We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Hotel for beach lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Marina di Massa
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel for beach lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Located just across the road at Marina di Massa, Excelsior is value for money for beach lovers. Staff was helpful in suggesting ways to get to Pisa though they were not sure which bus would take me to Massa Centro. Stayed 2 nights. Breakfast offering was limited but tasty. Could not get sea view room as it was peak summer season.

Room Tip: If booking in advance, ask for se facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajasetlur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
33
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just came back from our summer vacation on Marina di Massa where we stayed for 7 nights at this hotel.
We went more for the area, Tuscany being one of the greatly praised areas in Italy.
The hotel was chosen based on two factors: 1. it was a good price in comparison to other similar accommodations in the area and 2. it was very close to the beach.
What we liked:
1. The staff was great, they was very solicitous and helpful when in need of something, they had a great attitude and manners and never once made us feel like they wanted to do something else. I get this vibe sometimes with people working in hotels or restaurants. Well, this was not the case.
2. The location of the Hotel is great, it has the beach on the other side of the road.
3. Since the summer season doesn't start until today, we were able to get the sun chairs and sun bed in the price of the room as the Hotel has several of those with umbrellas on the private beach mentioned before. It was an important factor seeing as in the season two sun chairs and an umbrella can be very expensive. (or so we heard on other reviews)
4.The room was spotless clean. (it was very small and i felt a little claustrophobic in it, but other than that it was clean and nicely furnished).
5. Continental breakfast.

What we didn't like and we hope the management will take notice and do something about it:
1. The cleaning lady worked almost non stop. They would start cleaning the rooms at about 7 in the morning and since the rooms aren't soundproof (i think they should put that as a mandatory condition when they give you the stars, i hate hearing people on the hallway, talking, laughing slamming doors when i want to sleep, it's annoying) we could hear them dragging the carts down the hall. Also, they would clean the room everyday, or at least make the bed and arrange the towels. It's good they want everything to be nice and tidy, but perhaps i don't want a stranger going through my things everyday...if you know what i mean. they didn't have the door hangers which says "do not disturb" or "don't clean the room".
2. The breakfast, although it was not a classic Italian sweet one, it had the same thing every day. At one point we thought about eating somewhere else. It had a small variety of fruits, some yogurts, milk, cereal and home made sweets. The continental part was an omelet or boiled eggs and bacon along with some cold meats. Every day for six mornings. It's kind of hard to alternate, and honestly it shouldn't even be my problem to think about my breakfast food since i payed for this and i'm on vacation. Suggestion: makes some mini-pizza's, make some pouched eggs instead of scrambled eggs, put some sausages there and important: fresh vegetables. I expected at least some cherry tomatoes and bell peppers. But the only thing that resembled a tomato was the ornament of the meat plate. Really?
3. The hairdryer in the room heated in the first 2 minutes from using it. It actually burned my hand. I told reception and they said they would get someone to check it out. I had no idea if they went and I didn't try to use it anymore. And, if you have automatic hair brushes (this is for the ladies), don't bring them on, it's useless as it doesn't fit the outlet in the bathroom. I attached a picture as demonstration.
4. The hotel needs an overall renovation. I noticed how the overall impression of this hotel is good, but if you look carefully you can see that there are scratches on some surfaces, the walls are dirty in some places and the tiles in the bathroom have some mold. It shouldn't be so much trouble to renovate some of the rooms off season and do them one by one so the financial strain shouldn't be a problem.
5. For those interested the TV had only channels in italian, one in english and there could have been some in german, but i'm not sure.

The wi-fi connection is not too bad, but it's also not rocking the place.
Well, that's it.
We won't be coming back here, mainly because we choose to go in different places and even if we do come back to Tuscany we would stay in a different town/resort.
I recommend this hotel for those who don't plan on staying more than a few nights, definitely not 7 :), those who are not very picky about food and don't really need a comfortable pillow :)
PS. a thing we really appreciated was the fact that they sent a bottle of sparkling wine to our room at the arrival. it made it so much special since we had our two year anniversary of our wedding. Very nice gesture!

Room Tip: I have no idea since they said it was a standard double and we got a little, tiny room. But we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night, a while ago, whilst on a business trip.

Must say the hotel was very pleasant, staff were very polite and helpful.

Hotel is set in a lovely location just across the road from the beach, buffet breakfast included had a good variety of foods.

This hotel is very good value for money and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Had double room with Balcony overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshie_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed there during a business trip and upgraded to an ocean view room - well worth it. We had a nice balcony and large bathroom with plenty of windows. Unfortunately it was too cold to enjoy really the outdoors due to lots of rain, but I would recommend this upgrade to anyone staying here.

Room Tip: ocean view or corner room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

clean, well equipped and comfortable rooms. Could do with tea and coffee making facilities, had to keep ordering hot water and not sure yet if I've to pay for this service. Good choice for breakfast, very comforatanle stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent the passing of the old year into the new at this hotel. As much as the welcoming staff resembles the outside of the hotel, a bit dry, starchy and cold, the inside is much different. Lounge area more welcoming than one would have thought, the rooms are functional and very clean, beds very comfortable, that you don't lose the 1st nights sleep, and quiet if you are lodged on the back with an overview of the park. Great for couples with kids. Or ,Old years nights meal was a TOO MUCH-much, 9 servings ,hors d'oeuvres inclu. Would have appreciated less in quantity and more quality. A pity there were no olives /antipastis, typical local Tuscany products. Great location for seaside ballads , and even a small shopping area if you insist on spending €s. Recommendable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the seafront can be noisy , even more so in the summer I would imagine given the proxim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pleasant enough, but looks better in their photos. For example the swimming pool is at the front next to the main road, and although there is a high wall not the most pleasant. Only stayed two nights out of season on business so wasn't using it anyway.
Breakfast typical continental buffet style, adequate. Nice bar area, quiet but pleasant lady bar person, sorry didn't get her name.
Wifi rubbish

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwjohn2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina di Massa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Tiziana
Hotel Villa Tiziana
#1 of 39 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eco del Mare
Hotel Eco del Mare
#3 of 39 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gabrini
Hotel Gabrini
#6 of 39 in Marina di Massa
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#13 of 39 in Marina di Massa
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Matilde
Hotel Matilde
#2 of 39 in Marina di Massa
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tiffany
Hotel Tiffany
#4 of 39 in Marina di Massa
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Via C. Battisti 1, 54100 Marina di Massa, Massa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Massa Carrara > Massa > Marina di Massa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Marina di Massa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing