We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice relaxing hotel - great area from which to explore different parts of Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Versilia Palace Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice relaxing hotel - great area from which to explore different parts of Italy”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel was excellent! Really enjoyed our stay in the area. Breakfast was very good, staff very friendly and helpful. Big plus.. always seemed to be loungers available at the pool, no early morning rising to put towels on beds! Nice relaxed atmosphere. Bicycle hire for the area is a must. Plenty of bicycle tracks and area is flat so very enjoyable. Hotel is located opposite beach which is full of beds/umbrellas that you have to pay for but it is a great beach to go for a walk on as you can go for miles in either direction. The old town of Pietrasanta is about 4 km away but an easy bike ride. There is a train station in Pietrasanta where you can do many day trips from, Pisa 30 mins, Lucca about 1 hour and Florence 1.5 hours. Also Forte de Marmi for people watching! If you like some activity and great food there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    53
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
256 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We had a couple of nights to fill before flying back to UK from Pisa and looked in the area for a bargain hotel. Found this on booking.com at a steal price of 95euros for dinner b&b for two per night. We would not normally eat hotel dinners but at that price we were prepared to eat in a restaurant if the food was not good.
The website pictures do not do this hotel justice, neither do the reviews on this site.
The hotel is set back from the road opposite the miles of sandy beach. There is a large car park plus underground parking which would be a bonus in the summer heat.
Our first impression upon entering was that this was a well cared for hotel, beautifully furnished. We had booked a deluxe sea view room and were not disappointed. Although not oversized the room had everything we needed and the huge marble bathroom was just lovely. Electric shutters led to an enormous balcony with table and chairs. We noticed either side had private sunbeds as well which I am sure we could have asked for.There was also and electric canopy to give shade if needed. Across the road and behind the private beach clubs there was the sea.
Outside there is a large eating area, and a heated pool with ample sunbeds. All very well kept.
We were easily able to access the beach opposite and such a shame that it was all closed up as it was still warm, like an english summer. There were many people walking and fishing so the posts on here that the beach is inaccessible are incorrect.
As it was the end of the season there were few guests. This did not detract from the excellent restaurant . We were served a four course dinner each night which was delicious but we thought the wine very expensive. Breakfast was also very good with a huge choice and everything you would expect of a 4* hotel. Certainly no packets of food and the coffee was freshly made for each guest.
The hotel was closing the next week until next Easter.
In conclusion this is a very pleasant place to stay, totally refurbished, in a very nice location . I think a car would be necessary as a long way to nearest shops.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — The price of wine.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday at this hotel which uses two names for some reason. We found the hotel staff very pleasant, the rooms clean and spacious but most of all the quality of the food was excellent. We have stayed in Italy many times but this hotel's food was superior to all the others. Unlike another person's report complaining that there was no fresh fruit for breakfast we had a wide choice of fresh frit ,tinned fruit, ham, cheese bread and cakes. The evening meal provided plenty of choice and the food was freshly cooked and served with generous portions.
Th beach was just across the road which wasn't that busy to cross even for people from the Welsh hills like us!. The hotel had a large pool which was never crowded and always had a life-guard on duty.
The only draw back was a fair walk to the centre of the town but bikes could be hired from the hotel and there was a cycle path the whole way which was good fun.
On the 15th of August they celebrated Ferragosto with a gala evening with a fantastic buffet and party. It was not a place for those who want a very lively night life but there was entertainement from a singer by the pool every night.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — hire bikes for flat cycle path
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorwelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2006

Sir
Being a Brit myself, I can relate to your pessimistic, dreary outlook. I don't however, share your blinkered view.
I assume you weren't looking for fish and chips too? If an overpriced, pretentious place is what you seek, go about 5 km north to Forte dei Marmi. We have stayed at the hotel and found the staff friendly, the atmosphere relaxing and I found a 20 metre walk across the road to the beach quite convenient, actually.
If you go to Pietrasanta proper, you'll find some marvellous sculpture throughout the town, and a little place called Il Gato Nero, one of the best restaurants I and my Italian wife have ever been too. This world famous restaurant has a large selection of quality food, about 25 percent of it piscine, and has Vittoria, one of the most marvellous hostesses to grace the Italian food scene. Ever stay in a Brit hotel, by the way???
Please, if you visit a "foreign" country, appreciate it for what it is, not what you think it should be. See you in Rimini ... not.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2005

This hotel is a little tired. Extremely basic continental breakfast - no fresh fruit at all. Wonderful staff tried very hard and we were made welcome. There is some building work going on at the hotel so dont be surprised at the scaffolding. Position not good - road was very noisy and lots of walking to find a decent restaurant. Outdoor Theatre behind hotel however made up for it all - it was wonderful - sorry I cant remember the name ! Oh - by the way if you dont like fish dont go to PietraSanta to eat.

Helpful?
6 Thank Corristar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
2.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
149 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Central Park
Hotel Central Park
#1 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zen Hotel Versilia
Zen Hotel Versilia
#18 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arianna Hotel
Arianna Hotel
#5 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#2 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Versilia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Versilia Palace Hotel

Property: Versilia Palace Hotel
Address: Viale Roma 27, 55045 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Versilia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Versilia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing