We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel outside Venice: but not for everyone”
Review of Nuova Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nuova Aurora
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a good little budget hotel which some will love, others will hate. But if you are on a budget, want to avoid paying Euro 300 - 1000 per night for a swanky place by the waterfront OR you are travelling by car (Venice is NOT car friendly), then it is worth considering.

Upside: if you are sightseeing Venice and travelling by car, it has secure off street parking, and is a short bus trip from the Piazza Roma (from where you walk into Venice). The wifi (despite other reviews) is free and reliable. The room was comfortable and clean. The desk staff spoke good English (we have no Italian) and gave excellent advice on buses etc.

Downside: The area in which it is situated is very rough (but as above, the hotel is secure), there is NOTHING to do outside (indeed you wouldnt want to), and there are hookers openly on the street outside. The bus trip into Venice is cheap (about Euro 2.40 return) and regular, but not really good for people with kids as it gets very crowded.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Clean comfortable room. Reception is multilingual, but no, the bus drivers do not take cash. You have to buy your tickets at the Tabacchi store. No breakfast. Tight parking but free. Small shower.with door that barely closes and rubber is black with mould. Fan didn't work. Air conditioner barely works. Got a room in the back which meant going up a metal stairway with not much light at night. "For men only" comment is due to the hookers out front and the non-Italian men hanging around the hotel. Defenitely foreigners who, I guess, work close by. I wouldn't take my wife there.

Room Tip: One that uses the main lobby as entrance and not the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice hotel with a location on the mainland. There's a busstop nearby that will take you to Venice in 15 minutes. The rooms were quite ok very clean with ac and fridge but with no balcony so it's not so good for a smoker. The only thing that was not so ok and maybe not so appropriate for a family with children were the prostitutes just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamadentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A good hotel just a bit to far from Venice there are good transport links though so that is helpful and the buses are quite frequent

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hi.Me and my husband chose this place to stay for our trip to Venice since we were covering a lot of places and were on shoe string budget.Its no doubt a value for money,very clean rooms and spacious as well.Vey helpful staff at the reception.You can more or less reach Venice easily within reasonable hours.Buses outside are a bit infrequent though.The place around is very lonely as its an industrial area.It was hard to find food for dinner as there was only one pizza restaurant near by which would just close around ten at night and with very little option to offer.Grossly its a nice option to stay if you want something cheap in Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniabhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a budget hotel a 30 minute or so bus ride from the island.

Pros:
* It is quite affordable.
* Reception was helpful about how to catch buses into the centre.
* The room was clean and the bus stop close.

Cons:
* We found getting back late to be a pain. The piece of paper reception give you has "Zona B6" written on it. We didn't realise that "Zona" is the bus stop the bus leaves from and asked at the Ticket Office and she sent us on the number 6 back, which involved a 30 minute walk past a lot of prostitutes and their clients late at night.
* One of the curtains was missing and this let in light so sleep wasn't so easy in the mornings.

Personally, I would pay a little more next time and stay in the centre. It is a very charming and romantic city and having to sit on buses (or walk) for long periods of time detracted from the experience somewhat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great budget option. Yes a few discreet street girls in this leafy "industrial area" but in 3 days we saw only 7 and had no hassle what so ever; in many cases they could have been waiting for a lift. Good bus services to Venice P de Roma (bus station) from both via Fratelli Bandiera but also check out the 6, 13 and 15 which stop on the corner of the next road (Turn left out of hotel and then left at lights and walk 2 minutes to next road junction). The 6 also goes to Venice, the 15 goes to V Mestre station and the 13 drops you off near an underpass to the station. We used the buy in advance Venice transport pass (online is cheaper) and also used the very cheap regional train fares to visit Padua, Verona and Treviso. Rooms clean, bed a bit hard but OK and breakfast coffee and croissant but hey at £130 for 2 people for 3 nights we are not complaining. Be aware there is now a Venice area tourist tax that added an extra Euro 1:20 per person per night which we weren't expecting. Book with confidence and enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alle Torri
Hotel Alle Torri
#8 of 14 in Marghera
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Antica Villa Graziella
Antica Villa Graziella
#2 of 14 in Marghera
443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#4 of 14 in Marghera
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kappa Hotel
Kappa Hotel
#28 of 58 in Mestre
390 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#350 of 387 in Venice
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuova Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuova Aurora

Address: Via Fratelli Bandiera 194, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range: $60 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuova Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nuova Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuova Aurora Venice
Nuova Aurora Hotel Venice
Nuova Aurora Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing