We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, clean, but very noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small, clean, but very noisy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of a tour group so had no choice. Upon arriving we were greeted warmly and went to our compact room. The room was neat and tidy and clean. As we had arrived late we wanted to get our gear into the safe and go to bed, but we set the safe off twice with the alarm ringing. Upon telling the management that we couldn't use it as it was locked upon our arrival, they gave us a story about how the guy who was installing them was new and there was nothing they could do - clearly they couldn't be bothered walking upstairs and unlocking it with the key. As we attempted to sleep all of our neighbours could be heard, either in their rooms or moving about outside, as the walls were paper thin. The mattress was not to my liking (I could feel the springs) but others didn't mind it, it was rather firm too. The pillow was quite flat and again wasn't to everyone's liking. However, it didn't stop me sleeping after our hiking around Venice. The bathroom was very small, my husband struggled to fit in the cubicle. But again it was very clean.

The train station to Venice is super close and there is a bus stop almost directly outside. You cannot walk to Venice (we tried, and failed -The footpath runs out). So accessibility to the islands is not an issue, it does make for a longer day though as you cant nip back to your room if it gets cold and you always needs to factor in the travel there and back with a multitude of people. However, because the hotel is not in Venice the prices at food places surrounding the hotel were much better.

The breakfast was included; it had very sugary juice, bad coffee, cereal, yoghurt, buns, jams, ham, croissants and cakes. It was adequate to get you through till lunch.

I'm completely torn as to whether I'd stay here again, erring on the side of not, due to the fact of not being in Venice itself more than anything else. If you don't mind traveling intent his could be the place for you.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank islandlover39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    65
    139
    83
    70
See reviews for
75
148
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Very close to Mestre Railway station and Bus Terminus. If you arrive at night beware of the very scary underpass to get from the station to the hotel.Seems to be a base for coach parties so is noisy early in the mornings when the coach passengers leave, take earplugs.
Room basic but clean, serviced every day.En suite bathroom very clean.Foyer quite nice to sit and have a coffee of beer in the evening, there is a small bar.Breakfast not exciting, but you can have as much as you like.Bus to Venice stops right outside hotel.For what we paid, no complaints.

Room Tip: Dont get a room at the front, too much noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during Venice Carnival. Hotel was easy to access by car and the hotel had free parking in the back of the hotel. Room was small, but good for two persons. Room was clean and newly renovated. Breakfast was included to the room price, but it could have been bit better, with more choices. Other then that, the hotel was good value for money.

There is close to the hotel (like 25m) bus stop. From that stop there goes two lines to Venice Piazza Roma 6 and 6/. Those go about every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The rooms in this hotel were neat and tidya and breakfast had quite a good variety. The one really great thing about this hotel is that it is a short 5 minute walk to the train station so you can get to Venice is around 15 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nec_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

This hotel is weird. The rooms were an okay size but the tiled floors were not good in winter. No water pressure in the bathrooms and the breakfast was horrible. We were given rolls which were from the night before. The restaurant had strange staff with poor customer service - think Manuel. We did a cost saver tour so it was okay value for money but a fair distance from venice, so if your doing it without a car it could be trouble. Would only recommend this place to people with a sense of humour and/or adventure.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenhalcyondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marghera hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Rooms okay, but too far from any amenities to enjoy stay. Mattress lumpy and pillows flat. Waitress blew car horn for 10 minutes at 10 p.m. outside window before getting out of her car and going inside to open gate to exit from parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClooneyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

I stayed here and it was kind of a joke. The blow dryers are these huge vacuum cleaner looking things, and the rooms were straight out of the 60s, and that includes the shag carpet. All I could do was laugh, but it is very close to Venice, and it made it worth it.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenusSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marghera
0.3 mi away
Villa Adele Hotel
Villa Adele Hotel
#3 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#9 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bologna - Mestre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Autoespresso
Hotel Autoespresso
#1 of 14 in Marghera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#248 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Costanza
Hotel Villa Costanza
#2 of 58 in Mestre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Property: Hotel Mondial
Address: Via Giorgio Rizzardi 21, 30175 Marghera, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Marghera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Marghera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mondial 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondial Hotel Mestre
Hotel Mondial Province Of Venice/Marghera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing