We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff just don't compensate” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nuova Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nuova Aurora
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff just don't compensate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is in a very run down and unwelcoming area. Walking around felt very unsafe for my wife and me. The area around looks and feels very desolate. Small groups of bored men hanging around in random places. We only saw three prostitues, although the sex shop close by was probably handy for them.
The reception staff were very friendly and informative. The nearest cash machine in a big supermarket about 15 mins walk through a derelict district.
The room was clean and recently refitted. Accessed through a metal stairway around the back of the hotel. A large double glazed window did nothing to stop the road noise of a very busy carriageway just outside the hotel.
In the end we checked out after just one night.. Very eager to leave this area. For a very similar price (€82 opposed to €66 per night), we got a nice hotel on the Lido. A pleasant location , just a short water taxi ride to Venice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a good little budget hotel which some will love, others will hate. But if you are on a budget, want to avoid paying Euro 300 - 1000 per night for a swanky place by the waterfront OR you are travelling by car (Venice is NOT car friendly), then it is worth considering.

Upside: if you are sightseeing Venice and travelling by car, it has secure off street parking, and is a short bus trip from the Piazza Roma (from where you walk into Venice). The wifi (despite other reviews) is free and reliable. The room was comfortable and clean. The desk staff spoke good English (we have no Italian) and gave excellent advice on buses etc.

Downside: The area in which it is situated is very rough (but as above, the hotel is secure), there is NOTHING to do outside (indeed you wouldnt want to), and there are hookers openly on the street outside. The bus trip into Venice is cheap (about Euro 2.40 return) and regular, but not really good for people with kids as it gets very crowded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Clean comfortable room. Reception is multilingual, but no, the bus drivers do not take cash. You have to buy your tickets at the Tabacchi store. No breakfast. Tight parking but free. Small shower.with door that barely closes and rubber is black with mould. Fan didn't work. Air conditioner barely works. Got a room in the back which meant going up a metal stairway with not much light at night. "For men only" comment is due to the hookers out front and the non-Italian men hanging around the hotel. Defenitely foreigners who, I guess, work close by. I wouldn't take my wife there.

Room Tip: One that uses the main lobby as entrance and not the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marghera hotels

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice hotel with a location on the mainland. There's a busstop nearby that will take you to Venice in 15 minutes. The rooms were quite ok very clean with ac and fridge but with no balcony so it's not so good for a smoker. The only thing that was not so ok and maybe not so appropriate for a family with children were the prostitutes just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shamadentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

A good hotel just a bit to far from Venice there are good transport links though so that is helpful and the buses are quite frequent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hi.Me and my husband chose this place to stay for our trip to Venice since we were covering a lot of places and were on shoe string budget.Its no doubt a value for money,very clean rooms and spacious as well.Vey helpful staff at the reception.You can more or less reach Venice easily within reasonable hours.Buses outside are a bit infrequent though.The place around is very lonely as its an industrial area.It was hard to find food for dinner as there was only one pizza restaurant near by which would just close around ten at night and with very little option to offer.Grossly its a nice option to stay if you want something cheap in Venice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taniabhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a budget hotel a 30 minute or so bus ride from the island.

Pros:
* It is quite affordable.
* Reception was helpful about how to catch buses into the centre.
* The room was clean and the bus stop close.

Cons:
* We found getting back late to be a pain. The piece of paper reception give you has "Zona B6" written on it. We didn't realise that "Zona" is the bus stop the bus leaves from and asked at the Ticket Office and she sent us on the number 6 back, which involved a 30 minute walk past a lot of prostitutes and their clients late at night.
* One of the curtains was missing and this let in light so sleep wasn't so easy in the mornings.

Personally, I would pay a little more next time and stay in the centre. It is a very charming and romantic city and having to sit on buses (or walk) for long periods of time detracted from the experience somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alle Torri
Hotel Alle Torri
#7 of 14 in Marghera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#5 of 14 in Marghera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#245 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuova Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuova Aurora

Property: Nuova Aurora
Address: Via Fratelli Bandiera 194, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuova Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Nuova Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Aurora Venice
Nuova Aurora Hotel Venice
Nuova Aurora Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing