We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Martello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Martello
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Hotel Martello was clean, and a great place to stay outside of Venice. Transit is convenient, and the Hotel itself is a short walk from the Mestre train station. Staying off the mainland is a great cost savings, and public transit in/out of Venice is convenient, quick, and only 1.10E each way.

I would definitely stay here again, though I doubt I'll visit Venice again as the city itself is something I think you only need to see once!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky_Traveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
51
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Staying in Martello was an affordable and a convenient way to visit Venice. The hotel can be easily reached by foot from the Mestre Station. The information provided by the owners was very handy in finding the hotel. As soon as we arrived the lady owner gave a very good brief about the surrodings and also about Venice. The rooms were very large, clean and comfortable. We will definelty stay there again if we decide to visit Venice in the future.
"Venice" on the otherside was disappointment. Wasn't as exciting as we expected. It remind me of Blackpool in England. Tacky and too commercialised.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Martello. It was on the mainland, but was an easy walk to the train and bus stations. I think the train and bus were only 1 Euro each way, much much cheaper than staying in Venice. Our room was very clean and comfy. The owner was accomodating, even held our luggage for free after we checked out so we could squeeze in some more sightseing that day in Venice. Overall a great place!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treblehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Martello in Ve. Mestre (Venice, Italy) for 3 nights. I highly recommend this hotel. Rooms are spacious and amazingly clean. Owners are very nice, very well organized, very attentive and very helpful. It looks like hotel has been remodeled quite recently. Rooms and service are excellent. It’s located 15 minutes away from Venice by bus or by train. Cost is 1 Euro per person per trip. Buses and trains go until midnight every 10 minutes or so. After midnight, every hour (I think).

Highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — excellet service, clean
  • Disliked — located 15-20 minutes away from Venice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

Booked this hotel just outside ( less than 20 minutes by train) Venice as hotel prices in Venice are ridiculous. We got good sized rooms, very clean and modern bathrooms. Got good orientation from the lady owner.
Short walk from the station but for unclear reasons, I felt that I was on the "wrong" side of the tracks. The neighborhood felt a little run down.
Will I stay here again? Maybe not if I can find a comparably priced/ quality hotel the other side of the train station which is a bit brighter and with more shops/ restaurants.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — neighborhood felt deserted
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TonyFNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

Was a little scared the hotel would be far from Venice, however the woman at the hotel explain in great detail how to get to Venice and back, being extremnly easy, fast, and cheap. The hotel was very clean, air conditioning worked, and the phone was excellent being able to use a calling card from the room. Internet was also available for free in the lobby. The prices in Venice are ridiculous and this place was absolutely great. My only complaint would be the bathroom as there was no shower curtain and the water would just run into the bathroom. The water did however drain into the floor and did not create too much of a mess. Was a little challenging staying out overly late in Venice however the night bus was easy to use and were able to make it back to the hotel. Don't let the location discourage you at all.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathroom...clean but what are they thinking
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want to eat out...do it in Venice...but there is a great supermarket near by for pop and snacks
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nevets_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and realising hotels in Venice are extortionate.

The hotel is in a very good location for travelling into Venice. You can either jump on the bus from a stop a couple of mins walk away or go to Mestre train station and get the train to Venice.
You should note that if you are travelling by bus you have to buy the ticket before you board and validate on the bus (like most european cities, with the exception of London). However, we were advised to buy from the local corner shop which was closed from 1pm-4pm so we were a bit stuck, and boarded the bus without paying.
It also didn't help that the lady from the hotel gave us a map which was wrong, it was missing a road for the roundabout with 5/6 exits.

The room was basic. I stayed in a 3 star hotel in Naples and it was sooo much better. The room was a funny shape and there was a safe on the wall just above the side of the bed. So don't stand up just as you get out of bed or you'll hit your head on the safe!

The bathroom must have been the worse part of it. There was a sliding door with no lock, and we too like the other reviewer had a wet room. ie: no shower curtain or screen, and so yes the water goes everywhere. My friend also had pure cold water for the first 10 mins of her shower. I also made the mistake of trying to adjust the shower head as it seemed to spray everywhere and in the process made it much worse, including spray upwards and due to the fact there was no closure soaked everything. Most definately the worse bathroom ever!
Don't expect any complimentary toiletries either.

Note also the sliding door was chipping at the bottom!

There's free internet access just as you enter perched on top of a drinks machine.

Please note, my rating of 2 out of 5 is very generous and I would most definately NOT return.

I would advise you to pay a little more and stay somewhere better.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.2 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#10 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martello

Property: Hotel Martello
Address: Piazzale Carlo Mezzacapo 3, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martello 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Martello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martello Hotel Marghera
Hotel Martello Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing