We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oustanding value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Martello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Martello
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oustanding value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I can't complement this hotel enough.Five minute walk from Mestre station (Use the back exit of the station) to the hotel,and a two minute walk to the bus stop from the hotel for the number 6 or 6/ bus which run to and from Venice every ten minutes.
The owner is very polite and very helpful,giving you a short briefing of how to get to and from Venice by marking the bus stops on a map she gives to you on arrival.
The rooms are very clean,the bathroom and shower are gleaming.
Breakfast is well worth having at 5 euros per couple,but make sure you make your reservation the day before.
Make sure you take a trip to Burano,it is absolutely beautiful.Board boat number 41 or 42 from Venice,you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozcity1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
51
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

It is a clean very basic hotel with very small rooms of cheapest interior. That is ok for the (relatively) low cost. What is not ok is that often there is cigarette smoke in the room. I think it comes through the central air conditioning pipes that allow small amounts of air to circulate in between the rooms even when the air conditioning is not on.

the couple of rooms that face the central air conditioning unit are extremely noisy when it works - i do not think they comply to any noise standards for a hotel.

the cheapest is to book direct with the hotel.

there is very fast wifi, but only in the rooms that are near the router.

the area is very quiet, but hotel can be very noisy as you can hear every single detail from all the rooms around, not only the one directly adjutant to you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Hotel Martello was clean, and a great place to stay outside of Venice. Transit is convenient, and the Hotel itself is a short walk from the Mestre train station. Staying off the mainland is a great cost savings, and public transit in/out of Venice is convenient, quick, and only 1.10E each way.

I would definitely stay here again, though I doubt I'll visit Venice again as the city itself is something I think you only need to see once!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky_Traveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Staying in Martello was an affordable and a convenient way to visit Venice. The hotel can be easily reached by foot from the Mestre Station. The information provided by the owners was very handy in finding the hotel. As soon as we arrived the lady owner gave a very good brief about the surrodings and also about Venice. The rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. We will definelty stay there again if we decide to visit Venice in the future.
"Venice" on the otherside was disappointment. Wasn't as exciting as we expected. It remind me of Blackpool in England. Tacky and too commercialised.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Martello. It was on the mainland, but was an easy walk to the train and bus stations. I think the train and bus were only 1 Euro each way, much much cheaper than staying in Venice. Our room was very clean and comfy. The owner was accomodating, even held our luggage for free after we checked out so we could squeeze in some more sightseing that day in Venice. Overall a great place!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treblehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Martello in Ve. Mestre (Venice, Italy) for 3 nights. I highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are spacious and amazingly clean. Owners are very nice, very well organized, very attentive and very helpful. It looks like hotel has been remodeled quite recently. Rooms and service are excellent. It’s located 15 minutes away from Venice by bus or by train. Cost is 1 Euro per person per trip. Buses and trains go until midnight every 10 minutes or so. After midnight, every hour (I think).

Highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — excellet service, clean
  • Disliked — located 15-20 minutes away from Venice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

Booked this hotel just outside ( less than 20 minutes by train) Venice as hotel prices in Venice are ridiculous. We got good sized rooms, very clean and modern bathrooms. Got good orientation from the lady owner.
Short walk from the station but for unclear reasons, I felt that I was on the "wrong" side of the tracks. The neighborhood felt a little run down.
Will I stay here again? Maybe not if I can find a comparably priced/ quality hotel the other side of the train station which is a bit brighter and with more shops/ restaurants.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — neighborhood felt deserted
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.5 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#244 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martello

Property: Hotel Martello
Address: Piazzale Carlo Mezzacapo 3, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martello 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Martello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martello Hotel Marghera
Hotel Martello Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing