We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unfriendliest hotel we have ever stayed in”
Review of Hotel Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oceano
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The unfriendliest hotel we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 14, 2005

The hotel is modern and the rooms clean and reasonable but that is where the compliments stop.

The husband and wife team (and she appeared very formidable) go out of their way to make Brits unwelcome and the rest of the staff could not put a smile together between them. A most unpleasant atmosphere all week culminated in a near fracas in the restaurant on the last evening when one of our group ( a lovely old man in his eighties) was stopped, by the husband, from giving a thank you speech to the tour manager and coach driver and we were all sent outside like naughty schoolchildren. When I told the husband, in broken Italian, that he was rude, his wife had to hold him back from hitting me.

Marina de Pietrasanta itself is nothing but mile upon mile of beach clubs and none of them publish their prices. The Hotel is a good 25 minutes walk away from the town centre. Cycle hire would be a good way of getting around but bring plenty of money if you intend to take the family to the beach regularly.

I would recommend you avoid the Hotel Oceano at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Hotel Oceano, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We remember that day and we are sorry for what it happened but we have to add that the director or owner of any hotel has to protect all his guests.
That evening the dining room was full of guests (not all belonging to the English group) and an English guest was talking to their friends and they were clapping and laughing. It was nice but after a while we were obliged to tell the tour manager to make him stop, because we had complaints from other guests of the hotel who were having dinner at the same time. The man could entertain their friends after dinner on the terrace or somwhere else in the hotel. We spoke to the tour manager (he was Italian) and not to the guests, so that he could tell them in the best way to continue the speech after dinner. We never knew what he said to them but the reaction of the English guests was to stand up und go and one of them said "stupid man" to the owner who heard it and that's the reason he got angry. We never offended any guest. Somebody did it to us. The story must be told in its whole, not just part of it.

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2005

If a good location and decent customer service is what you're wanting from your hotel then I recommend that you steer clear from the Hotel Oceano.
Firstly the hotel is situated on the very outskirts of Marina di Pietrasanta,the centre is a good 25 minute walk away and the local amenities are very limited.
Whilst located on the sea front a busy road seperates it from the beach area which is then taken up with endless beach clubs with their regimented rows of sun loungers that monopolise the entire coastal area.
There is a public beach which is 400 metres away,but this gets very crowded.
Secondly the attitude of the owners(a husband and wife team) left alot to be desired."Nothing's too much trouble" and "the customer is always right" are definately two rules of customer service that were never observed during our stay.
The wife was extermely scary, unapproachable and had difficulties with making even basic eye contact.The husband was friendlier in his manner until anyone complained!!On one occasion in the dining room when a fellow guest complained that the potatoes had arrived 10 minutes after the meat dish,it nearly came to "blows".
I will not be returning to the hotel,however the resort if you choose a hotel closer to the centre is a good base to explore florence,pisa,lucca and tuscany.
I would recommend cycle hire as a good way to get around.
Lastly if you do have the misfortune of staying in this hotel please avoid room 55 which had a strong smell of sewage, when our fellow guests complained they were told it was because the wind was blowing in the wrong direction and not the hotels fault!!!

21 Thank sandscross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marina di Pietrasanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#7 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Siro
Hotel San Siro
#21 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#26 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arianna Hotel
Arianna Hotel
#5 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Ginestre
Hotel Le Ginestre
#34 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Esplanade
#9 of 58 in Marina di Pietrasanta
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceano

Property: Hotel Oceano
Address: Via Cola di Rienzo 2 | loc. Focette, 55045 Marina di Pietrasanta, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Marina di Pietrasanta
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Marina di Pietrasanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oceano 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing