Airport "Vincenzo Florio" (10 minutes) , with restaurant , free Wi-Fi access , 24/7 Reception with Express Check-In and Check-out with pool, bar and Free parking inside the Resort. The Resort offers 48 stylish and elegant rooms with sea view or a vineyard , with a small terrace, Private Bathroom, Satellite TV, Air conditioning, Mini Bar, Hair Dryer and other services. The Baglio Oneto Restaurant, open every day, will taste typical dishes of the Sicilian tradition and is available for guests by reservation. In addition, the historic cellar of aging of our wines will be pleased to welcome you for wine tasting, on request, with local salami and cheeses. Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines was founded on the basics of an old feudal dwelling typical of the luxury residences of the eighteenth century , surrounded by nature and with a breathtaking landscape of Egadi Islands and the "Stagnone Lagoon" that will dazzle guests who decide to spend their holidays in Sicily in completly relaxa and good taste. Thanks to its strategic location is the ideal starting point for visiting the whole province of Trapani such as Erice, Mothia, Saline, Mazara del Vallo, Agrigento and Palermo. Each can be reached in less than an hour by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglio Oneto Resort and Wines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Baglio Oneto Hotel Marsala
Baglio Oneto Resort And Wines Marsala, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing