We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very kind staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were there some weeks ago. We ate at their restaurant and was good. We didn't like the comfort room as the view was "inside" the building. Anyway, the staff was very polite and room clean enough and breakfast very good. For one night was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuliaTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
56
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Requested a sea-view room, we got a room that was suppossed to be with sea view, but are necks were not long enough...... We paid for an upgrade and got the room facing the sea. Worth the money. The roof terrace was fantastic.
No AC during the day and bad AC during the night

Room Tip: Make sure you pay for the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_SavoyHotel, Responsabile reception at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.
Hope to see you again to stay again in Savoy Hotel for your summer 2013 and show you our improvements.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Friendly staff and an adequate room for one or two nights. They have very limited parking available (€5/day) but there seems to be quite a lot of street parking available too. We found the airconditioning didn't work during the day and even when off over night the unit was noisy and kept me awake. Very close to the sea and a few good restaurants close by. The pool is ok, not heated to too cold go actually go in but the sun loungers were nice on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHVRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were i Marina de Pietrasanta for bicycling in the mountains. Hotel Savoy was the perfect base for our excusions. The rooms had all we needed and very clean.The breakfast had everything - including croissants and fruits. The staff were always helpful and with a smile. I really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann-Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Reception staff were excellent, upon checking in they gave us room key and as soon as we entered the room, the receptionist ran in explaining that we should be in a Superior Room (recently re-furbished).

The original room was exactly the same size, and we were initially happy with it, although the new room was finished to a higher standard, in a more modern/contemporary style.

Room was on side towards rear of the hotel, with balcony and still had a good sea view, albeit across the road and over a petrol station.

Our bathroom was tiny, with a shower(no bath), although the water oressure was great!

Parking was in a narrow area to rear of hotel, we left keys with reception and they moved car if other cars needed to get out.

Only negative with this hotel, is that it is located a good 20-30min walk from the main shopping/eating area of Pietresanta.

Another comment I would make is that Pietresanta is mainly frequented by Italians, so if you don't speak Italian, expect to find some problems when trying to rent a sun lounger on the beach and in restaurants/shops etc.... Saying that, everyone is very polite and do there best to communicate with us non Italian speakers!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed at Savoy at Marina Di Pietrasanta for 5 days in early September, 07. We booked a room directly from the hotel site for 85 euros/night. First of all - beware - the hotel states on their site that it is 250 km from Rome. That is so UNTRUE! It is closer to 300 miles from Rome and will take you at least 4.5 hours to drive from Rome (if you speeding, of course). It was not worth it. We wanted it to be our base for discovering Tuscany being at the beach at the same time. Well, the hotel is far away from all the attractions. Check mapquest before you go there. The rooms are so small, you can't open your carry-on luggage. We asked for an upgrade, but it was even smaller then the basic room, though it had a balcony. The bed was like a hammock. Their pictures do not represent the reality at all. You need ear plugs, because it is so noisy from the traffic on the street. Breakfast is not good either. There was never enough food laid out, and they ran out of it fast. You have to wait till they bring out more. They are very CHEAP! Their parking lot accommodates 5 cars. You get one plastic cup for brushing your teeth for the entire stay, they don’t even replace a plastic cup. On a tiny little cooler/fridge in the room they have a note that if you use it for your personal needs, they will charge you 10 euros. For the beach you have to pay 15 euros/person a day. Another option - a public beach 15-20 min. walk. Bring your towel. Very mediocre and crowded free beach. There is nothing around the hotel. No shops, no restaurants, just a street with traffic with hotels on one side and private beaches on the other. You have to drive for a meal. Another option is to eat at the hotel. 20euros per person for dinner. Very mediocre dinner as well. I truly regret we stayed there and would not recommend it to anyone. There are much better places in Italy! At least at a nearby Viareggio there is a boardwalk with restaurants and shops and street fairs.

  • Liked — Nothing, really.
  • Disliked — Very far away from all attractions.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rimma1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

The hotel is clean and basic but nice. Bathroom clean but bit small. Hotel is a good base (you need a car), our guidebook didnt mention beaches in tuscany so it was a surprise to find such a wide long sandy streech (15km?). Viareggio and Carrera marble caves worth visting. The free beach is about 20mins walk but adequate. Two minuses, firstly we booked an elegant double we got a standard twin. Secondly we only had booked for one night but decided to stay for a second because we liked it, despite hotel definately not full they jacked up the price, told us first night price only promotional!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#2 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#10 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Marzia
Hotel Villa Marzia
#7 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zen Hotel Versilia
Zen Hotel Versilia
#16 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Via Italia, 1 | Loc. Le Focette, 55045 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savoy Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in front of the beach of Marina di Pietrasanta! The rooms are all recently built and equipped with every comfort! Do not miss the terrace on the top with outdoor swimming pool overlooking the sea and the Apuan Alps!Free WiFi and bicycle hire! We wait you in Versilia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Marina Di Pietrasanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing