We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel cancelled my reservation”
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The hotel cancelled my reservation”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had a very bad problem with the reservation made. I should've be the second time to return to this hotel, but one month ago I was contacted by the hotel because my credit card was not ok. I said ok, I'll give you another ( even though that credit card was active on another 2 reservations with no problems). I gave them another credit card, a different one and yesterday, when I checked the reservation, I discovered that my reservation was cancelled by the hotel. I wrote them and email and their response was " the credit card was not ok" Say what???? And then, they told me to do another reservation and they will check again the credit card. And, surprise, the price for the same room is 40 euro more.

I did a reservation to the hotel near them instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank CoriT_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    65
    139
    84
    72
See reviews for
76
149
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night before going to US, average budget hotel. Hotel room was so cold and despite asking manager to sort this, their pathetic attempts to resolve this left us very cold at night, probably warmer outside! Poor service! Better off booking a hotel closer to the airport as cost of taxi pretty steep! Close to the island, train took 10mins - the only plus was the we got free train tickets so popped to the island for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Butterfly2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

just 2 minutes walk from the train station to access Venice, perfect location, good facilities and tidy hotel with car parking. Staff were friendly and helpful too making it a pleasant ad efficient stay. Not a particularly busy street too so easy to navigate to get there and out again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kermitspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed as part of a tour so not exactly sure how much it cost however I imagine the tour company gets a good deal. First double bed of the tour in Europe but it was a very small room. Hard to get fresh air and air con didn't work, if we opened the windows the Mosquitos swarmed in. Good size bathroom, clean. Breakfast was insanely basic but okay. Took the bus into Venice, easy but squishy and I was paranoid about pick pockets on the crowded bus! Would probably want to pay more and stay within Venice next time to truly appreciate the atmosphere. Good that there was a room safe. Supermarket down the road.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Small rooms but clean, good bathrooms,decent breakfast good area and the bus 6 right outside the hotel which takes you to venice 10 minutes ride.i think it was just ok and nice value for money and with parking for the car

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KOSTAS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you arrive Mestre by train, it is very easy to get to hotel. When you get off train, you will see stair from platform going to a tunnel. You have to use stair to go down a tunnel in order to exit the train station. There is sign in tunnel for Marghera in one direction and Mestre for opposite direction. Follow the Marghera direction. When exiting the tunnel you will see a side street on your left hand side, follow the street and you will see hotel Mondial. From tunnel exit to hotel is about 2 minute walk.
You can also take 2nd street on your left when exiting tunnel.

To go to Venice, take no. 6 bus which stops right outside the hotel on your left side when exiting hotel. You can buy bus ticket at a variety store which is around the corner on your left side when exiting hotel. Bus fare is 1.30 Euro. When returning from Venice, take no. 6 bus, get off at 4th stop. Returning bus stops on the street behind the hotel, these are 1-way streets. You can also take train to Venice, train ticket costs same as bus ticket, it comes every 10 minutes. There is only stairs to go down and up the tunnel, if you heavy luggage, bus is a better choice.

The hotel is clean and modern. Breakfast consists of pastry, cold cut, yogurt, cereal, orange color sugar water, coffee. There was only one issue during check out. I ask for a invoice, the girl was too lazy to search for it, she made up some stories to make me go away. She said she gave it to me the day before, then she said I can get it from Expedia which is BS.

Ask for room facing back or sides. We had a road facing 1st floor room, we could hear every car and motorcycle drove by. I could hear people chatting at front entrance.

I would give this hotel 5-stars if the receiptionist was not too lazy to find my invoice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sysy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Booked this hotel on Hotwire and got a great price. Average hotel that has a bed, a bathroom and free 30 mins of wifi/day. Not super far from Venice either, Bus #60 (the stop is just outside of the hotel) took us directly to the waterbus station taking about 10-15mins of travel time. Had no issues with staff unlike other reviewers. Breakfast was mediocre, mostly carbs and some deli meat. No fruit and had a coffee machine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaroslav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.3 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#240 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Property: Hotel Mondial
Address: Via Giorgio Rizzardi 21, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mondial 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondial Hotel Mestre
Hotel Mondial Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing